Quick ! Stop the BBB virus from affecting me !

Do u ever think that u have to lift up the mirror to blow the dust away?Can u tell me how r u u going lift up the translucent mirror,as it is very brittle and hard to manage,it is not going to be easy as well,if u miss it the lift the mirror might break. That is the wonder and I'm still pondering over........It is unlike our present cam that can just lift up by pressing the button.Those who have the camera would like to correct me if i'm wrong.
:D;)

Why need to lift up the mirror since it is already "sealing" the sensor from dust?

The most need to blow the dust away from the mirror.

Just buy till u drop and buy every models that come out and try every single lenses...

Then it will stop your BBB virus. Hahahah... Been there, done that and it works...

Hart

that will be awesome ! but sadly we are all confined by the depths of our pockets :(

I spoke to your husband..nice guy..try not to do it again hahaha

hahahaha okay i will TRY ! pinky promise !

Remember ! ...no more anyhow, touch, touch, feel, feel !

...But if you MUST touch, touch, feel, feel, then bring your hubby along !!! :sweatsm:

Why need to lift up the mirror since it is already "sealing" the sensor from dust?

The most need to blow the dust away from the mirror.

Thanks for the infor,but how the mirror can be seal on top of the sensors, unless is vacuum seal than i will believe the sensor will not get dust from our daily usage.:confused:

i believe the mirror is movable.

yes the mirror could be flip up if you wish to clean the sensor.

when the mirror get clouded I hope Sony woth charge crazy expenssive to replace the translucent mirror

yes the mirror could be flip up if you wish to clean the sensor.

when the mirror get clouded I hope Sony woth charge crazy expenssive to replace the translucent mirror

Just clean the mirror yourself loh.

I don't think a replacement is necessary unless u somehow messed up the mirror big time with a wrong solvent or rough cleaning material.

For a55, Mirror need to clean front and back? Then how to clean the back? Mirror can rotate? :confused:

Funny how it has gone from "will the mirror turn cloudy?" to "How to clean a dusty/cloudy mirror" to "How to replace the cloudy mirror" and finally to "It too expensive to replace a cloudy mirror" :bsmilie: ...all from pple who dun have one but are sniping from the sideline! :dunno:

I just read this comment in another forum also.That person commented it may happen after 2-3 years of usage and may translucent mirror need to be replaced .I do not know how true is that...Any other comment on this???

This is not much different from existing mirror in OVF DSLR. In OVF DSLR, most of the light are reflected upward for the viewfinder & exposure meter and another path downward for the AF sensor. For DSLT, most of the light path go through straight ontop the sensor, with another path reflected upward to the AF sensor.

If the translucent mirror has problem, then existing mirror in OVF DSLR will have similar problem.

Where did you hear this from ?

Do u ever think that u have to lift up the mirror to blow the dust away?Can u tell me how r u u going lift up the translucent mirror,as it is very brittle and hard to manage,it is not going to be easy as well,if u miss it the lift the mirror might break. That is the wonder and I'm still pondering over........It is unlike our present cam that can just lift up by pressing the button.Those who have the camera would like to correct me if i'm wrong.
:D;)

Where did you hear that the mirror is brittle ?

In the A55 there is a latch at the bottom you can press and it will flip the mirror upward. This mirror is bigger than the normal OVF DSLR mirror and part of the frame will protrude out of the mount. After blowing/clean the sensor can just move the mirror back down to lock. The frame is sufficient in size to prevent touching the mirror.

For a55, Mirror need to clean front and back? Then how to clean the back? Mirror can rotate? :confused:

Why the need to clean the mirror ? If you have a normal OVF mirror, do you clean it ?

If really do need to can clean mirror front and then flip it up can clean the mirror back.

Why the need to clean the mirror ? If you have a normal OVF mirror, do you clean it ?

If really do need to can clean mirror front and then flip it up can clean the mirror back.

Part of image path lor. :nono:

dirt on dslr mirror not impt. Only affect ovf image. Not actual image.

I Worry ABOUT 3 surfaces that might get dirty on SLT against 1 surface on DSLR.

Part of image path lor. :nono:

dirt on dslr mirror not impt. Only affect ovf image. Not actual image.

I Worry ABOUT 3 surfaces that might get dirty on SLT against 1 surface on DSLR.

You got more surfaces to worry about in your lens than this, all part of image path. The effect of dust on SLT mirror is more like dust on rear glass element, which is different from dust on sensor as it's on the sensor surface.

This is not much different from existing mirror in OVF DSLR. In OVF DSLR, most of the light are reflected upward for the viewfinder & exposure meter and another path downward for the AF sensor. For DSLT, most of the light path go through straight ontop the sensor, with another path reflected upward to the AF sensor.

If the translucent mirror has problem, then existing mirror in OVF DSLR will have similar problem.

Where did you hear this from ?
I tried to Google again but couldn't find.The person was saying the technology was 1st started by Canon in 60's but dropped.He said there is a high chance this translucent mirror will get dusty in 2-3 years of usage.I am still searching for it.Actually I was very much interested in A33 to have as my 1st dslr.When I read this comment thought to post it here to get an expert opinion....:(

You got more surfaces to worry about in your lens than this, all part of image path. The effect of dust on SLT mirror is more like dust on rear glass element, which is different from dust on sensor as it's on the sensor surface.

Lens is not worrying except the rear element which is nearer to the sensor. :nono:

when the rear element gets dirty, it can be seen in the image, that the worrying part of it as SLT mirror is nearer to the sensor than the rear element...

have a dust in the front element and you won't see much speck...

Lens is not worrying except the rear element which is nearer to the sensor. :nono:

when the rear element gets dirty, it can be seen in the image, that the worrying part of it as SLT mirror is nearer to the sensor than the rear element...

have a dust in the front element and you won't see much speck...

I think you worry too much and try to share your worries with others. Your sensors must be sparkling clean all the time. Go out and shoot more and have a beer. :cheers:

I think you worry too much and try to share your worries with others. Your sensors must be sparkling clean all the time. Go out and shoot more and have a beer.

I worry because my sensor collects dirt all the time... :sweat:
I think I worry too much... OK lah! It's Sunday, time to shoot and relax... :cheers:

help!!!!!!!!!!! i just bought a a33 not long ago now i am thinking of buying a nex 5!!! someone talk me out of buying this monster!!!

You got an A33 and you're thinking of getting a Nex5 ??? :nono:

...have more ambition man ! ...you should be thinking of getting an A77 instead !!! :devil: