Prices gone up?

CP's eQuote on 24-105 was only $1,490 last week. That's a 20% increase...

I got the 135F2 2 days ago @ $1125....now it is $1350.....:sweat: Heng!....MSColor called and advice me to get before price revision. Wow...it is true now!

I just received a news, Canon Sg will revise all the prices on second week of March 2009.
Let's wait and see...

Seems like shops such as CP has jumped the gun by raising price already (according to the earlier posts in this thread)...

Prices go up by %22:bigeyes: percent today. Most shops that didn't increase before, are increasing now.

GMAN

Seems like shops such as CP has jumped the gun by raising price already (according to the earlier posts in this thread)...

i dont think they jumped the gun - they got some indication from canon singapore to do so. i believe if u checked other stores, they would report similarly.

but my "intel" told me is reduce!! Unless my "intel" is sleepping....

is this For REAL! CP up 20% for all already? Does it mean if now quickly go other shop to buy still got chance to buy cheap?or no hope already?my shares also never up 20% in 1day.

my source quite reliable one ley...
Anyway, 2nd week of Mar onwards, i'll know my intel is "reliable" or "sleeping"

I only know lens went up But just think b4 u buy lor do u really need that item anot.

Quite a few shop reported increase in lens price leh.

Looks like i must postpone my lens purchase again:confused:

If knowing the price is going up at 20%, then buy now and then can sell at 10-15% lower than the raised price on the 3rd wk of March. wow.. better than buy share!!!!

Received eQuotes for EF-S 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM yesterday valid for 7 days, price increased liao..

CP - $1,295 before 7% GST = $1,385 w/GST
John 3:16 - $1,360 w/GST GST

From what I know, big shops like CP don't own the stock. They sell on consignment. The stock in the shop belongs to the Canon Distributor. So, if the Canon Distributor says price up, then they will raise prices immediately.

Smaller shops need to buy the stock from Canon. So, they probably have not increased the prices of their old stock.

From what I know, big shops like CP don't own the stock. They sell on consignment. The stock in the shop belongs to the Canon Distributor. So, if the Canon Distributor says price up, then they will raise prices immediately.

Smaller shops need to buy the stock from Canon. So, they probably have not increased the prices of their old stock.

who can tell if those stock belongs to old or new shipment? Knowing the price increase, think they might as well just join in the fun to get more profit right...

Anyway, have to postpone my purchase.

who can tell if those stock belongs to old or new shipment? Knowing the price increase, think they might as well just join in the fun to get more profit right...

Anyway, have to postpone my purchase.

That is right. It is not a matter of old stock vs new stock. CP's stock may not be new, but they will observe the new prices with immediate effect because the stock belongs to Canon. I think they only pay for the stock after they make the sale (or lose product for some reason).

But you are absolutely right to say that even for shops that purchased their stock, they will probably increase the prices because they will need to buy new stock at higher prices in any case.

k save ammo for the next L lens or 5D MkII liao :D

Just got back from CP... prices are all up.

They are revising the prices as of today. On avg, the increase is between 10-20%. Just yesterday evening 24-105 was quoted at ~1560. Now, its around 1800.

Guess all the 2nd hand prices are gonna be revised upwards.

You might still get lucky at getting some lens lesser than the new prices on new 'old' stock, if you are a preferred customer. Or else, just be prepared to fork out the money.

Last evening just went to MS colour. The price for 24-105 L is $1730 le.

Was looking at the 17-55mm for the longest time. Guess its another way of curbing the spending urge. Hope this will not trigger a trend of opportunists appearing in the BnS.