Sony A100 review out!!

samsung dslr worth considering too:think:

Is true oso. But somehow, for example u still need a better weapon in order 2 fight in the war. Now ppl using gun and u cant use a knife 2 fight with them

donkuok said:
Switch! :bigeyes: where got so much money to switch? hahaha:bsmilie:. No need to switch, just learn more how to make use of it and produce good composition. ENd of the day, the man behind the cam is more important than anything in photography world.
It's good that you aware of it :)

I like to stay with Minolta/Sony with our specific advantages also. Actually photographers should choose a system base on what they like instead of easily swayed by adverts or because of other people using, I must follow kind of pattern. As each brands of DSLR will have their advantages and disadvantages.

And un/fortunately marketing exposure play a quite big part in swaying new/existing photographers choosing their brand.

after reading all the reactions here, my personal biggest disappointment is the dynamic range optimiser. didn't quite deliver the goods as promise me think.

nevertheless, the quality is pretty impressive, put a 100mm macro :devil: & i can bet u get a hell of alot of details & quality. :lovegrin:

donkuok said:
just learn more how to make use of it and produce good composition. ENd of the day, the man behind the cam is more important than anything in photography world.

Yawn ......... so boring!!!:sticktong

The a100 is available in Singapore from 21 July onwards at a recommended street price of S$1800 – S$2000 (without GST) at Sony Galleries and official distributors.

davsmiths said:
The a100 is available in Singapore from 21 July onwards at a recommended street price of S$1800 – S$2000 (without GST) at Sony Galleries and official distributors.

Wah piang. I really hope this is not the case. The D5D kit was launched at about $1.5k, then dropped to about $1.3k. The OlyE500 & EOS350D are also at the $1.5k price range.

;(

The test is not very conclusive as the kit lens is up against different lenses ( how to beat a 50mm prime???). Maybe they should use the same third party lens to test.

davsmiths said:

aya..sure can get lower than 1800 at sim lim la

i asked around today... should see it in shops by end of the week, maybe even as early as tomorrow. body only can get below $1500, kit is about $1700+ gst included.

any takers? :devil:

pai said:
i asked around today... should see it in shops by end of the week, maybe even as early as tomorrow. body only can get below $1500, kit is about $1700+ gst included.

See I can resist or not, or whether my KM 5D break down :sweat:

pai said:

if not for the noise at high iso i would have ditch my km5d liao
will have to tahan.....til the next body came out:)

zcf said:
See I can resist or not, or whether my KM 5D break down :sweat:
still more 3+yrs of warranty left with mine......mabbe should upgrade after it expired?

eow said:
The next body may cost 1.5-2x the Alpha 100 amount :sweat:

eow said:
still more 3+yrs of warranty left with mine......mabbe should upgrade after it expired?
Next time need to wait til those IT fest then buy, but I don't need all those free gift leh :(

eow said:
yeah, the noise is the one real weakness of the camera. the iso 100 to iso 400 shots are really quite good, but the 1600 is a lot worse in terms of noise and colour. still useable, but can see the difference.

for my style of shooting, superfast focus is not critical. i use raw all the time, so dro also no point. so far no dust problems, so i can live without the dustbuster. so i'll be sticking to my 5D.

2 of my friends are getting very interested in the alpha though. :lovegrin:

pai said:

if the sony 18-70 is no diff from km 18-70 then i think might as well buy body alone then WTB those km 18-70 from 5d owners...though mine's a keeper :D
or even better buy body alone + 28-75 f2.8

pai said:
yeah, the noise is the one real weakness of the camera. the iso 100 to iso 400 shots are really quite good, but the 1600 is a lot worse in terms of noise and colour. still useable, but can see the difference.

for my style of shooting, superfast focus is not critical. i use raw all the time, so dro also no point. so far no dust problems, so i can live without the dustbuster. so i'll be sticking to my 5D.

2 of my friends are getting very interested in the alpha though. :lovegrin:
Tan? who is the other?

Striaght forward... is the A100 worth buyin? Thanks!