Small External Flash for A900

i have no idea why ppl complain and complain about no built-in flash. yes they can come in handy, but its only handy for that small range.

just shoot without the flash and train ur arms' SSS! :bsmilie: then one day u will find that u wanna SSS ur tripods

that new small flash looks very small! :think: contemplating if i should get one just for wireless trigger

Really meh, so owning a FF mean pro liao without flash leh so m I a pro or beginners lol:confused:

That can't come early enough... especially when you're out doing snapshots and you just need the fill-in... on casual shoots, pretty silly to carry a monster F58AM around...

Hi, brothers knowing the new lite from sony is smaller but wonder whether it can perform better than the built in flash

Doesn't really matter, as long as the fill-in works well...

When Sony released the A700, people were complaining... "How can sony release a camera and expect people to think it's pro-level if it has a built-in flash???"

And then the A900 came out, and everyone's complaining about the lack of built-in flash.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

For me it was damned if you don't!! The built-in is really good... sometimes you want to travel light... but you want maximum flexibility... so you carry the 900 with max res...

Many of us like our cake and eat it.
If I have a camera to take candid, I will not bring a A900 if I have one. It is just too heavy and big. I will carry a smaller A700 or lower camera. Also can stand further.
If I only have a A900, if I want to take candid, I will not use flash even on the hot day sun. I will use spot metering. Yes, it may turn out panda eyes. If I have a flash and use it, I may alert the subject I am taking. So maybe I should not take in the first place.

If I can carry a A900, I should be able to carry a flash, maybe 36 or 56 or 43 and not a 58.
Have a friend who has a 1DSMKIII & 580EX, bought a small flash from Metz. All pictures are always over expose. Somehow the ETTL does not work well and usually smaller flash do not have a range or working apertures; i.e. the output cannot varies so much as compare to big flash. Recently, his GF bought him a speedite 430EX II. He is happier now carrying his 1DSMKIII & the 430EX II around.

I don't have the luxury of owning two cameras, one for a specific purpose... so the900 is an investment in photography and it will have to cut it in any situation it gets thrown into... and I'll have to learn to work around its deficiencies... but the lack of built-in flash is impossible to get around in some situations... spot-metering in a group shot will end up with very blown background if the photo is taken under very harsh lighting... I'm not talking of candid street photography... more of events, friends, outings, where you need a small pop to fill in the shadows or help you lower ISO or to freeze motion...

hi, brothers, I heard due to the facts the small built, it is some how similar or slightly better to the built in flash for the Alpha 700 and below. It is also my regret that the light was out only recently not knowing, the constraints of the low light where u have to push up the ISO high enough for noise to to be noticed.Anyway it is better than none.:think:

hi brothers do u have one ,I will like to test can or not hehehe

I don't have the luxury of owning two cameras, one for a specific purpose... so the900 is an investment in photography and it will have to cut it in any situation it gets thrown into... and I'll have to learn to work around its deficiencies... but the lack of built-in flash is impossible to get around in some situations... spot-metering in a group shot will end up with very blown background if the photo is taken under very harsh lighting... I'm not talking of candid street photography... more of events, friends, outings, where you need a small pop to fill in the shadows or help you lower ISO or to freeze motion...

Now Sony has a new small flash. Seems to be designed for A900
http://s11.zetaboards.com/Alphamount_Singapore/topic/7153142/3/
As I mention, with small flash, it will fire at it maximum output always. Thus, your pictures will appear harsh and over exposure always. My advise is to get a bigger flash like 42 or 36. With bigger head and power, it can varies itself very low output as compare to a smaller flash.

Hi brothers, I already have the f58 so now is only looking forward for the small light . But anyways, it is always good to have additional Flash :bsmilie:for WL setting very interesting.