Sarong Party Girl

"Is this Sarong Party Girl the same person as the model? Or did she just 'leeched' the photograph to be used on her blog?"

A few clues on the website lead me to believe that she is the same person as those in the photos.

Phildate said:
A few clues on the website lead me to believe that she is the same person as those in the photos.

She is big on clues. Isn't she?

Went to check out Jason Ho's website...it SUCKS despite the fact that it does have many good photos inside. Terrible readability, jagged pictures, bad color scheme - and the stupid sound effect! :-(

grantyale said:
Went to check out Jason Ho's website...it SUCKS despite the fact that it does have many good photos inside. Terrible readability, jagged pictures, bad color scheme - and the stupid sound effect! :-(

And only Jason Ho can get away with it.

This shows how in demand he is. :sweatsm:

Benign said:
In short, I think the media should be focus more on gals/women of qualities.....sometimes, SPG is a sad reminder of a society gone wrong.
Yes, it is a reality. But do we have to standby and welcome it?
How do you feel if it turn out to be your sista, gf or someone u know.....
Some more, I do start to accept SPG is a growing trend in women of Asia.

I will give my :thumbsup: anytime to a righteous woman.
Show me more of these women, I will drop by Sg more often......LOL

:dunno:

People like you piss the hell out of me
A SAD REMINDER OF SOCIETY GONE WRONG?
Who the HELL are you to judge when society has gone wrong?
This whole media explosion of a girl's decision to have nude photos of herself is just way over the top
When I read people like you (and this was the same reaction given by a few people) write "How do you feel if it turn out to be your sista, gf or someone u know....." it pisses me off so much, who are you to judge what people want to take photos of? Why are you so scared of nudity? was she stuffing dildos up her vagina? It is not pornography. Sometimes I wonder if the people who act the most righteous about deciding what is "righteous" for other people are the ones who are really jerking off in front of their computers.
Reminds me of the last scene in Eric Khoo's 12 Stories.

I think the original SPG is or rather was one called Bonny Hicks of "Excuse me, are you a Model" fame. She wrote a semi-autobiography that set the scene aflame. That was some 15 or more years ago liao.

The media is quick to exploit the situation to blow it way out of proportion. We have our fair share of extremes and media grabbing news like Wang Na, the recent body parts murder, Joo Chiat and those Tui Na shops springing up everywhere, Streetwalkers in Geylang, PDMMs stealing away other peoples hubbies, etc. (Note that all re sex related)

But one thing I agree with her - that any gal who depends on a man to pay for whatever, be it meals, shopping, entertainment, holidays or just some living expenses are no better than whores. Simple and straightforward view. No equal rights of the sexes here. Even a wife who expects her hubby to pay for a big part of the family expenses is a whore. It might be a harsh view, very derogative term, but it is a cold hard fact.

Mattlock,
Are you argue for the sake of arguing? :bsmilie:

FYI, everyone has the right to voice out what is right or wrong in a society.
You might not like it. But in a society, we all have to adopt a conscious approach to life. What is reasonable and what is not. Especially the issue of SPG....

Over the years, I heard, read and met SPGs. Often I ask, is it the true reprsentation of Sg or Asian women? Obviously not in my mind....then why make such a big fuss about it. In fact, what we should have done is ignore it.....attentions is what they want in most cases. After all, they love 'to be seen'.

Why not bring some positive news for a change? Articles on a single mother, widow perhaps. At least after reading it, I still know there is hope somewhere there are some great pple left. And they do deserve our praises, admirations and a healthy role model to follow.......

Definitely, not the inferiority complex of a SPG.

問心無傀 Answerable to my conscience

mattlock said:
People like you piss the hell out of me
A SAD REMINDER OF SOCIETY GONE WRONG?
Who the HELL are you to judge when society has gone wrong?
This whole media explosion of a girl's decision to have nude photos of herself is just way over the top
When I read people like you (and this was the same reaction given by a few people) write "How do you feel if it turn out to be your sista, gf or someone u know....." it pisses me off so much, who are you to judge what people want to take photos of? Why are you so scared of nudity? was she stuffing dildos up her vagina? It is not pornography. Sometimes I wonder if the people who act the most righteous about deciding what is "righteous" for other people are the ones who are really jerking off in front of their computers.
Reminds me of the last scene in Eric Khoo's 12 Stories.
Eric Khoo's 12 Stories paints a perfect portrait of hypocritics. I guess he muz be pretty sick of those guyz too.

Unfortunately, some ppl who watched 12 Stories do not understand the catch point of the entire story. A few chaps I know fell asleep at the show, some of them condemned the girl played by Lum May Yee for being 'loose'.

Ah well, the movie does bring back memories. Pretty relevant even now. :)

smallaperture said:
The media is quick to exploit the situation to blow it way out of proportion. We have our fair share of extremes and media grabbing news like Wang Na, the recent body parts murder, Joo Chiat and those Tui Na shops springing up everywhere, Streetwalkers in Geylang, PDMMs stealing away other peoples hubbies, etc. (Note that all re sex related)
Sex sells. I guess ST's pretty slow on catching this. But they seem to be doing a good job on it.

All these stuff on ST these days juz reminds me of those Chinese Newspapers where sensational news and gossip stuff gets splashed BIG-BIG on the front page. :D

In any case u guys are wondering what's the fuss is all about, look out in kennysia's blog (psst! Google keyword is "kennysia blog").

I thought the photo's pretty ok though. I'm not into nude photography though, but I thought it's a well-balanced photo with good lighting.

Benign said:
Mattlock,
Are you argue for the sake of arguing? :bsmilie:

FYI, everyone has the right to voice out what is right or wrong in a society.
You might not like it. But in a society, we all have to adopt a conscious approach to life. What is reasonable and what is not. Especially the issue of SPG....

Over the years, I heard, read and met SPGs. Often I ask, is it the true reprsentation of Sg or Asian women? Obviously not in my mind....then why make such a big fuss about it. In fact, what we should have done is ignore it.....attentions is what they want in most cases. After all, they love 'to be seen'.

Why not bring some positive news for a change? Articles on a single mother, widow perhaps. At least after reading it, I still know there is hope somewhere there are some great pple left. And they do deserve our praises, admirations and a healthy role model to follow.......

Definitely, not the inferiority complex of a SPG.

問心無傀 Answerable to my conscience

no problem, you can say whatever you want,and I can comment on your comments too, and I felt the need to since your posting was sweeping and hypocritical sounding.
I don't understand what you mean a "conscious" approach to life. I don't understand what you mean by a "reasonable" approach to life. What? perhaps you'd like to clarify yourself.
How is taking nude photos of yourself and posting it on the internet a sad reminder of society gone wrong?
Are we even talking about the same things? Sarong Party Girl is the name of the girl whose blog was under fire recently in the media. we're not talking about Sarong Party Girls in general. But even then, I question whether you know any SPGs even though you said you "heard, read and met SPGs".
You make them sound like some strange foreign alien.

And anyway how does being a single mother or a widow make someone a "great person"?

my friend made a good point..."Perhaps, our Singaporeans need to be less concerned about what's right, and simply 'be', instead of being morally critical of so-called 'obscenities'."
what's the point of passing moral judgements on other people? Does it make you feel better about yourself in general? Put yourself in her shoes, and see how you'll feel. Put yourself in her parents' innocent shoes and see how you'd feel. Having to deal with the fallout from some lazy armchair journalist.

Why do you think there was this big hoo-haa
Was it the nude photo or was it her blog itself that chronicled her sexual escapades, which was more disturbing?

what I find worrying is that the media is hunting out sources which alot of us feel are our own personal spaces that should be seen as our own personal opinion and then making them big deals. Look at the recent case involving the A*Star head Philip Yeo threatening to sue the scholar, or the case of the PSC scholars who made racist comments on his blog. Look at the fallout from these cases, and this SarongPartyGirl case.
Look at how the Strait Times has taken to reporting opinions from online forums in their newspaper.
You should be worried that one day some minister is going to threaten to sue you for making some offhand comment on Clubsnap forums.

This issue being debated as much as media's responibility to masses and versus the demand for juicy new by the masses. Its a vicious cycle. In this sense, the liberal against the conservative in a very grey world. Grey as in no black or white clear cut.

While the conservative would push the threshold of moralism on the blogger for going against the grain of a society who appeared ultra-conservative on the outside, infact they are exactly those people who fuel the newspaper going on an exposE' of sex and scandal. As much as I like to support the liberal for doing they like without caring the opinions of the general public, its only unwavering believe to their cause that they support can slowly gain acceptance(if they really don't care, then it wouldn't matter). In this case, the blogger took the nude pics off from her blog after the article is make known to her parent. Not wanting to trouble her loving parent cause her to retrack back her actions against what she said about not caring what others think about her. Seems that she is not completely out yet.

Come to think of it, people are doing it all the time, be it an affaire, visiting whores, keeping mistress, multiple sex parters and so on. The difference here is that it is gone public, which we consider a rather bold step.

Long time ago, it used to be some hot selling autobiography or exposure in magazine. Now, we have this little thing called BLOG. The big difference here is she chooses to go public when the rest are doing it discretely. From what I know, such things are very common, among my friends, office colleagues, NS kakis, etc.

