SB-800 Speedlight Cycling Time

Me leh? :( Sigh.
Next round lah... eager to test out your new toy is it??? Heard you got yourself a D100 couple of days ago... ;p

sykestang said:
Next round lah... eager to test out your new toy is it??? Heard you got yourself a D100 couple of days ago... ;p

Deal, next round ;)

No lah, still deciding... D2h? D100? D1x? :think:

pureflow said:
you bought the SB-800 already? I am planning to buy 4. for F100/F5/D100/D2h and pretty much get rid of all the other SBs. already starting to prep for major equipement overhaul.

btw, the 2100NiMh Sanyo batteries are CRAP. freaking leaked in my camera bag while I was on a overseas photoshoot.

Got it on Wednesday.

Tell me about the Sanyo batts, @@$@#$#$, another batts overhaul again. :D

Deal, next round ;)

No lah, still deciding... D2h? D100? D1x? :think:

He.. He... He... trying to bluff me??? I've got reliable sources that you've already bought a D100...

Anyway... I just got my SB800 tonight... :blah:

pureflow said:
you bought the SB-800 already? I am planning to buy 4. for F100/F5/D100/D2h and pretty much get rid of all the other SBs. already starting to prep for major equipement overhaul.

btw, the 2100NiMh Sanyo batteries are CRAP. freaking leaked in my camera bag while I was on a overseas photoshoot.
Agreed... been telling ppl that Sanyo 2100 batteries sucks... but then nobody believe...

How I know? Cos I personally own 24pcs!!! All can hold charge, if fully charged using SONY Quick 1hr charger and then just put aside for abt 1 week, all went dead or becomes 1/4 full... crap batteries...

Thus stick back to my good old 1850 Energizer Rechargeable bought from NTUC @$25.90 for 4pcs. Even though only 1850 but seems to last longer than the crappy Sanyo... Now I've got 16pcs of 2100 Energizer and also 28pcs of 1850 Energizer, which I happily given 8pcs away tonight. ;p

Sanyo Sucks! Piece of advice to anyone who wants to get it...
:thumbsd:

How much you got your SB-800 for? :D heehee... :devil:

a Trade secret.... if i post the price here, someone will bang :mad2:

Believe you already know who... but then I still can't control myself and told him tonight to make him bang... :mad2: :mad2: :mad2:

If you really want to know PM me your contact and we shall chat in private.

So you've got yourself a D100 already rite... now shopping for SB800 rite??? :bigeyes:

Aiyah, just BUY! BUY! BUY! lor! :D Someone already mentioned the very good price at CP. A few $$$ difference does not matter... ;)

Some new updates on my own personal testing of the recycling time of the SB-800 flash unit, YMMV.

Using Manual Full Power,

SB-800
-> about 6s with 4 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries

SB-800 and battery pack
-> about 4s with 5 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries (4 + 1 internal)

SB-800 and SD-8a
-> about 3s with 10 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries (4 internal, 6 external)

SB-800, battery pack and SD-8a
-> about 2s with 11 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries (4 + 1 internal, 6 external)

I wondered what will happened if SB-800 on SK-6 together with SD-8a, WOW! 15 batts!! :what: :bigeyes: :eek: :sweat:

pureflow said:
anway, be careful.. I blew my SB-28 with SD8. I managed to drain all 10 batts in 30 mins. firing at 1/1 for almost 200+ times non-stop during a shoot.. think my SB-28 overheated.. and the PCB burned.

Didn't the manual says for continous shots, even if less than full power or otherwise, do not burst more than 15 without letting it rest for 10 mins? ;)

Anyway, these SBs are not really designed for such continous burst action and heavy duty. You are lucky to get 200+ times non-stop with it dying much earlier. :sweat:

AJ23 said:
SB-800 and SD-8a
-> about 3s with 10 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries (4 internal, 6 external)
so slow??? i already get that with my SB80 and SD8a. strange. i thought it would be 2 secs flat for this config and even less for the 11 batteries arrangement.

sykestang said:
Agreed... been telling ppl that Sanyo 2100 batteries sucks... but then nobody believe...

How I know? Cos I personally own 24pcs!!! All can hold charge, if fully charged using SONY Quick 1hr charger and then just put aside for abt 1 week, all went dead or becomes 1/4 full... crap batteries...

Thus stick back to my good old 1850 Energizer Rechargeable bought from NTUC @$25.90 for 4pcs. Even though only 1850 but seems to last longer than the crappy Sanyo... Now I've got 16pcs of 2100 Energizer and also 28pcs of 1850 Energizer, which I happily given 8pcs away tonight. ;p

Sanyo Sucks! Piece of advice to anyone who wants to get it...
:thumbsd:

Batteries with higher mAh rating are supposed to discharge faster than those of a lower rating. I think most people know that you are supposed to charge NiMh just prior to use as they discharge rather quickly.

Larry said:
so slow??? i already get that with my SB80 and SD8a. strange. i thought it would be 2 secs flat for this config and even less for the 11 batteries arrangement.

SB-80DX with SD-8a @ full power is between 3-3.5s, sometimes 4s.

Zerstorer said:
Batteries with higher mAh rating are supposed to discharge faster than those of a lower rating. I think most people know that you are supposed to charge NiMh just prior to use as they discharge rather quickly.

Nope... not true for my energizer 2100... fully charged for 2 weeks+ still last as good, whereas many experience with the sanyo, fully charged for 4-5 days, when plug-in to digi-cam already report ½ full... then flat within a few shoot. But I agreed that I've ever tried charged them just before the shoot and it can last like my energizer...

But then, the beautiful thing of a digital camera is that it should be ever ready, and many a times, I would not pre-plan my shoot... :confused:

Anyway, already given all my Sanyo to friends and colleagues who utilised them for their kids' toy remote cars :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Sanyo Batteries :ipuke: :thumbsd: :angry:

Strange?

You guys get a slower recycle time on SB80Dx compare to mine.

Just test my SB80Dx

Using Manual Full Power,

-> within 4s with 4 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries

-> about 2s with 4 x AA 2100mAh NiMH batteries + SD8A( 6X AA) = total 10xAA

Regarding Sanyo batteries, All Nimh will short and leak if not properly store. Never chuck them together. They will short when the body touches together. There was a record incident when the batteries just short and exploded(Very minor one) when a photographer just place 4 of them loosely in his pocket.( brand not know but it is not Sanyo)

As for the power, remember to condition the batteries before use. I charge and discharge (Using home made light bulb discharger) three time before first time using.

For ultimate power, charge with dual charging rate charger(Quick charge follow by tickle charge type is the best)

When the batteries is not fully used up, tickle charge it for overnight and taking it out the next morning will ensure full power for the next shoot. But remember to fully drain it for a new full charge after about 20 time of such cycle.

The timing I get is from Sanyo and so far they haven't give any problem to me.

Looking at the timing of 3-4s with SD8A.... I bet something is wrong with the batteries.

Vincent

pureflow said:
also note that sanyo provided battery casing for the batteries.. I guess we now know why. whilst the other brands dont usually provided. naming energizer.

i usually throw all my batteries together.. but sanyo is the first to leak... furthermore, the batteries were only 1 week old.
Agree with Vinnievinyl,

Advisory warnings are pretty much standard and meant for public safety, there is not much that can be varied between the chemistries of 2 NiMh batteries to make one more or less toxic or dangerous.

Those battery casings being sold are actually from PowerEx and not Sanyo. Also, the word on the net is that Energizer and Sony NiMh are usually OEMed by Sanyo anyway.

In any case, any battery might short an leak if they are carelessly dumped together in a bag.

Zerstorer said:
Those battery casings being sold are actually from PowerEx and not Sanyo. Also, the word on the net is that Energizer and Sony NiMh are usually OEMed by Sanyo anyway.

I don't know about Sony, but Energizer is actually a Sanyo. Sanyo is also the pioneer in Nimh batteries, meaning to say all others take them as a benchmark.

Some do and don't in handling batteries can be found at below link.

http://www.energizer.com/learning/batterycare.asp

Vincent

Vinnievinyl said:
I don't know about Sony, but Energizer is actually a Sanyo. Sanyo is also the pioneer in Nimh batteries, meaning to say all others take them as a benchmark.

Some do and don't in handling batteries can be found at below link.

http://www.energizer.com/learning/batterycare.asp

Vincent

I do own both Sony, Energizer, & Sanyo (but given away since then)... personally I find the Energizer the best... as for Sony, it can hold charged just like the Energizer, but it seems like it can't last as long as the energizer.

I did'nt know that Energizer OEM from Sanyo, didn't heard of that either cos I believe that could not be true as Energizer is a battery manufacturer for many years. If you say Everaday and Energizer maybe... but Sanyo and Energizer sound unbelieving. :bigeyes:

But I cannot firm the fact also, maybe need some check up... but the truth is that Sanyo batteries sucks, mine, pureflow, 2 of my colleagues who use it for digital camera can confirm that... and as for the energizer, I have done a personal test with it on my ex. Minolta 7HI and it perform great. Even if Energizer did OEM from Sanyo, it could be of different grade I believe cos very unlikely that the batteries from the same manufacturer differs in performance by such a great deal.

Just my personal opinion and advise, believe it or not is your own perspective and judgement, cos it don't affect me at all as I already change all to Energizer and the investment is high, $25.90 for 4pcs and I've 36pcs of it, compared to my Sanyo earlier, $38+ for 4pcs with a Charger and subsqently get from EastGear at $2.50 a pcs...

I believe Pureflow would be changing soon rite? The Clubsnap way, BUY! BUY! BUY! :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

sykestang said:
I did'nt know that Energizer OEM from Sanyo, didn't heard of that either cos I believe that could not be true as Energizer is a battery manufacturer for many years. If you say Everaday and Energizer maybe... but Sanyo and Energizer sound unbelieving. :bigeyes:
FYI Energizer is simply a subdivision of Eveready(formerly Union Carbide) hence they are essentially the same company.(Eveready Alkaline Cells are branded Energizer).

Sanyo is the inventor of the NiCd cell and the largest manufacturer of rechargeable batteries.

But I cannot firm the fact also, maybe need some check up... but the truth is that Sanyo batteries sucks, mine, pureflow, 2 of my colleagues who use it for digital camera can confirm that... and as for the energizer, I have done a personal test with it on my ex. Minolta 7HI and it perform great. Even if Energizer did OEM from Sanyo, it could be of different grade I believe cos very unlikely that the batteries from the same manufacturer differs in performance by such a great deal.
Experiences vary greatly, so it cannot be the "truth" just a sample of different opinions. There are many Sanyo users here and all over the world and their reputation has been stellar.

As for the performance issue, Sanyo and Energziers of the same rating when tested are often virtually identical in performance with results far closer to each other than to any other company. Which pretty much supports the "rumour".
http://www.imaging-resource.com/ACCS/BATTS/BATTS.HTM

Just my personal opinion and advise, believe it or not is your own perspective and judgement, cos it don't affect me at all as I already change all to Energizer and the investment is high
Not a matter of whether to believe or not as it doesn't affect me. But just a matter of ascertaining if due care and proper treatment was accorded to the battery, else you might have been doing yourself a disservice for the same situation mght very well occur again.(i.e batteries flat after storage over a week)

I've fully converted to rechargeables since the early 90s and have been buying batteries from Sim Lim Tower ever since, hence I'm more aware of the do's and don'ts for good use of batteries.

NiMh like NiCd, require different storage and charging practices. They will serve well in the long run only if properly maintained. In fact, if one doesn't mind the inconveniences of NiCd, you will find that you can probably get an even faster recycling time as NiCd cells can deliver an even higher current than NiMh.

Lithium and Lead Acid cells require less of such care and do not discharge as quickly.

What type of charger did you use on the Sanyo?

Did you tried using the Sanyo on Energizer Charger or the original Sanyo Charger?

Did you notice any extraordinary high heat when charging your Sanyo? Your Sanyo could have gone damaged by using of an inappropriate charger. I’m using the Old GP slow charger on them. Takes overnight to charge them up, but 2s recycle time on SB80Dx+SD-8a during shooting. :D

I'm not sure why EastGear can sell them at such a good price but if you are going to buy Sanyo in other places (Retail shop or challenger), they are more Ex than the Energizer.

As for whether an energizer is a Sanyo, This has been rumor ever since energizer has their NIMH, not only the tested rating is very close. The niche appearance also suggested that they are the same. Below is just one of those you can find on internet.

http://www.photo-forums.com/WebX?50@30.7kwlaEQG3dA.0@.ee95a8d

But this cannot be officially confirmed or Sanyo will be in BIG trouble. (sue by Energizer)

To be fair for Sanyo, after using them for 5 month+. Charged on Saturday Night and no problem on SB80dx's 2s recycle time on Friday night.

I say, "They are the best"

Vincent