SBS Transit, SMRT ask to raise bus and train fares

But but .. it can be twisted that you shouldn't complain when u can afford such expensive

hobby :(

Can upgrade camera, cannot pay just 20-30% more for transport meh ???

Some of us don't have much disposable income and need to really save and scrap to buy our

equipment, which is something some ppl need to undstd

:confused: Dun always give reason that got money can buy these and that, price hike

complain so much.

Haiz...tink abt those singaporeans fallen behind and are still struggling to cope with the

rasing cost.

Companies always using rising oil prices as excuses to raise fare. Seriously, you really think

they never factor in the unpredictable oil prices to maintain a healthy profit meh ?

Dun give any stupid reason and force singaporeans to LPPL and swallow down the throat.

Look at our jam our buses and MRT during peak hour, still want to aim for 6.5million ?

Bullocks ! Ridiculous to see MIW support any policies that came out from the mouth of

another elite just to conform to the group..

Worse of all, most singaporeans are afraid to voice out their unhappiness to avoid being

labelled as the non-conforming population and incur the wrath of

err , if i upgrade cam, it has nothing to do with other ppl :p
if they increase price and dun effect me, then i will not complain :p

p.s. not what i voted for :p hahaha

hmm yah loh , now Singapore getting more & more pack !! .... maybe afew generations down the road, will have to migrate ...

we've been through this for the past few years. there they increase price, here we voice our displeasures. no matter how many forums these displeasures are being voiced out, they still fall on deaf ears. what a shame...

i think it's bad enough that citizens of spore are going through this. but what about non-citizens? they are the worst hit. they do not get any rebates from the govt and yet, are still subjected to the same price increase.

Ok noted, more good years ahead then :)

MM lee says we are in the golden period that's y GST and everything increased. It's better

to increase now then in a economic crisis right? :thumbsup:

More good years: ST reported that unemployment is lowest in 6 years and wages has also

raised. Civil servant pay has also adjusted to match with those in private sector. It shows

private sector is actually booming right now. Property always experiencing a boom. Recent

example are HDB flats being sold at 700K.

Best of all, STI index is having a pre-celebration for our nation by donning RED these few

days. :cool: Its a honest mistake. Let's move ahead and stay together !!!!

Companies always using rising oil prices as excuses to raise fare. Seriously, you really think

they never factor in the unpredictable oil prices to maintain a healthy profit meh ?

fact is that oil prices have risen more than 3 times in the last 10 years (from $20+ to $70+ today). How you expect fare prices to stay stagnant?

I agree with you.
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Lots of people like to complain for the sake of complaining.
I bet that if the transport companies were in the red and ask to increase the prices, people will also complain eg. why is management paid so much? why is the company run so inefficiently? why doesn'tthe company cut the unprofitable routes?why doesthe company cut the unprofitable routes?

The truth now is that the transport companies are now in the BLACK. Even if the price of petrol would drop in time to come, I doubt that these transport companies will ever lower their fares.

why taxi companies never thought of increasing the fare when both taxi n bus share
the same source of diesel to generate power? :think:

why taxi companies never thought of increasing the fare when both taxi n bus share
the same source of diesel to generate power? :think:

they did alreadi lah.

I agree with you.
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Lots of people like to complain for the sake of complaining.
I bet that if the transport companies were in the red and ask to increase the prices, people will also complain eg. why is management paid so much? why is the company run so inefficiently? why doesn'tthe company cut the unprofitable routes?why doesthe company cut the unprofitable routes?

You are member of public, you complain without solutions, you are a whiner
You are member of public, you complain and give solutions, you are told, your solutions are stupid.
You are opposition member, you question the ruling party's decisions, you are called a trouble maker
You are opposition member, you DONT question the ruling party's decision, you are called a no brainer
You question fellow members if they are party members are they seem fanatic in their defense and you are told "you are attacking the individual"
Finally you talk somemore and Mod tells you all.. "okay thread locked and closed"

I would say our govt must know best for us, and we must accept the reasons if we dont have solutions lest we become any of the above catergories of people. Next election, I am sure we will be smart and we will once again vote for our beloved party and their leaders and look forward to more increases in taxes, fees, cost of living. Also we must trust that our poor will be able to get enough to get by. The recent arguement that the poor cannot be given an extra few dollars saying that it will erode their work ethics is the right one. You see now we dont have to walk to buy tissue. All the disabled and poor are doing their job peddling tissue paper from table to table on crutches and entertaining us with song and dance at almost every MRT.

fact is that oil prices have risen more than 3 times in the last 10 years (from $20+ to $70+ today). How you expect fare prices to stay stagnant?

When oil prices went down... is it reasonable to lower costs for consumer as well ?

For goodness sake, our only transportation formly known as public transport has become a

monopoly. How can you justify for the increment when we see no improvement in the

travelling conditions during peak hours ?

You are member of public, you complain and give solutions, you are told, your solutions are stupid.
You are opposition member, you question the ruling party's decisions, you are called a trouble maker
You are opposition member, you DONT question the ruling party's decision, you are called a no brainer
You question fellow members if they are party members are they seem fanatic in their defense and you are told "you are attacking the individual"
Finally you talk somemore and Mod tells you all.. "okay thread locked and closed"

I would say our govt must know best for us, and we must accept the reasons if we dont have solutions lest we become any of the above catergories of people. Next election, I am sure we will be smart and we will once again vote for our beloved party and their leaders and look forward to more increases in taxes, fees, cost of living. Also we must trust that our poor will be able to get enough to get by. The recent arguement that the poor cannot be given an extra few dollars saying that it will erode their work ethics is the right one. You see now we dont have to walk to buy tissue. All the disabled and poor are doing their job peddling tissue paper from table to table on crutches and entertaining us with song and dance at almost every MRT.

:o I begining to suspect you and silence_sky are best pals :cool:

so imagine you are the government and the transport companies claim they need
to raise bus fares because of:
1. rising fuel prices
2. increase in CPF contributions
3. increase in GST

So what would you do? I'm interested to hear your solutions.

1. rising fuel prices
3. increase in GST

Ask them what other initiatives/solution thay have taken to negate such increases in the first place. Not that they are facing keen competition and they have razor thin profit margin like those in Tech industry, 2% rise in GST shouldn't be that hard to negate.

Especially for CPF, the citizens of Sg took a cut due to economy downturn the restoration should not be viewed as an increase.

I agree on the count of fuel prices, that however, need to be seen from the perspective of actual cost increase in their fuel and energy consumption but not the gross expenditure which includes many other things... can be seen in their fiscal report.

1. rising fuel prices
3. increase in GST

so if we give our suggstion out, will we be their CEO ;p

Beside CYRN comment, the main issue the public have is why they keep raising their price, when the company keep having huge positive surge in yearly earning.

"Public" transport are suppose to serve people, now it seem to serve the share holder more :cry:

1. rising fuel prices
3. increase in GST

Mmm why not you give us your solutions first? Instead of asking us to be obedient and accept all price increases?

We are not unhappy over the price increase, we are unhappy every year they ask for price increase saying profits down, but each year profits increase not by a few percent but by 50 percent.....

It sounds so much like NKF...... when people questioned them during their hey day, the govt and elite Singaporeans defended them like no tomorrow. When the scandal leak out, govt cannot wait to distance themselves away from them.

Now its transport companies, each year request and get their price increase approved and profits surge each year. You question them, you have those who shoot you down.... wonder if one day will a scandal break out and see if these "defenders" are still so vocal.

BTW here's the $$$ for Energy and fuel cost.

Energy expenses

2005 (101,211,000)
2006 (121,479,000)

*edit*/ Note that their total operating expenses only rose by 7.1% from

2005 (533,172,000)
2006 (571,128,000)
/*edit*

Revenue

2005 590,326,000
2006 628,552,000

You can see revenue is quite a lot higher than energy expenses.

SBS have 3 main source of income.

Bus, Rail and Advertisment and their respective turnover for 2006 are:

Bus 513,912,000
Rail 74,475,000
Ads 24,177,000

So there's still quite a lot of room for improvement on the Ads portion ;)

1. rising fuel prices
3. increase in GST

You mean we can chose???? My solution..... if I am the government, I will dump their suggestion, and make another bus operator license available and let them to fight it out....

All these FATTY are sitting on the board too long..... and time to kick them into shape..... if they cannot defend their turf, they should be voted out....

Of course... in a free market, then, this is possible.... here... all inter-related.... so different case.....

For many years since, I know that once the people continue to prefer the ALL WHITE, things will only go this route..... but many are dumb enough to eat the carrot infront of them, and did not see even more shits holes behind..... Maybe that is why I tend to use 300mm for no reason... to see what is behind the carrot in front! lol.... :bsmilie:

Originally Posted by datan View Post
1. rising fuel prices
3. increase in GST

The usual reply is "This is a private company, it is operating in free market, it is not wise for us to meddle with it, they also need to make profit."

Sounds familiar ah? Anyway, it is the government's private company. :bsmilie: Don't mess around with it!!! :nono:

The usual reply is "This is a private company, it is operating in free market, it is not wise for us to meddle with it, they also need to make profit."

Sounds familiar ah? Anyway, it is the government's private company. :bsmilie: Don't mess around with it!!! :nono:
that's why govn is smart, earn money from citizens, unlike other, which usually subsidies their citizens :thumbsup:

1. rising fuel prices
3. increase in GST

Frist thing that come into my mind is, show me that u had made an significant loss because of these. And propose how u think an increase in fare will benefit both the company and the society and how long would u forecast this increase to last, till the next increase.