Sony Alpha 550's price

Just got the A550 kit from MSC 15mins ago.

Will post some test shots tonight.

Bro, you are fast. Did you go to AMK hub or the main branch? I collected around 5 plus also ;) going to run some test shots under high ISO to compare with my A300.

Now need to get the LCD hard cover, but I doubt JL has it at this moment right?

One thing I also noticed is that Sony software now comes with the version for Mac PC. Previously the image converter can only run for Windows.

Wooo....BBB then next year i buy A950 1st can?? :bsmilie:

Bro, you are fast. Did you go to AMK hub or the main branch? I collected around 5 plus also ;) going to run some test shots under high ISO to compare with my A300.

Now need to get the LCD hard cover, but I doubt JL has it at this moment right?

One thing I also noticed is that Sony software now comes with the version for Mac PC. Previously the image converter can only run for Windows.

I got it from the main branch as I know a "informant" always let me be the first customer to try or buy...;)

Yup, plastic hard cover is not available yet, maybe can push JL to bring in earlier. At the moment, I got the normal film LCD protector.

Initial handling of the camera is great. As small and as light as A300 but A550 definitely feels faster in response and shutter sound is a bit more muted.

I just took some shots at different ISO and will post soon.

Here's some unboxing pictures to wet the appetite...:devil:

unbox1-1.jpg

unbox2-1.jpg

unbox3-1.jpg

Ouverture : looking forward to your tests and would like to hear your comments soon. i do feel that A550 is more responsive too and i think i love the MF Live View. Sony had made it so much more easiler to shoot using MF.

really wet liao.. hohoho.... waiting for my bonus to come... haha :P

One thing I am surprised is the 18-55 kit lens is made in Japan. Always thought plastic mount ones are from China...

A550 also using SD right? Why not CF?:think:

ya hor, why not CF? Most mid to high end uses CF e.g. Canon xxD to xD are all CF. i thought A550 should be competing with xxD and not the xxxD?

Size.

That's what I think anyway...

You save space with SD as opposed to CF.

But it's still great news!

Original Memory Stick, 8GB, 10mb/s, $65

SDHC, 8GB, 15mb/s, $44

Dun need to use MS!:bsmilie:

Anyway, just got my a550 as well *giggles like a skolgurl*

Size.

That's what I think anyway...

You save space with SD as opposed to CF.

But it's still great news!

Original Memory Stick, 8GB, 10mb/s, $65

SDHC, 8GB, 15mb/s, $44

Dun need to use MS!:bsmilie:

Anyway, just got my a550 as well *giggles like a skolgurl*

What bout CF?

I dun think the type of memory cards used is of any consideration when choosing a camera, especially so for this range when you are not looking at outright performance.

Anyway, the performance of SD card has also caught up with CF, of course not talking about the latest one from Lexar...

In fact, I find SD card more convenient as I can just pop it into any built-in card readers of Laptop and dun have to find a card reader when I want to share some photos with my friends or colleagues after I taken some pictures.

Furthermore, I can use SD cards on both my A550 and GF1...and MS on A550 and WX1...:thumbsup:

I dun think the type of memory cards used is of any consideration when choosing a camera, especially so for this range when you are not looking at outright performance.

Anyway, the performance of SD card has also caught up with CF, of course not talking about the latest one from Lexar...

In fact, I find SD card more convenient as I can just pop it into any built-in card readers of Laptop and dun have to find a card reader when I want to share some photos with my friends or colleagues after I taken some pictures.

BUt taking night shoot or long exposure using SD card and CF card, during the processing and preview from the SD and CF, SD is lacking compare with CF. And even transfering into computer, SD is lacking.:think:

Unless SD card technology goes like 30mb/s or more, i will prefer buying A500 for my back up. :bsmilie:

BUt taking night shoot or long exposure using SD card and CF card, during the processing and preview from the SD and CF, SD is lacking compare with CF. And even transfering into computer, SD is lacking.:think:

Unless SD card technology goes like 30mb/s or more, i will prefer buying A500 for my back up. :bsmilie:

Sandisk already have SDHC cards (Extreme III) running at 30mb/s.

A500 support SDHC? I mean can use that card on A500? Anyone test it? If yes and if the SDHC is cheaper than CF, then i might want to buy A500 for backup.:bsmilie: