Sim Lim Shop cheating technique!!!!

There's a lot of people distributing flyers right? I wonder what the law says about this, I presume it's ok.

So is it also ok if we print out forum contents like this and distribute outside these undesirable shops, since they distribute, then we also distribute lah!!!

Actually it can be very easy to avoid getting quote unreasonable price in SLS, I don't understand why there are so many ppl getting conned, and how the 'black shop' can survive for so many years...

If you have time to research, just go HWZ -> pricelist and search for the item that you want. Print the list and go to the shops that listed the low price. If they don't have stock(trick to disrupt market? :-) ), go to the one with second lowest price, and so on...

If no time to research, just collect those printed pricelist from 3 or 4 reputable shops. Compare and get the lowest one. That way you will not be chopped and I doubt you will be getting any cheaper from comparing more shops in SLS or even in the whole of Singapore... Those shops around lvl 3/4/5 that have their pricelist printed should be ok for this.

For Photography stuff, call(yes call first!) any 3 of these: A**N, C****Y, M* ****R, J*** **6, get the lowest price and you would not be getting any much lower anywhere else.(Grey item or MO of course are exceptional). Note though it's advisable to ask for the Sales guy's name and look for that guy in the shop.

Wow that sounds like fun! I feel like sitting there for a couple of hours to hear and see what they will do trying to "sell" you something.

For Photography stuff, call(yes call first!) any 3 of these: A**N, C****Y, M* ****R, J*** **6, get the lowest price and you would not be getting any much lower anywhere else.(Grey item or MO of course are exceptional). Note though it's advisable to ask for the Sales guy's name and look for that guy in the shop.

Isn't this ALAN place a piece of joke too?

Not realli. So far I had ok experience with Alan. Did u face something weird?

Isn't this ALAN place a piece of joke too?

From what I heard, its reputation is spoiled by certain sales guys. I had been sticking to the same sales guy since few years back. He is polite, friendly and quote reasonably.
But sometimes when I call, that sales guy not in, and I will just get quote from whoever picking up the call, the price also very reasonable. That's why I stated it's better to call first.

From what I heard, its reputation is spoiled by certain sales guys. I had been sticking to the same sales guy since few years back. He is polite, friendly and quote reasonably.
But sometimes when I call, that sales guy not in, and I will just get quote from whoever picking up the call, the price also very reasonable. That's why I stated it's better to call first.

ya, go to AP, must see who serve u one, some are :thumbsup: while some are :thumbsd: , haha:):D

What's the point of complaining so much and then not sharing the name of the culprit shops? Wouldn't it be better to publicly name the good ones and the bad ones so others don't kena con and instead go directly to the good guys? :dunno:

Personally, ALAN PHOTO still my favourite camera shop at SLS - very reasonable prices and no dodgy sales tactics. Orient Photo also seems quite ok.

I also had my experience 2 years back.
I was looking around for sigma 18-200 and this camera shop quoted me the lowest price unfortunately the lens was not available. He told me to come after 5 days. When I came back he told me that the price already increased by S$20. Since I badly needed the lens so I ageed to get the lens. I saw one cam bag and asked this guy whether the camera with the lens attached will fit inside the bag. He took the bag attached the lens to the camera and fit it inside the bag. I asked him about the price of the bag and he quoted me a price which is 20+ dollar more than what the other shops quoted me. I told him that I'll just get the lens then he started raising his voice forcing me to buy the bag. He told me that I already wasted his time fitting the camera and lens in the bag. Being new in Singapore then I have no other choice but to get the bag and leave his store scratching my head. I don't mind paying extra but what I cant take was the way I was treated in the store:thumbsd:

My experience did not end there. I was waiting for my friend then my attention was caught by someone shouting. I really don't know what happened. I just heard this Chinese guy from the camera shop which is beside the store where I got my lens shouting on 2 Indians wearing t-shirt and jeans " Go away Indian I don't wana do business with you!" I was really shocked by what I heard.

I was really traumatized by what I experience that day. I didn't expect such treatment to customers. Probably I will not get the same treatment if I am a Caucasian. I will still get cheated but in a "nice and discrete" way:bsmilie:

well....moral of the story is.....hold on to your cash/card 1st.....and if he try to be fierce.....dun be scared......that time my fren walk into a shop called F***s P***t ....that banana qouted me a price which is fairly reasonable for my D80+18-200....so i anything lor.....dne later when going in....he flashed out one of the mani calculators lying around....den quoted me another price.....with gst......

i tell him he nvr say earlier....den he shoot me sae i buy things dun wanna pay tax.....and claimed that the shops in sls are wholesalers(ya rite, my 1st day went sls ah)....den i shoot him back....say he is NOT supposed to quote me a price without GST..... i tell him..."i go alan there...they can quote me $****(100 bucks cheaper) with GST"......den i asked him if he can gimme that price....i will buy from him.....

the lame guy pressed his calculator again....den say cannot la....the next thing is i just gave him a smirk face and walk off........ppl try to be fierce with u...dun care.....reason with them lor.....best is got voice recorder and a friend with you(make sure he is an experienced SLS guru)......as long as nvr pay them...u are SAFE.....

Well....never really had good experiences with most 1st and 2nd level black shops...still like the ppl who does MOs ard here....nice ppl actually and most importantly....is the clear price :D

Yeah.... cash is king. If you're not happy with how they are treating you, just walk out. No shop is getting stressed over, especially shops in SLS.

For peace of mind, I'd rather go to the shops popular with most other forummers, TK Foto, MS Color, John and CP. You will get good service and can be assured of getting a good price for your overall purchase (no nonsense of cheap body but you MUST buy exorbidantly priced accessories/lenses).

The prices might not be the absolute lowest price (+/- a few dollars), but think about it, is saving the $10-20 worth the stress and agitation?
Make sure you do your research before buying, this applies to any store. Otherwise, just buy it at Harvey Norman, Courts or Best Denki, for sure you know you won't be paying more than RRP. :)

Next time before we go to those shops, we record down the phone conversations (some hp have this function). When reach there, record all conversations (video better still...). If the banana tries to be funny, let him hear (or see) your evidence.

If he say you bo liao, trying to be funny...just tell him that you'll be posting this online on Clubsnap, HWZ, youtube...etc etc...

Who wanna form a sting operation to try this out? I don't mind joining in :)

Last time on TV they showed once how the SLS pple tried to chop carrot head a "Bangla" actor.

Frankly, do you think those ah beng salesman will care? The shop isn't theirs...

Its all in the name of fun :) You can always ask to see the boss and send him a DVD of the video :)

ok, for the sake of our fellow CSers who wished to head down to SLS in the future. i don't give a damn and i wanna post the name of one evil and lame shop. THE CAMERA SHOP

had a very disgusting history with this shop!

few weeks ago, i decide to head down to SLS and check out that shop and find out how evil is that shop... i asked this particular idiot how much does a Canon 350D cost. i purposely act dumb-dumb and he quote $1300 with gst.

i asked him whether i get everything and he said yes. He took out the package to let me see. i check it out and ask him "eh? i think u missed out the kit lens. he said " this is what u get for the price. charger, batt etc etc but not kit lens"

i said "really ah? why ah?" he said " oh, the kit lens is expensive one and high end!"
and then for fun, i said "aha, caught u! u think u can cheat me u piece of thrash! trying to cheat people with your so-called knowledge"

then i walk away and tell random tourist that avoid THE CAMERA SHOP as they cheat your money...

serves them right!

ok, for the sake of our fellow CSers who wished to head down to SLS in the future. i don't give a damn and i wanna post the name of one evil and lame shop. THE CAMERA SHOP

had a very disgusting history with this shop!

few weeks ago, i decide to head down to SLS and check out that shop and find out how evil is that shop... i asked this particular idiot how much does a Canon 350D cost. i purposely act dumb-dumb and he quote $1300 with gst.

i asked him whether i get everything and he said yes. He took out the package to let me see. i check it out and ask him "eh? i think u missed out the kit lens. he said " this is what u get for the price. charger, batt etc etc but not kit lens"

i said "really ah? why ah?" he said " oh, the kit lens is expensive one and high end!"
and then for fun, i said "aha, caught u! u think u can cheat me u piece of thrash! trying to cheat people with your so-called knowledge"

then i walk away and tell random tourist that avoid THE CAMERA SHOP as they cheat your money...

serves them right!

Hahaha... What you did is cool. Good job to hit back.

Maybe we can offer them a trade in of kit lens since it is the "high-end" lens :)

The crazy thing is that SLS is actually recommended by STB in hotels.

think this thread has served its purpose of warning people. thread closed before it gets further OT.