Shop at holland village..sad facts of this society

I'm in the area (commonwealth Dr), too. Have never gone to that (those) shop(s) but being a foreigner myself i think there's hug difference between "foreigner" and "ang mo expat".

Talking bout SLS, my last trip there is to help 1 of my friend buying some mp3 player (cheapo type). Being a foreigner himself (not ang mo though) with tight budget he kept saying stuff were quite ex to him to some shop keeper and received much much ruder treatment which i shall not dirty this thread by saying it out.
Meanwhile i was looking at the next shop to check on pricing of a prosummer cam (well, of course din look like buying but staying in Spore for over 5 years, my English is ok enough not to sound rude and i din bargain anything, just a quick check of prices...). The seems-to-be- boss of that very shop then asked me to "move" and used a small vase of water + 1 branch and flick water all over his glass door and the entrance of the shop while mumbling smthing in Mandrin or Hokkien or whatever ...

He he, some kinda ritual procedure which ... if there is ... is more expected in somewhere like chinatown or some pasar malam ...

What a shop
To me, service is as important as good price when it comes to satisfaction when buying stuff.

to TS:
nothing wrong to bring up some fact :thumbsup: . Choices are made and it's up to individual.

to all, here's a funny story i heard from one of my colleague:
One of his friend, went to a car mall intended to buy a car. After being ignored in a very rude way for quite long in one shop, he angrily walked to the opposite shop and eventually bought a car there. My colleague insisted that it's a true story. ... he he.
Well, his friend was truly "siao". It's a car, come on ... Singapore car costs like how much ... if it's a shirt or even a notebook, camera .... then i can understand, but car ... :sweat:
But in order to make the 1st shop keeper feel "pai seh" and regreted, he did a very good job.

tan131 said:
overdodo:

"Live and let live"- yeap, that why dun intend to tell anyone not to patronise them :) and yes, its the ex king of pop.. did i spell it wrongly? sorrie, not realli a fan :P hmmm.. dunno any employees in the store, even if i do, not me to quote names

glensky:

To be fair to the second shop, the shop i'm talking about is near a bakery..Well.. I was looking for a notebook carrier.. i dun think that cost much.. is that why I was given the cold shoulder? prices may be good (quoting from your experience) but service definately isn't.. why not get a frd who they don't know and go down on a day sunday like today.. ask for something not that pricy. Do take note who was here first before you and who came later.. maybe, jus maybe u will understand what I am talking about :)
tan131,

i understand what u mean,i did experienced this treatment w/ other shops eg,lucky plaza...etc.but anyhow hope u dont bump on this kind of pple.cheers

I am a Singaporean but I am always treated like a foreigner with no money to buy anything. Maybe I am just too brown. Oh well, to the original poster, please dont get too upset by this sad mentality. Singaporeans are weird in their own way. Hope you have a good day. Cheers!

tan131,
actually ParisSilk has quite a good reputation.
initially was setup to cater to the large number of British soldiers living in
northern part (Sembawang) of post-war Singaore. (50's & 60's)

They currently have 2 outlets,
1) Outside Nee Soon Camp (run by Andrew is better IMHO, very nice chap)
2) Holland Village (located in expat area obviously to cater for them mah,
one matter what we locals are not white)

however since they treat you like that, take your money elsewhere.
btw, i'm pure local Singaporean.

take your money elsewhere. I also had poor experience just getting quotes from them.

freebsd said:
tan131,

Firstly, i don't know whether they have a good reputation in the past or not, cos frankly, that doesn't matter.. businesses do not thrive on history, its what matters now and in the future that ensures survival..

Secondly, expat area or not.. and whether who it caters for doesn't bother me.. i believe all who walk in are your customers.. frankly, i don't think there should be a difference in service attitude if those who walked in are not your "intended customers" :(

Lastly, not realli going to discuss whether i'm going back or not cos frankly.. it doesn't matter.. jus need to point out to anyone currently in business or intending to go in that.. there shouldn't be a difference in service attitude no matter what the person is buying or whether the person ends up buying or not..

freebsd said:
tan131,

They have another shop at Bedok too.
I think Paris Silk at HV is ok. It's always my first recommendation for any Singaporean or foreigners who want to buy electronic stuff. I bought a number of stuff from this shop and always bring foreigners to shop at their shop. Though, I agree with their bad service occasionally. Overall they are good.

Anyone wanna start a "Bad Shops Thread", with links to all the threads regarding bad shops ?

AReality said:
Anyone wanna start a "Bad Shops Thread", with links to all the threads regarding bad shops ?

trust me, everyshop will be included in the list.

To the thread starter … hey perhaps the shop owner is just doing what the govtman encourages - welcoming visitors and making them feel at home. Think they also about mentioned raising service standards - but didn’t specify towards whom though …kekeke…but seriously, many shops here have much to improve ...

by "welcoming visitors" u mean angmo expat?
As a shop keeper, i dun think they give much attention to what the government say or encourage.
Just that angmo ppl are usually more willing to open their wallet, dun bargain, have less knowledge on the stuff they r going to buy (esp tourists), hence are easily influence by "experienced" salesmen ....

well, at least in general it is the case

It's quite common, who (is felt to be more willing to buy) by the shop keeper will be treated better by them

In this common case, other types of foreigners might be treated at the other extreme
equating angmo expat = foreigner isn't :thumbsup: