rude people in forum

theITguy said:
There are a lot of rude people in CS who PM and without at least a "Hi" or "Hello" at all.

For example their PM will be simply:

1. how much is the natura 1600
2. where can I buy this (with topic the item name)
3. how much u looking for
4. I will take it for $xxx for item 3
5. when can u deal? (then with name and number)

Simply saying I do not deal with these people with no manner. Internet is no King for everyone or allow one to become a babarian. Give some form of respect or some manner to others.

There is one guy who even give away my number to his friend who is bidding on my items. Those who knows me should have my number. Those who dealed with me should also have. I only give my number to people who needs it as I do not want everyone to SMS me over stuff or call to pester me to sell cheap.
Me one of them?

Not you sumball.

Adam, you dun know lah. Even my CSM from my unit after I ORD 8 months liao one day call me and tell me he is off duty that day..... Thought I ORD liao can escape but still canot get away from his Devil's hand :bsmilie:

A few mths back I had someone from clubsnap smsing me at 2.00am in the morning wanting to buy an item long sold from 2 wks ago! As my phone functions as an alarm clock it is quite close to my ears, waking up in the middle of the nite reading a sms like "I take full price for the camera if condition stated is true, deal tomorrow?"

Another odd fellow enquired on a tripod, he was complaining the top plate was missing from the pic (actually it was attached to the camera when i took the pic) and a long series of questions including wat is my best price, reason for selling. I replied that it was reserved and shall inform the person should the item is not sold. The ballhead tripod from Nikon fetch to abt $100, having used it twice i lowered to a fix amt of $70. Within a few hours it was reserved and sold to a kind gentleman who gladly paid the amt in full the day after. A few weeks later the same odd fellow posted a PM without a greeting or regard, "I start the bid at $50." ??!!! Perhaps the person could have been a little more polite.

Of course not disregarding the more thoughtful souls we end up exchanging info and eventually becoming friends.

hmm. ppl say i sound abrupt or rude when sms. well, maybe i go straight to the point, no smilies or watever cute emoticons. another thing is the hp is not sms frenly so i type quickly and directly.

how abt this situation ?
if someone is over paying, will u advise him about it ? :dunno:

Opps, most of the time i went straight into the point when wanting to buy something from fellow Cser. >< guess i must be more careful in the future.

But most ppl i've met up eventually became friends, just like one of them came from NUS, was also a nice guy, even helped me ^^V in collecting my photos back from the recent Montage !

It is the same in real life too! Just observe the locals on public transport or even your neighbours. It is not difficult to come to the conclusion that Singaporeans are a bunch of angst filled people. I studied in Sydney and even tradesmen there are more polite that our white-collar workers! :embrass:

Voigtlander said:
It is the same in real life too! Just observe the locals on public transport or even your neighbours. It is not difficult to come to the conclusion that Singaporeans are a bunch of angst filled people. I studied in Sydney and even tradesmen there are more polite that our white-collar workers! :embrass:

Agree lo...many Singaporeans are a bunch of angry people...they will become very impatience when somebody blocking their way and can't even bother to say 'excuse me' and just bump their way across and even with staring eyes...
Singaporeans are a bunch of stress people...why stress le????

List of stress...
1) Increase in bus/mrt fare
2) dare not voice out (due to scare of somebody might put them in jail if they say the wrong word) and bo-bian lo, they just squeeze their own balls lo...
3) HDB flat so expensive
4) and blar..blar blar

As for stress and frustration induced balls squeezing as mentioned by XXXBoy, that is strongly correlated to the current low fertility rate! ;p Too TL to mate you see! :sweat:

Voigtlander said:
As for stress and frustration induced balls squeezing as mentioned by XXXBoy, that is strongly correlated to the current low fertility rate! ;p Too TL to mate you see! :sweat:

Haha...the results of too much ball-squeezing...then hence the low fertility rate which is against the govt's wish lo...the govt wanted Singaporeans to produce more and more cute cute babies lo..so wat to do le??? How to stop the ball-squeezing le??? Someone really must solve this problem b4 Singapore have no more population....save our Singapore, quick!!! :sweat:

lol... i agree with xxxboy. Makes sense.

Voigtlander said:

No no...people are still doing it(great way to relieve stress). But because they do not want to have future generation to be as TL as them,or they cannot afford children after paying for flat and car, they use contraception! :bsmilie:

XXX Boy said:
Agree lo...many Singaporeans are a bunch of angry people...they will become very impatience when somebody blocking their way and can't even bother to say 'excuse me' and just bump their way across and even with staring eyes...

List of stress...
2) dare not voice out (due to scare of somebody might put them in jail if they say the wrong word) and bo-bian lo, they just squeeze their own balls lo...
3) HDB flat so expensive
4) and blar..blar blar

Yar, we are a very angry people. Can see that everyday on the bus and mrt. :dunno:

XXX Boy said:

List of stress...
3) HDB flat so expensive
4) and blar..blar blar
I don't know if it is due to these stresses you mentioned.......interpolated, people here in HK should be more 'angry' then in SG, but it is not! But they can voice out more about the government ..........which they sofar don't like......

When I walk on the streets here, most people make way for each other. Everyone tries to avoid bumping into one another, despite the place in Kowloon being so cramped! I must say, HK people are more social to strangers, they like to talk.......so not too scared about others, lah! Maybe they live less in their 'own world'?

HS

av98m said:
Yar, we are a very angry people. Can see that everyday on the bus and mrt. :dunno:
I think it is due to pride......thats why they become angry if people come into their 'space'.......I once had a bad encounter: I was working at Science Park at the time, and one of our Bangladeshi cleaners wanted me to take a pic of him next to someone elses car.....so he stood next to the car, and lay his hands on top of the car while I took a snap. Then comes the owner of the car, angryly, saying he could scratch his car, and demanded to see our ID's! How low can people come? Is it discrimination? Was he just plain concerned about the car?.......you tell me.....

Sometimes, when you bumped into some stranger on the street and if you don't say 'sorry' they will stare at you :-), I think this is pride, as if they are o so important......(who are you to be allowed to bump into me?).......

I heard from friends, people in Korea on the streets keep bumping into each other???? Is that true?........

I don't mind if women keep bumping into me!

Hong Sien

hongsienThen comes the owner of the car said:
I will bet 50 bucks that if it were an ang moh posing next to his car he will not do anything, maybe even smile at you.

And yes, people in south korea will bump into you all the time without so much as an excuse me. It's apparently an accepted form of behaviour there.

I really do not think its pride for most people, they're just very quick to anger because of the pent up frustration. At least the people in hong kong can release their angst by going for rallies and protests to express their unhapiness with the government once in a while. Over here we'd be arrested for just standing and holding a signboard!

Just hope that everyone who post here dont does the same case as mention here.

No point write so beautifully online yet you do the same things in everyday life.

hongsien said:
When I walk on the streets here, most people make way for each other. Everyone tries to avoid bumping into one another, despite the place in Kowloon being so cramped! I must say, HK people are more social to strangers, they like to talk.......so not too scared about others, lah! Maybe they live less in their 'own world'?

HS

I have different experience. I find that people in HK are rather "loud". They can also be very rude. I think its their culture and they tend to be slow in warming or opening up. Could be its cosmopolitant nature, people tend to be defensive. However, once you get to know them, they are generally very warm people.

Speaking about being sociable, I think the Aussies are better in that sense. They can walk right up and chat up to you despite you being a stranger. Once I had a kid chatting up to me, reason being -- I have never spoken to a Chinese.

Its all in the culture and the level of acceptance that you have.

hongsien said:
I think it is due to pride......thats why they become angry if people come into their 'space'.......I once had a bad encounter: I was working at Science Park at the time, and one of our Bangladeshi cleaners wanted me to take a pic of him next to someone elses car.....so he stood next to the car, and lay his hands on top of the car while I took a snap. Then comes the owner of the car, angryly, saying he could scratch his car, and demanded to see our ID's! How low can people come? Is it discrimination? Was he just plain concerned about the car?.......you tell me.....

This is typical of Singaporean. The car is our prized possession which we worked hard for it. I would say the behaviour was rather to excessive. Imagine, if some stranger spotted your D2x mounted with 300 f/2.8 and requested for holding it to pose for a pix, you would be nervous if you oblige to it.

I love cars and I have an implusive habit of staring through the side windows to look at the cockpit. In fact, I was caught by owners a handful of times. Some did react offensively to my behaviour. I would usually smile and compliment their cars at the same time indicate to them that I have no ill intention but admiration. I must say, I too had incidents that I was chased off. Dun take it too hard and walk away.

Just take note that all citizens are protected by the law, there is no obligation for you to show your ID unless the other party is a law enforcer. Even in traffic accident, your lic plate is sufficient to do the necessary paper work if it did not involve in any injury.

arowana said:
Just hope that everyone who post here dont does the same case as mention here.

No point write so beautifully online yet you do the same things in everyday life.

Heh ... well said and food for thoughts indeed!! ;)

eric69 said:
Haha, the "Sell-&-Buy" forum AGAIN huh.. Aiyo, you can meet all kind of silly people asking silly questions lah. I posted a couple of Sell threads on the forum. Majority of them who post threads to S&B are just too free lah. 99% are just pass-by's, asking questions just to sound intelligent. Only 1% is geniune buyers. Just ignore these people lor.. These people get a kick out of making others angry an piss-off. Haha.. Anyway, chances are misunderstanding is usually the cause.

Oh, do I sound rude here? Get a life then if I does. Haha..

I agree wholeheartedly with you that most of the time the main cause is 'Misunderstanding'.

Sorry ... just to add.

'When a fool ask a question, he is only a fool for awhile... if he doesn't he is a fool forever'... something like that

Maybe you would like to clarify..

1. What make you think that they are silly?
2. What make you think that they are S&B?
3. What make you think that there is only 1% geniune buyer?
4. What make you think that they are asking question to sound intelligent?

Yappy & happy