SGTrekker 4D Angkor Wat Photo Tour (4-7 Oct '12)

Making Faces in the Bayon...

Every body was looking for faces in the Bayon. Every body.
Every turn of the corner. Every round of the pillar.
Every face, every profile, every nose... everything was examined from left, right and centre.
Just so to capture that ideal angle.

It's really very fun.
It was scorching hot. But we all enjoyed it tremendously.
Hey this was what we came here for, wasn't it?

Clickable photo

The Bayon faces and I.
Notice the resemblance? Big nose, big cheekbones, thick lips, protruding foreheads.
It's a match!

Wah ! So HANDSOME one !

Angkor Wat in Infrared...

Just a shot of Angkor Wat in IR...
We walked through the secluded path to the more remote gate of Angkor Wat, and after the group photo, we walked up the dilapidated doorway..
... I looked left and saw this scene through the window...
So since vngks is doing his IR with such enthusiasm, I also took a shot...

8074154424_0ebb2f1888_b.jpg

Canon 20D R72 Infrared with Tokina 10-17 Fish Eye

This one Swee !

After the sunrise shoot, off we went to explore Angkor Wat. This Angkor Wat trip is wonderful as it provided us with plenty of photo opps. :thumbsup:

#13 : On the way walking towards the Angkor Wat main building
8077190755_88ba233117_o.jpg

This one also Swee !

This one Swee !

Kam Sia, Big Brother LowLights!

Here we all entering Bayon...
to find so many people inside... Mr and Mrs AlexK and SereneXMM blur...

8079867942_5761049c21_b.jpg

This lovely couple running after the 2 little gals
8080015047_c707d7fafb_c.jpg

As usual, the SG Trekker photographers
8080018024_b7c47a5663_c.jpg

Serene Jiejie bought some tibits for the children
8079997272_b10153e239_c.jpg

#20 : An angmoh tourist sitting by the doorway
8077188409_104b392afb_o.jpg

Alex, this was beautifully taken. Like the all round back framing, with a dash of lights at bottom, and ang mo in such a natural pose. Lai Peng shld be sitting there.

Ta Prohm, The Jungle Temple
8076773389_44745b1ff2_c.jpg

8076772425_813382c215_c.jpg

8076754444_138732fc61_c.jpg

8076765225_0055502a44_c.jpg

8076764136_95eefbc2a1_c.jpg

Ta Prohm, The Jungle Temple
8076773389_44745b1ff2_c.jpg

Lovely. Just like McDermot's shot.
Only that this is not IR. Ms Speng ah Ms Speng... why don't you start shooting IR?
I didn't manage to get a shot like this so nice. You would have done the IR community proud...
Had this been an IR shot!

This lovely couple running after the 2 little gals
8080015047_c707d7fafb_c.jpg
Terrible. My lao ah pek socks... Hahaha..

As usual, the SG Trekker photographers
8080018024_b7c47a5663_c.jpg
Wah... Ms Speng yah Ms Speng. You also shoot Shauna01 ~ the most shot model on the whole trip yah... LOL...

Serene Jiejie bought some tibits for the children
8079997272_b10153e239_c.jpg
Huh? Jie Jie? Are you sure or not?
She is supposed to be Serene XMM leh? LOL...

Your lens very power ah. Not only can see the sweat, can also see the pores

Huh? How come I cannot see the pores myself?!
LOL.. Hahaha... Divinemoment.. Oh I know why. I know why.
It's not my lenses that is powerful. It's your Carl Zeiss spectacle lenses that made your eyes so much more powerful!!!

Alex, this was beautifully taken. Like the all round back framing, with a dash of lights at bottom, and ang mo in such a natural pose. Lai Peng shld be sitting there.

divinemoment, thanks. :D
I feel that ang mo with blonde hair especially would be give better effect. Also, Lai Peng won't be sitting there as she will be busy shooting too. :bsmilie:

My only Bayon face shot. There are so many Bayon faces I also confused. Turn here turn there don't know which one.
8070167294_831bbb4ffc_c.jpg

Wah the Bayoh is very hot inside and so crowded with visitors until we all can not tahan any more. And then we walked out.
We walked to the Elephant Terrace because Adrian said it was very interesting. But we found something more interesting than the elephant carvings and some beetles. There was some children swimming in the pond. And they were all not shy at all and even posed for us.
[Vital areas censored out already]
They kept somersaulting for us.

8070231526_31e0f855c0_z.jpg

One two three, jump!
8070243245_073ddd0470_z.jpg

Again, one two three jump!
8070241500_6ee5d5f2e7_z.jpg

"One dollar!" Jump.
8070118714_ec9bc41bcd_z.jpg

"Ok I give two dollar you share among all of you. OK." Jump!
8070251168_4fe8a2e9a7_z.jpg

Cruising on the Tonle Sap

Evening draws near.
After the Bayon we got ferried to the edge of the Tonle Sap, the famous huge fresh water lake that is the livelihood of many a Cambodians living along its coasts.

Mr Thay said: " There are many refugees living in the water houses and boat houses on the lakes. They fish for a living. During the wet season when the lake is full, they are all at the edge of the lake. During the dry season, the lake can shrink by half, and many of them move inwards into the centre part of the lakes. Those who stay behind would plant rice on the bed of the dried lake. These rice are special because they can be harvested in merely 6 months."

So we were lucky because this was the wet season. And we had a full lake to cruise upon.
We saw the way the boat people lived and their abodes.
Quite an experience for us... on the motorised boat.

Along the way we saw some of the Vietnamese refugee children in their school-on-the-water.
8070339134_384ce27933_c.jpg

... and the very enterprising young boy on the boat who went around massaging every one for a small fee.
Actually by the end of the cruise he was quite a wealthy boy by any Cambodian standards already.
8070337132_0474bb83f3_c.jpg

We were fortunate to have a Vietnamese couple on a sampan rowing in the sunset.
My shots were all terrible. I could only catch the rope dangling from the top of the boat with the sampan in the background.
8070348905_a980c7c442_b.jpg

... and this station. Don't know what kind of station it was...
8070348344_67b55275fd_c.jpg

AlexK in IR..
Entering the Bayon..

Clickable image

I looked back at my photos and found an IR fisheye shot of
the moment our team mate entered Bayon.
I was standing up on one of the platform and
turned my head in time to capture this moment.

By the time we made our way back to the shore, the sun has set and the whole place has turned a nice blue tint..

8070366883_9f35cefa6f_c.jpg

And everything, the boat houses, the people, the children are all basked in the nice blue of the evening..

8070356636_afb7e56eda_c.jpg

8070354936_0ef380984e_c.jpg

Going back to hotel already...
8070356709_59d7cb52c0_c.jpg

Our two photography power horses forever at the ready with their tua-leng-gong cameras...
8070188102_7416929931_c.jpg

limwhow, here's your photo taken with my tua-leng-gong. Wow, looks cool with the Rudy Project.
8084566545_f9361cc8d1_o.jpg

limwhow, here's your photo taken with my tua-leng-gong. Wow, looks cool with the Rudy Project.
8084566545_f9361cc8d1_o.jpg

Hahaha... thank you. AlexK!
Hey.. I didn't realise my grey hairs are starting to show.
Very good very good.
Everything must follow my sifu, grey hair and all..LOL..