When Bill Clinton was exposed, it nearly cost him his job. When an ex-French President got caught, the French Presse called it something that is like bread and butter, being French. In our society, the majority choose to do it quietly whereas it the west, there is less need to cover up.

Drudkh said:
i second that, gives me an impression that bloggers are attention seekers.
one blogger out of thousands can give you that impression?

i always believe in keeping my nose out of other people's business :) as long as it doesn't affect me directly(or affects me greatly although indirectly). my life is complicated as it is without having to worry whether my neighbour is humpin his dog or the auntie who jogs outside my apartment is really having affair with the DHL guy who dropped by today.

SPG is already 18... she's big enough to think about what's right and what's wrong. she has her own mindset too. she just missed out one of the consequences in posting her nude photographs online when she put it up. pity many of us in this world(maybe me included) still live a mommy-told-me-so kind of life.

mattlock said:
what I find worrying is that the media is hunting out sources which alot of us feel are our own personal spaces that should be seen as our own personal opinion and then making them big deals. Look at the recent case involving the A*Star head Philip Yeo threatening to sue the scholar, or the case of the PSC scholars who made racist comments on his blog. Look at the fallout from these cases, and this SarongPartyGirl case.
Look at how the Strait Times has taken to reporting opinions from online forums in their newspaper.
You should be worried that one day some minister is going to threaten to sue you for making some offhand comment on Clubsnap forums.
Part of the complexity with blogging is that it is not technically "personal space". If you post an entry and make it private (i.e. unpublished), then yes, it's personal space.

If you post it online, then that's publication and you have to take responsibility for what you have written.

That said, I agree that suing (or threatening to sue) bloggers is quite extreme. Once again, it comes back to 'publication'. To give an analogy, if a tree falls in the forest and no one hears or sees it falling, did it really fall?

In a similar way, most people would not have known about acidflask until A*Star made noise about his blog nor would they have known about the racist remarks. Unless your blog is widely-read, it has no 'power'.

Still it's available to all, and the nature of the internet is such that a blog or website can easily gain this power by being featured in other more prominent blogs or in the mainstream media, as you have mentioned. And meta-blogs such as tomorrow.sg which are increasingly gaining readership and influence can also spread content easily.

Don't expect ST not to feature blogs. They are in the business of selling newspapers, and blogs provide the type of stuff that sells newspapers. All forms of media feed off each other.

As to blogs being merely 'online diaries' (mattlock, not you... someone else mentioned this), I think that is a very narrow view. Blogging can be an excellent outlet for considered opinion, sharing views (through comments), immediate news (faster than mainstream media) and even education. Much like a forum... =)

I noted the yesterday new papers are flogging the dead horse again with both gals telling their side of the story. Anybody gets attention from XX is bound to get attention from the papers...XX is a attention wh**e, and the papers love her. Sheesh.

Too much hype bout bloggers lately...even the gahmen getting into the act, schools promote blogging now? Juz a few 'black sheep' to tarnish the blogosphere...it's such a big circus now. Most of us just wanna be left alone actually. :nono:

How is taking nude photos of yourself and posting it on the internet a sad reminder of society gone wrong?

Taking nude photos of oneself and posting it on the internet is not wrong, however, please keep in mind that we do have minors, and pple who do have different views toward such materials. You will get your respect by respecting other pple first.

My first hand experience with SPGs was nothing but SAD. The impressions I got from them was everything come from the ang moh was right and superior.....from way of life to sex. :embrass: Mind you, I was brought up in ang moh country since age 13.

I got nothing against pple's choices, but there is one question I must ask: Where do we draw the line on the length an individual or vice versa the society can act? To what point we can said enough is enough.....please refrain from expressing yourself! My eyes and brains hurts..........

What next? or is it what's new........

My worthless thought,

Benign said:
Taking nude photos of oneself and posting it on the internet is not wrong, however, please keep in mind that we do have minors, and pple who do have different views toward such materials. You will get your respect by respecting other pple first.

My first hand experience with SPGs was nothing but SAD. The impressions I got from them was everything come from the ang moh was right and superior.....from way of life to sex. :embrass: Mind you, I was brought up in ang moh country since age 13.

I got nothing against pple's choices, but there is one question I must ask: Where do we draw the line on the length an individual or vice versa the society can act? To what point we can said enough is enough.....please refrain from expressing yourself! My eyes and brains hurts..........

What next? or is it what's new........

My worthless thought,

I've always thought: If you don't like it, change the channel, or don't go there... govt wants censorship people make noise, no censorship also make noise... we humans are funny that way... never contented nor satisfied

guess you can't please everyone :what: