SONY NEX users Thread

e mount zoom lens and marco lens.
sensor, camera functionality.
i dun knw how to explain.

when i ask ard my fren, all only choose canon or nikon..den they blah blah blah on the reasons.
sony hav some gap... but i too noob to explain it.

paiseh.

Ic oh well , dun wan to turn this thread into another direction , but my advise is , stay open minded, theres no such thing as a bad camera honestly , unless its faulty.

YES SIR!!
Enjoying my nex5!!

Hi Guys,
Oly E-P1 user here, previously owned Sony 717 and then 828, then Nikon D80. Really tempted to get NEX 5. I have some old minolta lens, wondering it they'll fit the NEX? Thanks!

haiz, SG RRP for NEX5 is carrot head price... as always like all new product launch in SG.
the $300 lens voucher also... WTF!? use it to buy 2nd lens ->SEL1855 or SEL16? then save $1?
buy SEL18200? RRP $1199! that kind of $ can get CZ lens or not?!

btw browsed through many forum, review on 16mm is CMI!
u guys bought it know it or not...?

haiz, SG RRP for NEX5 is carrot head price... as always like all new product launch in SG.
the $300 lens voucher also... WTF!? use it to buy 2nd lens ->SEL1855 or SEL16? then save $1?
buy SEL18200? RRP $1199! that kind of $ can get CZ lens or not?!

btw browsed through many forum, review on 16mm is CMI!
u guys bought it know it or not...?

Used the 16mm for a month , I dont think its at CMI level.
Wide angle lens always have distortions , thats inherent. I think for general use , I find it acceptable.

I wasnt expecting it to be of high quality for kit lens anyway.

1199 cannot get you any first hand CZ if i recall correctly.

Hi Guys,
Oly E-P1 user here, previously owned Sony 717 and then 828, then Nikon D80. Really tempted to get NEX 5. I have some old minolta lens, wondering it they'll fit the NEX? Thanks!
need to hv adapter in order to use.
hav to check whether Sony or any 3rd party release e adapter lor.

To Date:
Originally Posted by flowerpot
Adapters are available !!!!

Contax G- Nex
http://www.dl-kipon.com/onews.asp?id=69

Nikon- Nex
http://www.dl-kipon.com/onews.asp?id=70

L39- Nex
http://www.dl-kipon.com/onews.asp?id=71

M42-Nex
http://www.dl-kipon.com/onews.asp?id=72

Leica M- Nex
http://www.dl-kipon.com/onews.asp?id=73

COOL. i still have me Tamron-Nikon lens. so tempting!

uh, just read that there's no hotshoe for more powerful flash. damn. i'd say a no-go for Nex 5 just for this. i won't even be able to have a powerful enough flash to shoot birthday parties.

The GN on the NEX5 flash is around 7, compared to around 12-13 for a typical pop up flash on a DSLR. Should be fine to light a living room unless your needs are different.

Best way is to try it out for yourself I would think.

Had been looking for a decent camera some times back. Until recently then I noticed this NEX5 by Sony which caught my attention.

Just wondering for all current NEX5 users what make you decided to go for this as the price range seems pretty close to D550.
Was it the size of the camera or some other pulling factors that let you end up with NEX5?

Had been looking for a decent camera some times back. Until recently then I noticed this NEX5 by Sony which caught my attention.

Just wondering for all current NEX5 users what make you decided to go for this as the price range seems pretty close to D550.
Was it the size of the camera or some other pulling factors that let you end up with NEX5?

Small compact size. A perfect replacement for your PnS. I used it to supplement my DSLR and as a replacement for my F200EXR :)

bought it for its size and ease of use.

Its something more discreet for me to use when I'm just doing casual shooting around town, though the quality of the sensor does make it viable for other purposes as well.

I still keep my Nikon SLRs for events shooting as its Passive-AF system and flash control works much faster/better for me. I also have a tiny compact camera for when I need to travel very light, but that may eventually be replaced by a decent mobile phone camera.

I using a old ms pro dual, then whenever power up, nex will complain that e card is not suitable for vidz.
wat is the minimum class suitable for nex for both pic n vidz so that i wont see e msg everytime i power up nex.

Thks

The recommended class of memory card is printed on the side of the Nex5 box if I recall correctly :)

Following up on previous posts on battery issue as it seems to be closed and no real posts on that.

Any bros can comment on the battery problem after the firmware upgrade?