's Shoot at Boat Quay (Overexposed Series)

Here's a knocking indeed! If a
man were porter of hell-gate, he should have
old turning the key.

Knocking within

Knock,
knock, knock! Who's there, i' the name of
Beelzebub? Here's a farmer, that hanged
himself on the expectation of plenty: come in
time; have napkins enow about you; here
you'll sweat for't.

Knocking within

Knock,
knock! Who's there, in the other devil's
name? Faith, here's an equivocator, that could
swear in both the scales against either scale;
who committed treason enough for God's sake,
yet could not equivocate to heaven: O, come
in, equivocator.

Knocking within

Knock,
knock, knock! Who's there? Faith, here's an
English tailor come hither, for stealing out of
a French hose: come in, tailor; here you may
roast your goose.

Knocking within

Knock,
knock; never at quiet! What are you? But
this place is too cold for hell. I'll devil-porter
it no further: I had thought to have let in
some of all professions that go the primrose
way to the everlasting bonfire.

Knocking within

Anon, anon! I pray you, remember the porter.

i dun think this is a must. good to have yes. but not a must.

Yeah, agreed. Not entirely a must, but that sure makes experimentation looks easier when u you have the basics to fall back on and help you troubleshoot, tweak your experiment, improve upon it, and eventually reaching the final result.

Otherwise, even if you do finally get to where u want, you may not know how you got there, and may not even be able to reproduce a consistent result la.

Kenny

Yeah, agreed. Not entirely a must, but that sure makes experimentation looks easier when u you have the basics to fall back on and help you troubleshoot, tweak your experiment, improve upon it, and eventually reaching the final result.

Otherwise, even if you do finally get to where u want, you may not know how you got there, and may not even be able to reproduce a consistent result la.

Kenny

yup...difficult but not impossible :)

Mozart's music writing was neat and was almost always completed in his head before he ever wrote it down. Beethoven's music writing was sloppy and he was always making corrections.

Beethoven could support himself by writing music for the public rather than kings and queens. His music didn't have to be for parties or entertaining, like composers before him. Mozart had to depend on royalty to pay his wages.

Beethoven published his first symphony when he was 30. Mozart had already written almost 40 symphonies when he was the same age.

Mozart married, had children, died penniless at 35, and was buried in an unmarked grave. Beethoven never married nor had children. He died when he was 56. His funeral was attended by thousands of people.

THINK DEEP......AT THE END OF THE DAY......ask yourself.......Who is famous? or were they just as famous? whose songs your prefer? or is that question too "subjective"? who set the standard? or were there in the first place? ............... Now, take that attitude and mindset and look at all the other photographs...be it here or anywhere else. simply put.....one man's meat is another man's poison.

wow.
there are going to be more pages in here than Sat's Strait Times already.
Give our pal a break.
I think he has already gotten the message.

If one think photography is a form of arts.
I have seen man y eccentric artists, i think they are drawing craps...but yet in their own eyes, those paintings are masterpieces.
And some will even pay thousands to such form of art that I thought was crap.

I am not implying that the TS's photos are craps.
To many, just not good enough to be classified as even satisfactory.
My advice to TS, chill and no point arguing what is right or wrong.
it is really a waste of time.
You should spend these quality time, shooting more and achieve better photos.

Actually, I was trying to see what Doc has to say abt it lah because he talk abt trashing. That makes him looks like DP liao:D

I had explained that in post #155.

Basically, I trash my pictures not because they are "trashy", but because there is no reason to keep them.

They are no my keepers.

And please, if you are kind, do not equate me to DP.

I had explained that in post #155.

Basically, I trash my pictures not because they are "trashy", but because there is no reason to keep them.

They are no my keepers.

And please, if you are kind, do not equate me to DP.

I know u have answered in post #155 already. I was just responding to Madmac's qn tat time.

But honestly, u and DP have many things in common lah whether u like it or not.

I know u have answered in post #155 already. I was just responding to Madmac's qn tat time.

er..what question did i ask? :think:

So, you think everyone is here to learn photography to earn $$$? Most of us are hobbylists, we shoot for fun. And actually use $$$ on photography, (eg model shoots and so on).

Since when I said that everyone is here to learn photography to earn $$$? Even if the pros is out to guide pp to commercial style, what is wrong with that? It means that the images are nice and that is why it has commercial value. Of course, it must be nice to u at the same time lah.

If u look thru the recent postings, u will noticed that many wannabes have got into freelance jobs. What is wrong with getting assignments to support own hobbies?

"The only difference between a genius and one of common capacity is that the former anticipates and explores what the latter accidentally hits upon; but even the man of genius himself more frequently employs the advantages that chance presents him; it is the lapidary who gives value to the diamond which the peasant has dug up without knowing its value."

~Abbe Guillaume Raynal

Really?

Sure, we have bolas (well I assume he has), bad eyesight, members of CS etc.

But seriously, many things in common?

He dares not post pictures. I post pictures.
He loves to slam others pictures. I never did, and will never do.
He tells people that holiday snaps are trash and should not be shown. But conveniently "forgot" he did exactly the same. I never said such things. I encourage holiday snaps.
He loves to use the word "sucks". I never did. Perhaps I should too. DP sucks!
He wants his pictures to pass the test of approval from models. I do not seek approval from models'.
He does not like messy hair. I like messy hair.
He likes models to have nice make-up. I tell models to remove make-up.

The above are minor differences. Want me to illustrate some more? It may get nasty! Maybe not.

So tell me, what do we have in common?

Really?

Sure, we have bolas (well I assume he has), bad eyesight, members of CS etc.

But seriously, many things in common?

He dares not post pictures. I post pictures.
He loves to slam others pictures. I never did, and will never do.
He tells people that holiday snaps are trash and should not be shown. But conveniently "forgot" he did exactly the same. I never said such things. I encourage holiday snaps.
He loves to use the word "sucks". I never did. Perhaps I should too. DP sucks!
He wants his pictures to pass the test of approval from models. I do not seek approval from models'.
He does not like messy hair. I like messy hair.
He likes models to have nice make-up. I tell models to remove make-up.

The above are minor differences. Want me to illustrate some more? It may get nasty! Maybe not.

So tell me, what do we have in common?
You guys love photography and shooting women! ;) Gotcha!

Plus Both Equally Quarrelsome;) ! Right or wrong is another matter!

Hold Strong Views Each.

In essence, U are the opposite of each other and yet the same

very bad ts, very bad, started a thread and make ppl argue........:bsmilie:

Here's a knocking indeed! If a
man were porter of hell-gate, he should have
old turning the key.

wah this thread, got stravinsky, tchaikovsky, mozart, beethoven, confucius, now shakespeare also got. sorry, this one i don't get... can explain how it relates?

anyway, to the TS, do you have any example of successful use of this technique you're trying? an image or set of images that inspired you to do this? can pls show? i also want to learn. thanks.

The fact that this thread is so long already proves that the pics work. In which direction however, I don't really care. Experimentation is always good, as long as you have a conclusion to each experiment that answers if your original objectives were met. As long as you have that, you'll improve on reaching that goal over time. I belive the TS knows his basics. He has afterall posted "normal pics" that did not generate such an uproar.

wah this thread, got stravinsky, tchaikovsky, mozart, beethoven, confucius, now shakespeare also got. sorry, this one i don't get... can explain how it relates?

anyway, to the TS, do you have any example of successful use of this technique you're trying? an image or set of images that inspired you to do this? can pls show? i also want to learn. thanks.

You forgotten Zhuang Zi :bsmilie: How to relate??? If one can accept meaningless photos, I believe one can accept meaningless post too.....

The fact that this thread is so long already proves that the pics work. In which direction however, I don't really care. Experimentation is always good, as long as you have a conclusion to each experiment that answers if your original objectives were met. As long as you have that, you'll improve on reaching that goal over time. I belive the TS knows his basics. He has afterall posted "normal pics" that did not generate such an uproar.

:thumbsup: absolutely.

Alot of meaningful things are meaningless to other and vice versa. its examples are always present in our daily lives.

eg. (hahaha, now got doc and scientist oso)

The situation in SG is currently heading this direction:- a doctor (student, not refering to you ;) ) in general doesn't see the way a scientist does. yet, many doctors (even GPs!!!!) draws higher pay than a scientist. The nature of medicine requires considerable amount of research which are performed by scientists which provides doctors with the answers/tools to a problem. so are doctors always right or are they always wrong?

at the end of the day, a personal opinion is in itself ------ PERSONAL

Standards are nothing but results/requirements that are enforced based on a group (however big/small). its up to the individual to breakaway or to embrace it..... so whats the point of forcing people to conform to certain "standards"?

I agree with a previous reply to this thread that, it is this "singaporean" mindset that is stifling the want/gutz to experiment and break rules DELIBERATELY (in the creative field that is)

Agreed that some require to fufil clients demands to bring home the bread. That is a job which some possibly look forward to everyday and hence believes that images should be made "to that standard" so to speak ...... aka .... imposing a set of beliefs which he/she agrees to onto other photographs. This i personally feel is ridiculous.

However the result from any experiment should be appreciated as it is.... (doesn't imply Only good words, nor slamming.....)

Maybe its my occupational hazard, but research and experiments are not about setting standards..... that is institutionalized thinking.