Something on wat i wanna say long time ago...

Yes camera len is most important. No len no photo no girls

(WaNtEd to CaPs EvErThInG but seems like it is not possibleeeee :( )

I occasionally see such questions posted here: "Your images look so sharp. What lens/camera u used?" :dunno:

I am really amused by it.:bsmilie: With proper shutter speed, focussing and sharpening during editing, any photo can look real sharp; even a compact camera can give such result.

Agree on this thread. Remembered that i bought a camera with 18-55 kit lens. My friend, told me this... dun waste money on any lens yet. Play with the kit lens till you know what you really like to shoot.

Shot 3 events with my entry level DSLR, and 18-55 lens with a high end flash... Who says entry level DSLR and 18-55 lens cannot produce good photos?

It's their limitations only.

Agree on this thread. Remembered that i bought a camera with 18-55 kit lens. My friend, told me this... dun waste money on any lens yet. Play with the kit lens till you know what you really like to shoot.

Shot 3 events with my entry level DSLR, and 18-55 lens with a high end flash... Who says entry level DSLR and 18-55 lens cannot produce good photos?

It's their limitations only.

Not all of us so skilful mah, so need better gears to get the same results lor :embrass:

i do believe in right tool for the right guy, without the right tools u wont go far
without the right guy ? its just a bunch of useless tools. so both are as equal important .

well if all the lens we're talking bout are useless ... mayb i should just switch to a mini compact digital cam =)

Not all of us so skilful mah, so need better gears to get the same results lor :embrass:

better gears can give same result meh? :eek: i think i am too outdated liao. I hate advanced technology!!!

i do believe in right tool for the right guy, without the right tools u wont go far
without the right guy ? its just a bunch of useless tools. so both are as equal important .

well if all the lens we're talking bout are useless ... mayb i should just switch to a mini compact digital cam =)

i thinking of doing that.. small, compact, no nd carry so many things.. light weight... no strain on my shoulders.. cheap...

D**N... i really do want a compact cam now :) and i do not wish to be a photo attraction to security guards. i wan to be a tourist instead. :bsmilie:

I occasionally see such questions posted here: "Your images look so sharp. What lens/camera u used?" :dunno:

I am really amused by it.:bsmilie: With proper shutter speed, focussing and sharpening during editing, any photo can look real sharp; even a compact camera can give such result.

Should we start a Top10 silly questions asked for the year of 2009? ;p :bsmilie:

Yes camera len is most important. No len no photo no girls

(WaNtEd to CaPs EvErThInG but seems like it is not possibleeeee :( )

nothing wrong with what you believed in.

My priority is :)
Picture>Digital Processing>photographer>lens and equipment

Can show u example on digital processing, but cos it doesn;t belong to me and i dun noe that fellow. I have no rights to link it. But i can give hints... He showed a fashion style processing. He uploaded a before and after picture. And i liked that processing :thumbsup: . The thread is in this forum.

I guess when things get mainstream.. you get lots of ignorance and misunderstanding.. thats why I go far away from all the bs and do my own thing.

We are not to discourage the learning spirits here. :) we salute those who used to share.:thumbsup::thumbsup:
I beg to differ from you at least on one point: dslr, compact, phone cameras and all sorts of film cameras may not produce the same result even under the same condition. likewise, each lens serves its very purpose. that's why we have enjoyed alot of their marvelous masterpieces.

post editing can never replace one's creativity and imagination.

better gears can give same result meh? :eek: i think i am too outdated liao. I hate advanced technology!!!

can wor. skilful people can take sharp images at 1/15 hand-held with a entry cam + kit lens while I will need lens with IS/VR, or a 5D/D3 with good high ISO performance mah

I dont believe in better gears = better pictures. My gear in another 1 or 2 years is gonna be 10 years old.

I still believe it is the photographer behind the camera, the camera is a mere tool, it is up to the person behind to bring that tool to the full potential.

read my signature below

We are not to discourage the learning spirits here. :) we salute those who used to share.:thumbsup::thumbsup:
I beg to differ from you at least on one point: dslr, compact, phone cameras and all sorts of film cameras may not produce the same result even under the same condition. likewise, each lens serves its very purpose. that's why we have enjoyed alot of their marvelous masterpieces.

post editing can never replace one's creativity and imagination.

I am not saying they produce the same result; That's impossible. I am talking about sharpness. Does a kit lens not produce a sharp image? LIkewise, any compact can also produce sharp images.

A kit lens can pretty much accomplish a lot; what special lens do you need?

Unless you are talking about macro or the special "large aperture portrait lens" that give you beautiful boker; that will be another issue.

The mentality is that your photos are not good enough because you only have kit lens. But have you thoroughly thought about why your photos are unsharp? Have you check your shutter speed? Have you focus correctly? You may have set the sharpening menu in your camera at "normal"............ or the lens may be faulty which need calibration.

Post editing is not everything, of course. But you can compare one of your unedited photo with another one you had just edited. I am sure you will know the differences, in terms of colour, the contrast, sharpness,...... (there are many software effects that can enhance the photo and bring creativity to a higher level, and it really takes a creative & artistic mind to unlease that potential )

I am not sure if there are photographers(purist) who do not use any editing at all (Yes, probably some landscape photographers) . You think they can compete with edited photos? Just go and look at those beautiful wedding photos, and tell me which one is not edited at all.

well. the guy behind the camera matters. fine.

if u tell me camera dun matter at all ur just sore ~~

how to say leh? i faced loads of situations tat calls for one: a large aperture lens, 2: a fast iso with little/no noise.

tell me. u go ppl wedding dinner at night restaurant so dark. u sure u wanna run with ur kit lenses and ur 450d? guess not. i tried. trust me. even with flash it sucks like no tmr.

moral of story. a kungfu master can just use fingers to beat a noob swordsman with sword. but if 2 masters fight, u dun wanna be the one using the fingers ~~

:thumbsup::thumbsup: