Riot at Little India now !!

....but not the always limp/softie type though, like you-know-who. LOL

well, i beg to differ here...
as mentioned before, we ought to nip the problem in the bud. And I supposed LKY's style is good for this type of situation.
This is a serious offence and I would think the riot police should go in and whack the hell out of the rioters with their batons. Not to kill with guns, but whack hard with their batons. This is important as it shows and sends a proper signal/message to all potential future rioters that they better dont mess around with law. At times, when we need to be hard, we hv to be hard to do the job. And when need to be soft, to be soft. Ya? Just like our little bro down there. LOL

.. I think only about 5 to 10% of the mobs were involved the rest just provide morale support.

..as you had stated...to nip the problem in the bud

No sir! I am a true singapore blood. LOL

I think you'll be a good candidate to run Malaysian Police Force. :bsmilie:

They need a strong iron hand like you.

.. There is no need to use excessive force when it is under control.

.. it is a massive task to equip 350 police officers and to ferry them to the scene

... the police had done well!

You apply some force now with 350, to give them some "taste of shxx", and the next time you would only need 100 and they will be scared out of shxx. LOL
So, it is good initial investment.

I think you'll be a good candidate to run Malaysian Police Force. :bsmilie:

They need a strong iron hand like you.

Like him....we need him in this type of situation. LOL. that is one thing i admire him. Assertive and decisive..clench his fist when needed.
fP7mbBVzexNAfrzXFsVX0RcwT0b8PlWoV7No_XfA7BA=w94-h143-no

...as opposed to someone else who only bans alcohol...LOL

well, i beg to differ here...
as mentioned before, we ought to nip the problem in the bud. And I supposed LKY's style is good for this type of situation.
This is a serious offence and I would think the riot police should go in and whack the hell out of the rioters with their batons. Not to kill with guns, but whack hard with their batons. This is important as it shows and sends a proper signal/message to all potential future rioters that they better dont mess around with law. At times, when we need to be hard, we hv to be hard to do the job. And when need to be soft, to be soft. Ya? Just like our little bro down there. LOL

We S'porean really do deserve the 'sh*t' we are in sometimes... :think:

No one here would 'praise' LKY's tough handedness on any other given day... but its 'Ok' now... because its use on outsider/foreigner... ??

We have to be hard ?? How about on S'poreans in Hong Lim Park ?? Maybe they shouted something too loudly or 'not' nice to hear ?? So, ok to get hard on them too ?? Promise we won't use guns... but just whack them hard like you said... never know when a small demonstration will turn into a riot right... ??

Bro... we can't have it both way... a more enlightened form of govt for locals and a police state for outsider/foreigner...

No one here would 'praise' LKY's tough handedness on any other given day... but its 'Ok' now... because its use on outsider/foreigner... ??

"Praise" is probably not the word, but I think everyone respected his tough approach.

.. There is no need to use excessive force when it is under control.

.. it is a massive task to equip 350 police officers and to ferry them to the scene

... the police had done well!

We need to activate 350 riot police to take on 400+ rioters and you said our police had done well? This is so laughable. There are 600 thousands FWs in Singapore and if only 1% of them run amok, are we going to activate 5000 riot police? Do we even have so many riot police in the first place?

TO summarise what you said.....the system is ILL-PREPARED! It is a systemic lapse. You even mentioned that the SOC are not prepared for this type of riot. WHY? they are supposed to be properly trained for this.

Define Properly Trained.

You want to volunteer yourself and like-minded cronies to playing full-on body assault contact riot drill with the Police or Army? Because only real life scenarios can gain you the experiences to confidently act. Till the day you actually hit someone or get hit, you are just talking kopitiam theory. Only when you are often in such scenarios can you act accordingly. That new article about a former riot officer is all so general without getting deeper into it thus he made it all sound so 'easy to act'. The old stories of riots and racial tension back then, we are not talking one hour or two situations. We are talking endless days and night, months on end of sporadic riots attacks in various parts of the island. If that does not harden anyone to do what needs to be done then i don't know what will.

Fast forward to modern day, if this riot thing happens more often, I think the outcome at Little India might have gone down a little different ....maybe. Whose to say really. You arenot dealing with Singaporean rioters. You are dealing with foreign who comes from very desperate background of poverty, repression, earning a living, corrupt govt and policing. You can take the person out of his country but you can not take the country's mindset out of him. Add some suspect alcohol or possible ringleader at play and bang we have Little India riot.

We might have taken for granted the peace you and I enjoyed all too well and it just seem so easy to point finger that others are not prepared. Blah Blah Blah. If you have a love one hurt by someone and you were not able to defend or save her at the scene.. I guess I have to blame you for not being competent to save her? It matters not to me that you tried but the fact remains that person still is hurt badly or dies, I should still blame you for not being properly prepared for all circumstance to save that person.

You want to call that a lapse? Fine. That is your POV and maybe we all took for granted alot of things on this little island. Given what we know now, tell me, are you going to join a self defense class to prepare since the police might not be able to save you? So what else do you also need to learn to prepare for the next crisis and the next and the next? I am certain there is a lesson to be learnt by us and the various authorities to never let this happen again. You know why i know? Because like a majority of Singaporeans like you and me ... kiasu and kiasi.

Again, whose to say really? Mind you, I am only offering up an alternative explanation to a plausible scenario we witness. Will this be a media or political circus, I am sure it will. But we all can choose to make this a positive lesson to learn from, intellectually thru exchange of ideas or just be part of the circus and be a clown.

We must ask Malaysian police to help us to control riot: :)

_44260444_cannonap416.jpg

i-9c1d0240e31f146c34574f4b90aca137-DSC_0118.JPG

I was sprayed by one of those vehicles in KL that I mentioned earlier. they spray in the general direction unlike in this photo as it was in open area and the protesters was in focus grouping. It is not funny if you got sprayed with the chemical compound liquid at high velocity.

We need to activate 350 riot police to take on 400+ rioters and you said our police had done well? This is so laughable. There are 600 thousands FWs in Singapore and if only 1% of them run amok, are we going to activate 5000 riot police? Do we even have so many riot police in the first place?

One policeman only has two hands and can catch one rioter.

So activate 350 policemen to control 600 rioters sounds logical. :bsmilie:

Apparently, the Youtube video was only part of a more complete video which can be viewed at this URL:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=439469846158209&set=vb.101699653268565&type=2&theater

Observations

• The group of police constables in this video are badly trained. Which probably is the fault of police HQ. They should not hide inside a potential target vehicle (the ambulance) that is fully enclosed, with metal doors in the middle of a riot. This is a panic reaction. Does it remind you of the proverbial ostrich? It is like asking for certain death.

• If the rioters intended to kill them, it would be too easy to chain the door or jam the door handles with a metal bar; and set the ambulance on fire, burning the police constables hiding inside, alive. But they did not do so.

• This is a saving grace of the rioters. Even in their drunken rampage, they still know how to draw the line. They damaged the vehicles but did not go all out to take human life.

• It would have been safer for the police constable group to do a fighting withdrawal out of the riot, instead of hide inside the ambulance.

• The Indian bystanders who opened the door of the ambulance were probably good Samaritans who wanted to tell the frightened police constables inside, that the coast is now clear and that they are safe now to leave the vehicle.

• From their uniform and yellow jackets emblazoned with the word "Police", the police constables inside seem to be regular police, not AETOS or CISCO. And yes, they would be armed.

• The first police constable out of the ambulance immediately put up his hands in surrender, even though the people who opened the metal door clearly meant him no harm and did not threaten him. It looks humiliating.

• The first police constable out immediately sprinted (not just ran) away, without looking back, with his hands up in surrender position and did not show any solidarity with, or care and concern for his several comrades still inside the ambulance, at that point in time. He only cared about himself. This is disgusting.

• The bystanders jeered when they saw the police constables behave in a cowardly fashion, even when no one was threatening them. This is a natural human reaction.

• There was a delay in sending police reinforcements and this was publicly acknowledged by the police on TV (Channel News Asia show) in the presence of a 2nd Minister.

• There was no very high ranking police officer on the ground taking charge. From the photos, there was only a major. Singapore is not a big country. It would have been easy for a very senior police officer to travel down FAST to the riot site and assume command, to direct operations. Apparently this was not done.

• When no shots were fired, this should not be highlighted in the press conference. Just be silent on this aspect. However, if shots were fired, the police can quickly check the circumstances under which the shots were discharged. If it was justifiable (e.g. in self-defense against lethal attack or to defend member of the public from lethal attack); then the police should stand solidly behind the officer/s who fired the shot/s. I hope there was no such command that shots must never be fired under any circumstances, which would have been unfair to the police constables on the ground, facing dangers on a daily basis.

We S'porean really do deserve the 'sh*t' we are in sometimes... :think:

We have to be hard ?? How about on S'poreans in Hong Lim Park ?? Maybe they shouted something too loudly or 'not' nice to hear ?? So, ok to get hard on them too ?? Promise we won't use guns... but just whack them hard like you said... never know when a small demonstration will turn into a riot right... ??

Bro... we can't have it both way... a more enlightened form of govt for locals and a police state for outsider/foreigner...

Bro, we shd be objective and only target the behavior, not nationality. Riot vs peaceful protest at hong lim. Which is more serious? Think about it bro

Sammy, decided not to quote yr previous post. Too long. LOL
In short, proper training is crucial. The keyword is "proper". One can be better prepared with proper training. Else, on similar note, our army may not be able to fight a real war at all if there is need

Bro, we shd be objective and only target the behavior, not nationality. Riot vs peaceful protest at hong lim. Which is more serious? Think about it bro

What I fear is setting an example where the state could have over empowered the police force whenever there is mass gathering... to you, it may be a 'peaceful' demonstration... but to the power to be ??

I would rather we NOT use, threaten to use... and/or even thinking of using force everytime something unexpected happens...

If the rioters spread beyond little india and has been going on for many hours... or that more people could be joining in... yes, our SPF should be given the power and equipment to do the job.

In this 40 year once incident... the riot is over in under 2 hour... arrest are already being made... lost of life is zero due to rioting... and while there are property damage... its very much limited. Let those that has rioted and is under arrest, kena deep deep... but let us not jump into the trap of asking for more Laws/Fines or Enforcements everytime something happens... :think:

If ever that was to happen... most likely it will be the mobilization of Armed Police and/or SAF... And the suppression would be done with Armour and live rounds.

I pray that it will never happen as the damage will be too great should blood is ever spill on the streets like this...

Also... unless all 600k turned Zombie... I really doubt you can get 600k people working as one. Point in fact would be there were more than 400 FW in little india that night... and alot of them didn't join in.