SBG 22-08-04 By Canon A80

I think overall it is a well deserved effort. We all can learn more from the shots that we take. :thumbsup:

chunger said:
Thanks for the info, well it is a very pretty moth compared to those I saw back in my home town. Not that colorful as this, that why I thot it is a butterfly :embrass:
Hi chunger,

Er...I think you missed out on macross's reply...its a butterfly, not a moth. :sweat: An easy way is to look at its antennae...butts usually have 'clubbed' antennae, while moths do not. Here's his post:

macross said:
That's a butterfly called Cycad Blue, the scientific name being Chilades pandava pandava. It's one of the most friendliest butts, which you can get as close as a few inches away. ;)
BTW good tries there. :thumbsup: Here's my 2 cts of comments:

#1 - Nice contrast between the lily and the lotus leaves. The PS effects work here.

#4 - Background is rather distracting, otherwise good shot. Try going down to eye-level with this fella next time.

#5 - Ditto for this one. (watch the background). You could compose from higher level so that the background is just the green water surface.

#6 - Nice shot on the Cycad Blue, however its too centred, would prefer it slightly to the right of frame.

#7 - Nice portrait of the child, no comments here.

Keep shooting! :)

macross said:
That's a butterfly called Cycad Blue, the scientific name being Chilades pandava pandava. It's one of the most friendliest butts, which you can get as close as a few inches away. ;)

chunger, try to have more space in front of the butt than behind it, ie, for this shot, the butt should be place more to the right.

Thanks for the information ^_^. First time shooting butterflies and dragonflies. Well, you are correct they are just very friendly after a while.

How come you can know by looking at the picture? Are you working in this zoology field ?

Thank you guys for the informative comments and guide. I will try to improve next time on the compositions.

Just one question. For the pic #1, it is heavly PSed, so does that mean I am good with the camera or just good with PS ? Because I am not really feel proud about it completely. Kinda confused a bit here.

chunger said:
Thanks for the information ^_^. First time shooting butterflies and dragonflies. Well, you are correct they are just very friendly after a while.

How come you can know by looking at the picture? Are you working in this zoology field ?
We are from the Butt Flu Gang. :bsmilie:

I work in the field of Mathematics. :bigeyes:

macross said:
We are from the Butt Flu Gang. :bsmilie:

I work in the field of Mathematics. :bigeyes:

Butt Flu Gang?? Hehe, tell me more about it. YOu all speciallized in butterfly ? :what:

Some angmo parents don't like people to take pictures on their children. I think is better to ask cthem before taking pictures because i was warn twice by ang mo not to shoot their kids.I ask them why before,they told me they fear that their beautiful kids may end up in a child porn site.Esp in US,you may get to jail because of that...that what i was told by one of my ang mo friend...So take note..ask before take..

ryan84 said:
Some angmo parents don't like people to take pictures on their children. I think is better to ask cthem before taking pictures because i was warn twice by ang mo not to shoot their kids.I ask them why before,they told me they fear that their beautiful kids may end up in a child porn site.Esp in US,you may get to jail because of that...that what i was told by one of my ang mo friend...So take note..ask before take..

Oh yeah, thanks for the tips. We did get her mum agree to let us take the pic of her son. Hmm, child porn? not naked or anything mah. Anyway, different culture lah.

We will be more careful next time.

Hi Chunger,

Very nice shots indeed, although not macro, quite like the waterfalls. Shot #1 is very good compositionally, but on my LCD screen, it looks like you have lost some detail in the white petals - maybe a little overexposed ?

I like the last one :lovegrin: as he very expressive gd timing :D

chunger said:
Thanks guys, but for what i feel it still lack of nice composition. Anything can improve ?

Erm,personally i find that pic 1 is too centre already.And also if can shoot from lower angle will be better.

I like your waterfall shots.Cos the composition is good.NICE! :thumbsup: But,abit too dreamy liao? :D