Powershot S3 IS

Can someone comment?

lastboltnut said:
Hello guys. I realised that if you use the standard card that comes with the cam when you buy cannot take the 640*480*30fps video! When I play back on the comp, it is choppy......Today I tried using my TwinMos UltraX 66X card, then it looks ok. Anyone tried if 50X card like Kingston ElitePro can take video with this setting?

nakedtoes said:
Hey i just notice that the color of the body of the S3 is actually of shiny grey .. But one thing i find funny is why the LCD screen of my S3 got 2 color tone.. the front of the LCD screen the body color is the same as the body of the frame.. where else the back of the LCD is pure black in color?? Can any S3 users confirm??:think:

Checked and confirm same case with my S3. I think maybe the back of the LCD is made of black metal while the rest of the body made of grey plastic?

Jackal, like I posted above, the standard speed is not good for 30fps video with VGA resolution......so, getting a highspeed is worth it! Just that I did not try on the Kingston Elitpro which is only 50X, though I have tried on a TwinMos UltraX 66X.

I sincerely beileve that the highspeed card will help on the performance of continuous mode capturing. Do some simple maths, assuming the color depth is the same, then VGA video with 30fps means data transfer is 9.216 MPix/sec. While in 6 Mpix mode with continous shooting, it is like 2.3pic/sec, this means 13.8 Mpix/sec!! Much higher than the video mode! So I think it is worth the small diff in $ to invest on a highspeed card.

This is my tot......;p
Jackals said:
guys, do u think its worth getting the sandisk high-speed memory card?

OK i tried video taking at highest setting and the sport mode continue shooting.. with my new Kingston elite pro at 50X no problem at all:thumbsup:

Jackals said:
kenna chop carrot liao....can get at $755

Can chop potatoe instead? I dont like carrots....

Jackals said:
kenna chop carrot liao....can get at $755

Aiya it's only $5 different.... never kana chop lah ;)

Yup. $760 is within the range. Usually, you kena chopped is the accessories like bag, batteries, charger etc. So, diver, did you buy those and at what price? What about GST?

Thank you nakedtoes. Jackal, you can buy elitpro loh, since it is not that X.

nakedtoes said:
OK i tried video taking at highest setting and the sport mode continue shooting.. with my new Kingston elite pro at 50X no problem at all:thumbsup:

tks said:
Yup. $760 is within the range. Usually, you kena chopped is the accessories like bag, batteries, charger etc. So, diver, did you buy those and at what price? What about GST?

Bought with the 7-1 kit bag at $15 . total of 775 including gst.

cheers

diver5007 said:
Bought with the 7-1 kit bag at $15 . total of 775 including gst.

cheers

Yup, good price. I paid $15 for the bag too. Though I paid only $755 for the camera.

First when i go AP a guy also quote me 760... After i go back 2nd time.. any guy quote me 755.. then i sk him 750 can?? he think for a while.. said ok..:bsmilie:

Potential buyers should check out Harvey Norman Expo Sale from 12 to 14 May. Be sure to ask for extended warranty and freebies.

Anyone apply for the extended warranty from canon??

The $75 is for 2 year extention on top of the year we got?? or inclusive?

nakedtoes said:
Anyone apply for the extended warranty from canon??
The $75 is for 2 year extention on top of the year we got?? or inclusive?

Wah, I always thought it was inclusive but when I checked the T & Cs, it appears to be total 3 years. In that case, I better go and buy but I have already exceeded the 14 day period. By the way, it should be $70 if apply within 14 days.

Unless otherwise specified, the Extended Limited Warranty is valid for 24 months from the expiry of the Original Limited Warranty ("Extended Limited Warranty Period")