Rina & Carol

Wow many bros come to support me huh? haha.. it's ok lah, after all these years I am very immune le..

For this shoot I just wanna go out and relax n exercise my 老骨头.. hehe

Anyway it's true that I did cropped away some elbows, hand, fingers, hair, head etc etc.. it's also ok that someone feels that such cropping is undesirable, just individual preferences ba. So Tirimasu's point isnt invalid, and these points are like Generally Accepted Portriature Principles (G.A.P.P.) in CS nowsaday.. :bsmilie:

For my case, I tends to place more emphasis on other things, such as whether the image is flattering to the models, whether the image got feel etc.. if I think the plus points outweigh the minus points I ll hv no issue to post the pics up, even if they are not perfect. There are no perfect pics anyway.. haha..

For this series, I am agreeable that for #1 & #3, it ll be better if I didnt crop the elbow, but I included both pics in the series anyway as I still like them despite that fact.

Ignoring the cropping part and just talk about composition, I do honestly wish that I can improve in that aspect. A china portrait master that I hugely respect also commented that there are room for improvements in my composition skill in my poco threads.

No comments on the tone used though.. hehe

nicely said... i guess thats the pblm sometimes.. people are too concerned about the GAPP ( hee.. learnt something new) and forgot all about the feel of an image..

Wow many bros come to support me huh? haha.. it's ok lah, after all these years I am very immune le..

For this shoot I just wanna go out and relax n exercise my 老骨头.. hehe

Anyway it's true that I did cropped away some elbows, hand, fingers, hair, head etc etc.. it's also ok that someone feels that such cropping is undesirable, just individual preferences ba. So Tirimasu's point isnt invalid, and these points are like Generally Accepted Portriature Principles (G.A.P.P.) in CS nowsaday.. :bsmilie:

For my case, I tends to place more emphasis on other things, such as whether the image is flattering to the models, whether the image got feel etc.. if I think the plus points outweigh the minus points I ll hv no issue to post the pics up, even if they are not perfect. There are no perfect pics anyway.. haha..

For this series, I am agreeable that for #1 & #3, it ll be better if I didnt crop the elbow, but I included both pics in the series anyway as I still like them despite that fact.

Ignoring the cropping part and just talk about composition, I do honestly wish that I can improve in that aspect. A china portrait master that I hugely respect also commented that there are room for improvements in my composition skill in my poco threads.

No comments on the tone used though.. hehe

I respect you because you are good and yet so humble...:thumbsup:
I also agree with you that the one of the most importance aspect of image is that the model must look good and whether there is feel.

I respect you because you are good and yet so humble...:thumbsup:
I also agree with you that the one of the most importance aspect of image is that the model must look good and whether there is feel.

Awwhhhh ............... so sweet ................ :kiss::heart:

Generally Accepted Portraiture Principles (G.A.P.P.)..... wow something new I learn. It can also denote Generally Accepted Photography Principles i.e. rule of 3rds, ... etc.

GAPP are suggested guidelines only. Following guidelines only keep you inside the accepted/safe zone, it may or may not bring you into the exceptional zone. Meaning it is possible for the photo to be outstanding, without keeping to the guidelines/principles. Because when people look at the photo, the 'feel' is so telling that they hardly noticed that some guidelines/principles are 'broken'. Who looks at photos to check if no rules/guidelines/principles are broken?

I generally know GAPP and follow it but I don't find my photos outstanding, at least not like Kongo's or Zeckson Chow's or ejunlow's or AlexK's ... whose work I highly admire and is an inspiration for me.

Nice ones though. The fact that you've made a shoot at your disadvantage to something which everyone can wow over your photos is something very remarkable liaoz...:thumbsup:

In portraiture, anything is can-do, as long as others and yourself like the shot. For me, if 8 out of 10 like it, I'll hack care what the other 2 said de. :bsmilie:

And now, for the comments on the photos. I find the friendship band for Rina's photos rather distracting. Don't think she can remove it, but if can PP it away, I'll love your photos even more!

For the 5 pic, I think you tilt too much le bro.

The rest are just :bigeyes:

Nice ones though. The fact that you've made a shoot at your disadvantage to something which everyone can wow over your photos is something very remarkable liaoz...:thumbsup:

In portraiture, anything is can-do, as long as others and yourself like the shot. For me, if 8 out of 10 like it, I'll hack care what the other 2 said de. :bsmilie:

raining day i will sian to the max or 1/2 thus "overwrite" my mind and mood to shoot lol.. i need more experience in that as well haha.. a quote from "someone's" phase "ji su bu gou hao" ;p

Thanks to all the compliments.. :)

Rainy or overcast sky wouldnt bother me too much mainly due to my style..

I like soft/even/diffuse lights n my processing are towards that direction too.. so it's actually easier for me to shoot on such lighting condition.. just need to watch out on the exposure n color balance. Photogs who prefer edgy n powerful style will obviously like dramatic and strong lightings more but overcast sky actually suits me better.. I am also too lazy to carry big lights to fight against the sun.. haha

Just that if it rains, n when the location choice doesnt cater for such situation, the limitation is that we ll hv little room to move around.. :sweat:

Hey Kongo,

you brought out the best you could! If it was me I think I would end up with none as good as these for these kind of conditions :D

I like Kongo style- causal and comfortable

If I were you... raining and only can shot in MRT... I probably won't able to achieve something.... hahaha

wah Kongo photos is as usual so happening.. :bsmilie:
work is still as usual nice, just that natural light is bad, due to rain but this won't stop Kongo de..

超正~ :thumbsup:

Thanks again to everyone..

I am just one of the GWC in CS lah, really glad that you guys like my pics.. :embrass:

:bsmilie: I agree with you.

Kongo is one of the best portrait photographer in CS. He picked the wrong guy.

Sorry...all i can say is LOL :D

dude,to me u r just a critic who has no pic to show of n most of ur posts r just "ups" in PhotoShoots sub board.

LOLX!!

do a historical search on both of u...between u and kongo..u need to improve ur composition, and yr taste of the selection of the pics..

he's the best in this business :thumbsup:

Hey bro, yah long time no see!

I should go geylang more often.. :bsmilie:

True, a master in snapping of the best moments like you knows best!! ;)

Sometimes, it's probably not worth giving up the opportunity to snap a great moment just becos it ll breach some of the GAPP..

But I ll also wont deny that in a posed model shoot, we can try to replicate that moment and re-execute until perfection.. but somehow sometimes just cant get back the same feel when I show the pic to the model and ask her to re-do the same pose..

hey bro.. long time no see...
this series is still good.. esp given the conditions.. i think u did great... cheers..

nicely said... i guess thats the pblm sometimes.. people are too concerned about the GAPP ( hee.. learnt something new) and forgot all about the feel of an image..

Yup, agree that most of his points are valid!

I guess anyone can comments on any pics posted up, and should be free to point out the good and bad things they saw in those pics, regardless of who the TS is..

But if the comments are put across in a way that it may irritate others, then he/she should also be prepared that someone else will also be free to comments on his comments, and in some occasions, try to irritate him back.. then fire started le.. haha.. these are quite common in all forums.. :bsmilie:

After going back to look at Tirimasu's comments again, I think it isnt that bad lah.

But I guess I shall not hide the fact that I dislike someone I dont even know to tell me please do this and do that like issuing orders striaght in my face.
The problem probably lies in the way he started the phrase, the rest I think it's generally ok.

Anyway, my wife spotted the series behind my back while I am quietly doing up the pics a few days ago, and she commented that the series sucks compared to my previous standard, her comments I think are far worse than Tirimasu.. :bsmilie:

But then she's the one who issue my exit permit so I can only 逆来顺受..

nice shots! you certainly havn't 'rusted' much!

TBH, some of Tirimasu's points are valid, perhaps its just the condescending tone in which he puts his point across. Should we put him down just because of his photos? I don't think we need good photos to 'qualify' to critique here, do we?

Yup he is right about the cropping of small part of the model's arm in 1 of the pictures.
However, the way he commented sound like he is superior to kongo (condescending tone as you mentioned) was not appropiate unless he has shown his talent in term of the work he has done. I don't think even DP will use condescending tone on Kongo.
Besides, I don't see any superior talent from the way he commented on other people pictures. Just my view....

No worry bro, I am seasoned enuff to put out fire oredi..
But it's kinda entertaining to see these happens at times, I initially tot this thread will go down in history in 2 days time .. :bsmilie:

Uh oh .....now what?:p

Thanks.. ^^

nice series. thanks for sharing.!;)

Somehow you kena dragged into the thread unwillingly, sorry for that.. :bsmilie:

How did I get involve in this cake vs kongo ...

Anyway, yes, I would go ballistic if my model wore that bra with the ugly strap showing. Absolutely unacceptable. But if Kongo can accept, fine lor.

Thanks bro! :D

Being humble as you always are, keeps you on the road for more improvements bro.
Well done again :thumbsup:

Thanks bro!

I have similar feel for rainy day too, but it's a pity we are not prepared for the bad weather n find more suitable location and stuff.. shooting thru window plane or transparent umbrella with water droplets will be great.. ;)

I like this one:

http://www.pbase.com/kongo1/image/131100158/original.jpg
esp the pic on the right hand corner where you can tell its a rainy day.

I actually likes rainy days. It gives a very nice feel.

Yup.. agree with you.. :)
Those are merely guidelines to remind yourself while shooting, shouldn't treat them as law not to be breached..
Even rule of 3rds is the same.. when you shoot portraiture with wide angle lens or ultra-wide it probably isnt cool to place the face of your model at the rule of 3rds intersection, or else she ll look pretty sad.. :bsmilie:
活学活用 ba..

Generally Accepted Portraiture Principles (G.A.P.P.)..... wow something new I learn. It can also denote Generally Accepted Photography Principles i.e. rule of 3rds, ... etc.

GAPP are suggested guidelines only. Following guidelines only keep you inside the accepted/safe zone, it may or may not bring you into the exceptional zone. Meaning it is possible for the photo to be outstanding, without keeping to the guidelines/principles. Because when people look at the photo, the 'feel' is so telling that they hardly noticed that some guidelines/principles are 'broken'. Who looks at photos to check if no rules/guidelines/principles are broken?

I generally know GAPP and follow it but I don't find my photos outstanding, at least not like Kongo's or Zeckson Chow's or ejunlow's or AlexK's ... whose work I highly admire and is an inspiration for me.

Nothing to do with ji su bu gou lah bro, your style obviously need different kinda lighting condition.

And if I carry along big strobes like you do, I ll also be dissapointed when they have 无用武之地..

raining day i will sian to the max or 1/2 thus "overwrite" my mind and mood to shoot lol.. i need more experience in that as well haha.. a quote from "someone's" phase "ji su bu gou hao"

Long time no see.. :kiss:
Noted bro! Agree wif ya!
The fact that I keep repeating such mistakes showed that I m oredi very "hack care" le..

And now, for the comments on the photos. I find the friendship band for Rina's photos rather distracting. Don't think she can remove it, but if can PP it away, I'll love your photos even more!

For the 5 pic, I think you tilt too much le bro.

The rest are just :bigeyes:

Thanks again to everyone..

I am just one of the GWC in CS lah, really glad that you guys like my pics.. :embrass:

u one hell good GWC :thumbsup:

the short comment and ups guy up lorry or wat, increase post count to be lao jiao in P&P

How did I miss this thread?! Excellent work again :thumbsup: