SLCC SHoot

Jukon said:
Sometime I pay extra $$$ for private shoot, then I am the only Boss - make-up,outfit & etc
are all to my requirements. The Organiser, MAU and models are very up to Standard.
for Organiser, MAU, Models & Madmac.

Deadpoet YOU ARE REALLY DEAD COS YOU CANNOT DIFFERENTIATE A MASS SHOOT AND A
PRIVATE SHOOT.:

Jukon, of course I am dead, and I am going have two fun filled months coming up!!:bsmilie:

btw, you can't read and comprehend. The entire discussion revolved around mass shoot. Majority of the CS members, if they want to shoot models, join mass shoot. The only revelent topic of discussion is therefore mass shoot. :bsmilie:

and more so, we know you can pay extra money for a private shoot, but many of the members here cannot ... and your point is???:dunno:

jcho said:
Thank you all, will take note of all your precious comment, will improve...this is my first try:embrass: should not have used the golden reflector.

golden reflector is to fill in the shadows not to make its presence felt..LOL

renewification said:
golden reflector is to fill in the shadows not to make its presence felt..LOL
absolutely wrong. the golden reflector is too often misused. to fill in shadows, use the white reflector. the golden reflector is to add warmth to the image.

The best is not to use reflectors or fill in flash at all for outdoor. Make full use of natural light.

Deadpoet said:
absolutely wrong. the golden reflector is too often misused. to fill in shadows, use the white reflector. the golden reflector is to add warmth to the image.

True..depends on what u wan to fill in ...if u wan a more warmer image den u use gold if not den use silver side or u can just get a piece of white sterofoam..it all works..use ur brain...see the situation...

Pro Image said:
I still stand by that CHARBY is still the most successful organiser in town at the moment.
Why you say that? In what way?

(like 9/10 organised shoots are done poorly such as make-up, hair, clothings).

Do you know Charby is also weak in these areas?

If an organiser has local and overseas shoots experience, then they should be more experience in organising much more higher quality shoots.

Which organiser doesn't. We must see the demand if there is any? Take any local modelling agency will charge a quality model for $400 - $600 for half day shoot. Plus MUA say $100.00 and studio $100.00, that will sum up say $600.00. For 4 photographers will be $150.00 each. How many photographers in here willing to pay for this type of shoot, not many. Photographers here mostly hobbyists so some organisers cater this group of photographers with suitable shoot which is within their budget......

Sure a meal or 2 to make the photographers stoamch happy but the most important thing is still good models with at least standard make-up and no messy hair. After all these photographers that went for the trip is about photoshooting the models. Makan is secondary.

How can you shoot well with an empty stomach. The role of the organiser is to ensure the welfare and safety aspects are taken care of. They don't guarantee good results. That's the instructor and photographer's job.

Now when did I say Suekay was lousy? If you see the thread clearly, we were stating facts. Facts such place is too small for 20 plus photographers. Hey ask any photographers the most important thing in a model shoot are the MODELS and PLACE. Buffet....? So what is this? A lunch buffet or a photoshoot? Which one? What was the whole purpose of the model shoot? Model shoot right?

I did not say you said she is lousy. Can't you see a question mark? She is maybe inexperience in this field, but she did well with the models but not able to control the photographers. That's all I can see.

As an organiser, I would say all the above. Good models, Good location and food/drinks.

Firstly, whether they are teenager or adults the make up sucks big time. A teenager can look better if you have a good make-up artist. So far it's more like down roar to me.

I had seen suck suck makeup then this. As I mentioned before, maybe they are trying new things which don't work.....You can't deny that the MUA is good. You had compare her works with some other MUA and you know.......

Hello everyone, Joanne from SLCC.Everybody know that my English not very good and I am not trying to get any excuses to cover my "backside" I just want to say something that really from my heart.

Actually I want everybody to have fun and make new friends during the shoot but why end up with people "fighting" because of the make up la, models la.......la? I want to give somethig new to this shoot, I did discuss with my MUA, I spend extra money for all the "flowers" and "diamones" when my MUA said that she wants to have somethings new for this shoot. I agree with her and let her handle everything. I feel so sorry to her that people said her make up "suck" after she and another MUA trying so hard. Let be fair to her, she is not suck and many photographers from CS, photographers from SPH and many magazines also had and still getting her service and said that she is many many many :thumbsup: .

Organise shoot don't 100% make money, just like my oversea shoot on last year to Malacca I had lost at about S$ thousand plus but I still give my best food and best service during the trip. I just :dunno: why someone had work together with us before know what actually how we work but still want to say something that not truth. If you think that the organise shoot is fun and making money that do it yourself. Money who don't LOVE? People say "jun zi qu cai, qu zi you dao", I only take the money when I work hard for it. If I am $$$ face will you think I will organise a sharing section with all the people who love photography at MacRitchie Reservoir Zig-Zag Bridge (13/08/2006) without any fee.

We are the people who LOVE photography, the only way can share, to enjoy and make more friends are Organise shoot! Although I am sad but I will still Organise another shoot for people who love shooting and support SLCC.

Please don't "pollute" this formus anymore. If anyone not happy with what I say just PM me or call me at 98583502 or welcome you to SLCC for kopi but please don't start another "war" here, let's make our life more happy and enjoy the photography word in CS. Thank you!

I do not think the make up is ugly, rather the golden reflector and very wierd adobe RGB to windows viewer conversion somehow make it look uglier than it appears.

Anyway to the OP, you should learn 3 things from this photoshoot.

1) Post Processing
There is something really wrong with your post processing. You should read up more about Photoshop, RAW conversion etc. Digital Photography is 50% computer skills and 50% camera skills nowadays. I think your pictures are not that bad but your lack of computer skill compromise them more than they should

2) Color Balance.
If I am right, you did not use a flash. So you should be able to see what effect the gold reflector has on the model's face. You should not rely too much on your LCD to check the color as the color is not as accurate as your own eyes. If it looks wierd, it will look wierd on the computer no matter wat you do. I know this is your first shoot, and you are eager to snap the button and take photos. But always remember to look at your subject and see how you are improve it without post processing. This may mean making sure the model does not have messy hair, dirt on face, etc.... remember the human face is one of the things that everyone is an expert on. We see faces everyday and even the most ignorant human being can tell whether a face is beautiful or ugly. A good portrait demands perfection.

3) Paid Shoots
As you had read in this thread about all the little details that goes into a paid shoot which you attended. I personally think as a paying consumer, you are entitled to a certain amount of control over the make up, costume and model. I think next time, now that you are more experienced, check everything and then pay and take part in the shoot. Personally, I do not like to take part in group paid shoot as it is too chaotic. On one hand, I sympathise with the organisers to try to keep everyone happy and costs low, the other hand, I get upset when i pay $$$ and do not get what I want.

Bobman said:
I believe that all photographers should not be in the mercy of the organiser or MUA etc. You must do the photos you want not what other want. You should decide on the wardrobe for the model and instruct the MUA what type of makeup you want the model to look.

For me, joining of group shoot is for fun and not serious shooting. I can accept anything becasue I do not the have full control of what I want. Then what's the point of posting. (Msg to AM). Shoot for fun, if you see any model you like to shoot, ask the organiser and arrange one for private shoot......

If I should post, meaning I am happy with everything being arranged by me or others and I would not give any lame excuse as in sorry la, so many ppl leh, no place to shoot or the pose not mine one, the clothes actually i dun like but hor what to do, dunnoe leh the wan to do this type of makeup. etc etc etc....... worse dun ever say, its only so much only, what do you expect. This is not only an insult to the organiser but to yourself too. Why?

We organiser sometimes lower the price so that more ppl can come and shoot and enjoy each other get together, in the way so centre is doing becos it has many students, so lowering the rates is good for all.

Only if the group can spare each other just 5 mins to do a good shoot of maybe 10 shots. I believe the outcome would be veryt much different, very much rewarding; but sadly, it won't happen. About yourself, if you say so its cheap shoot and won't expect too much good shots. Why then join? Aren't you labelling yourself as cheopo????

As an organiser and a shooter, I would be my photo to be siew siew. Some will know I very 'cat' one. Small thing bo siew, redo again, that's why till now no portfolio (Another msg to AM). I try to have smallest group possible if budget is reached.

Every Sunday from now on, I will try do OSM (indoor or outdoor) shoot, I will welcome any harsh comments from any of you here, whether right or wrong your comments are. Especially the wardrobe and style/mua, I welcome your:flame: .......... :bsmilie:

Result is neither measure by the number of hours of hardwork you put in nor the number of years of experience you have.....

You certainly have a wierd way of sending someone a msg - posting in a thread that person has never participated in.
Anyway, imho a photographer should strive to be able to shoot under any, including difficult or unfavourable, conditions. For instance, if a customer walks into your studio for a portrait wearing clothes and makeup not to your liking, are you going to send the customer home or just shoot for fun? Hardly professional, right? Then if you do shoot for fun, as you say, and the pics do not come out "siew siew", do you not hand over any photos?
Look, it is alright if you do not wish to share your pics you took with us. That is your right.
However, to quote you from a recent post:
"I am glad that you are not making an excuse neither am I saying that you are giving one. I was referring to general that we should not say swimming trunk is too big because we can't swim well."

Deadpoet said:
I have walked out of an organised shoot, and I have cancelled a shoot I arranged becasue what were promised by the organiser and by the model were totally different than what were delivered. The discrepencies were not minor, and were not somethings that can be fixed within a reasonable period of time.
Hi Deadpoet. exceptionally pro photographer you are. Walk out of an organised shoot is sure not an easy thing for me, especially location which is distances away from my living area. Yet, of numerous organised shoots i attended from various organisers. None had appeared 'screw up'. I'll always fill up my CF card happily, went home as a happy man. Guess i must be quite lucky. If Deadpoet is organising a gorgeous model's shoot, i would be enthusiastic to sign up cause i know you got strict standard, In future, perhaps turn into ISO.
------
Why must there be so much war of words in CS, especially Portraits and Pose. NO ONE enjoyed people enjoying intimidating newbies or amauters. Is always good to advice for their further improvement. Very sad to say, half of it always transform into a rapid nasty quarrel. What i see is already a habit to them. Degrading so many people who pick photography up as their hobby. No doubt this is an open forum, still i feel people who always comment on other's pictures should phase it in a better manner. It show how much appalling character contain inside them. Let's work on serenity, not confrontation, please. :angel:

actually, all DP does, is to exercise his contractual rights.

nothing more, nothing less.

if i go on a paid shoot, then i will expect the express conditions that are set out to be complied with by the organiser i.e. location, timing, models, theme, clothes etc.

if the organiser changes the location, or the model, or the timing, then the photographer is NOT OBLIGED to carry on with the shoot and is entitled to for a refund.

in addition, there are also a number of terms that will be implied for a paid shoot. these will be:-
that the models are professional or will act professionally.
that the MUA will also be professional.

we are not paying, for amateurs, to practise their craft. if that is the intention, then it is beholden upon the organiser TO MAKE THIS KNOWN.

if i go on a paid shoot, then i will expect the express conditions that are set out to be complied with by the organiser i.e. location, timing, models, theme, clothes etc.

if the organiser changes the location, or the model, or the timing, then the photographer is NOT OBLIGED to carry on with the shoot and is entitled to for a refund.

in addition, there are also a number of terms that will be implied for a paid shoot. these will be:-

we are not paying, for amateurs, to practise their craft. if that is the intention, then it is beholden upon the organiser TO MAKE THIS KNOWN.

I want to give somethig new to this shoot, I did discuss with my MUA, I spend extra money for all the "flowers" and "diamones" when my MUA said that she wants to have somethings new for this shoot. I agree with her and let her handle everything. I feel so sorry to her that people said her make up "suck" after she and another MUA trying so hard. Let be fair to her, she is not suck and many photographers from CS, photographers from SPH and many magazines also had and still getting her service and said that she is many many many .

Organise shoot don't 100% make money, just like my oversea shoot on last year to Malacca I had lost at about S$ thousand plus but I still give my best food and best service during the trip. I just why someone had work together with us before know what actually how we work but still want to say something that not truth. If you think that the organise shoot is fun and making money that do it yourself. Money who don't LOVE? People say "jun zi qu cai, qu zi you dao", I only take the money when I work hard for it. I

i dont doubt that you may have good intentions behind this shoot.

BUT, regardless of the skills of this particular photographer who posted the pictures, the fact is, the make up is awful, and does no go with the outfits.

if you cant see that, and insist on defending the MUA solely because she has shot for magazines etc etc, then im sorry to say, but you have really poor taste. and i would be quite hesitant to ever sign up for an SLCC shoot, if this is the kind of response i will get to valid complaints.

jdredd said:

For me, I've join the shoot because, I have friends participating in it. And besides, I'm out to try out new stuff (for my case IR).

I'm going there to learn and so on, as for "Professional Models" maybe you wanna suggest that, when they open up a thread for shoot, to mention about the skills of the models and MUA.

I don't mind paying for amateurs if the price is within my budget, as I'm there to try and learn as well. I won't pay a high price for a professional model just for testing purpose.

And as above, I join these shoots for fun, to enjoy shooting with friends, not to have war.

AncientMariner said:
You certainly have a wierd way of sending someone a msg - posting in a thread that person has never participated in.
Anyway, imho a photographer should strive to be able to shoot under any, including difficult or unfavourable, conditions. For instance, if a customer walks into your studio for a portrait wearing clothes and makeup not to your liking, are you going to send the customer home or just shoot for fun? Hardly professional, right? Then if you do shoot for fun, as you say, and the pics do not come out "siew siew", do you not hand over any photos?
Look, it is alright if you do not wish to share your pics you took with us. That is your right.
However, to quote you from a recent post:
"I am glad that you are not making an excuse neither am I saying that you are giving one. I was referring to general that we should not say swimming trunk is too big because we can't swim well."

As an artist, NO! As a commercial photographer, you are LL ......

AncientMariner said:

Don't want to show photos is different from giving excuses from lousy photos... Alloz you need checkup issit??

SLCC said:
.... and I am not trying to get any excuses to cover my "backside" I just want to say something that really from my heart.

Hi Joanne ... IMHO "cover backside" is meant only for the male gender ..... not applicable to the female gender.:think:

yilishengxian said:
For me, I've join the shoot because, I have friends participating in it. And besides, I'm out to try out new stuff (for my case IR).

I'm going there to learn and so on, as for "Professional Models" maybe you wanna suggest that, when they open up a thread for shoot, to mention about the skills of the models and MUA.

I don't mind paying for amateurs if the price is within my budget, as I'm there to try and learn as well. I won't pay a high price for a professional model just for testing purpose.

And as above, I join these shoots for fun, to enjoy shooting with friends, not to have war.

A contract is a contract. It has the same implications and responisbilities regardless of whether the photographers, the models, the MUA, the organisers are professionals or amateurs. Are you implying that amateurs do not have to comply with contractual terms?

If the make up is bad, if the outfit is a mess, if the shoot is not turning out the right way, we, as photographers and paying customers, have the rights and responsibilities to complain and demand the problems fixed.

Having fun is important. I have fun with my friends in many ways, but when I am having fun shooting with my photography friends, I still expect that the subject, which I am paying for, deliver as expected and promised.

All too often, just because there are a few cute beautiful models standing in front of our cameras, many of us forgot all about what we are there to do in the first place. Too bad, so sad, is all I can say about these photographers.

Deadpoet said:
I have to agree on this one.

Canonised said:
Hi Joanne ... IMHO "cover backside" is meant only for the male gender ..... not applicable to the female gender.:think:

is it?? female also got backside mah...sometimes maybe have to cover also :bsmilie: