Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC

deslim27 said:
Best if all lenses are SSM, but cost might be a concern especially for kit lens

Canon bundles a USM lens for its kit lens... doesn't have to be a problem... most people dun bother to buy kit lens unless it's a good one like the one accompanying the D70.... so why not make it a good one with SSM... a simple 18-55mm lens would be a good starter for a newbie and give him an excellent experience of the Minolta system while currect users will benefit from having a simple walk about lens when they buy the 7D... cost I don't think is much of an issue for a standard design kit lens with SSM....

TME said:
Canon bundles a USM lens for its kit lens... doesn't have to be a problem... most people dun bother to buy kit lens unless it's a good one like the one accompanying the D70.... so why not make it a good one with SSM... a simple 18-55mm lens would be a good starter for a newbie and give him an excellent experience of the Minolta system while currect users will benefit from having a simple walk about lens when they buy the 7D... cost I don't think is much of an issue for a standard design kit lens with SSM....

TME, I agree with you about SSM on kit lens.. throw in some great goodies that consumer cannot resist!! LOL!

BTW, 350D's kit lens is non-USM.

Drudkh said:
:think: how muchie?

If I remember correctly, less than $200 (too low to believe.. :bsmilie: )

Just checked B/S forum.. 3mths lens selling at $150.. and generally, selling range from $100-$150.

Perhaps its a cheap and good interim solution.

deslim27 said:
If I remember correctly, less than $200 (too low to believe.. :bsmilie: )

Just checked B/S forum.. 3mths lens selling at $150.. and generally, selling range from $100-$150.

Perhaps its a cheap and good interim solution.
:o mai tu liao! :bsmilie: need to wait for payday. :sweat:

Drudkh said:
:o mai tu liao! :bsmilie: need to wait for payday. :sweat:

:bsmilie: Let's do MO leh.. KM mount need pre-order leh..

deslim27 said:
:bsmilie: Let's do MO leh.. KM mount need pre-order leh..
ok, if really that price, count me in, thanks. :)

Drudkh said:
ok, if really that price, count me in, thanks. :)

Aiyo.. thought you're free to do the MO.. kekeke.. which shop to contact leh? Don't have time to call all shops for price leh. :(

okay i call to find out. ;p

edit: cathay photo quote 18-50 DC for $880 leh! :kok: where got $150???

Drudkh said:
okay i call to find out. ;p

edit: cathay photo quote 18-50 DC for $880 leh! :kok: where got $150???

That's the price for 18-50 EX lah.. :kok:

deslim27 said:
That's the price for 18-50 EX lah.. :kok:
okay, i called Ms color, they say don't have, tk foto also don't have. :confused:

Drudkh said:
okay, i called Ms color, they say don't have, tk foto also don't have. :confused:

AP and John 3:16? As far as I know, they might not keep stock for it.. that's why need to pre-order loh.

deslim27 said:
AP and John 3:16? As far as I know, they might not keep stock for it.. that's why need to pre-order loh.
they say don't have this lens, only the DC but must pre-order. :confused:

Drudkh said:
they say don't have this lens, only the DC but must pre-order. :confused:

huh?

The 2 lens are.. 18-50/2.8 EX DC and 18-50/3.5-5.6 DC.. both are DC mah..

i think we are all confused over the models sigma has.
i checked the sigma website they only have 2 18-50 lenses.
1) f/2.8 EX DC
2) f/3.5-5.6 DC
:bsmilie: i ask them they also confused.

deslim27 said:
huh?

The 2 lens are.. 18-50/2.8 EX DC and 18-50/3.5-5.6 DC.. both are DC mah..
i mean the EX.

clarified with tk foto, its $180 (1 month to import). :sweat:

Drudkh said:
i mean the EX.

clarified with tk foto, its $180 (1 month to import). :sweat:

See cheap cheap mah.. 1 month bo pian lah.. wait lor.. anyone else interested also?

The non-EX Sigma lenses.... what's the quality like? Cos it's so cheap I suspect some elements are made of plastic...

how come nobody interested in the EX one ;)