Powershot S3 IS

Whitelion said:
$760 that's value for money! I was quoted $650 last week for S2! So MS color open on PH???

Price increase liao due to heavy demand? I was quoted $71* by MS yesterday.

Since there's Digital Imaging at the upcoming PC show in June,
will there be more free gifts bundled with the S3?

Only 4 more weeks leh.....

skyraider said:
hmmm...pictures ah......i juz took 1 yesterday nite.....come n make myself paiseh...noob here...lol

IMG_0183.jpg

copyright(c)skyraider

feel free 2 comment...
e composition looks alittle queer to me too.. wld haf been better if it's in symmetrical. but wat f/ stop u use? seems like a small aperture.. in order to obtain dat starburst.

maleman said:
Price increase liao due to heavy demand? I was quoted $71* by MS yesterday.

Since there's Digital Imaging at the upcoming PC show in June,
will there be more free gifts bundled with the S3?

Only 4 more weeks leh.....

I thought S2 discontinued?? thats what MScolor told me.. why dun u get S3?

hwchoy said:
+4 to +9 close-up loh. then prefocus (basically to frame the fish for its size) then start tracking the fish by moving the cam. when the "feeling" is there, SNAP! heehee.

depending on the type of fish, can get about 5-10% useable shots. I usually do a 4 hour sitting, and shoot 2-300 hundred shots, and get maybe 10-15 good ones.

I should explain that my keep rate is very low because I need pix that has the fish completely parallel to me, properly exposed, sharp until can see scales and count fins, etc.
hahaz.. yeahz. datz wat happens to me too.. but i'm more into big cats. way easier den urs.. but e framin ainT dat easy as u constantly haf to zoom in and out. usually out of 500 shots, i only get abt. 20 decent ones.. :embrass:

NightZ88 said:
manual focus is better.. u can preset it. auto focus is rather slow..

Not true leh I find the speed ok.

Guys planing to get S3
and i was quote for 700++ for it.
however i does not know what are the standard package you guys get when you purchase it at 760

can list out the stuff you get at 760 so i know does that shop miss out any of it and charge me a lower price for that.

another thing is that does S3 have underwater casing ?

it comes with a 512mb mc, strap, usb cable

kurt003 said:
Guys planing to get S3
and i was quote for 700++ for it.
however i does not know what are the standard package you guys get when you purchase it at 760

can list out the stuff you get at 760 so i know does that shop miss out any of it and charge me a lower price for that.

another thing is that does S3 have underwater casing ?

S1 has but not S2/S3. Hopefully in the near future.

felixcat8888 said:
Cannot complaint lah. This not SLR...
heyz.. post pics. if u can. we can learn frm one another tis way.. :)

Shot taken this morning. Camera in Auto Setting. Hand held. The first shot I took, the camera told me to "raise flash" and I did. I did not like the result. Kind of washed out. So, for the second shot, I did not raise the flash.

IMG_0060.jpg
IMG_0061.jpg

tks said:
Shot taken this morning. Camera in Auto Setting. Hand held. The first shot I took, the camera told me to "raise flash" and I did. I did not like the result. Kind of washed out. So, for the second shot, I did not raise the flash.

IMG_0060.jpg
IMG_0061.jpg
hahaz.. post them in e thread address provided. but neways, gd to see u playin arnd wif ur toy..

Hello guys. I realised that if you use the standard card that comes with the cam when you buy cannot take the 640*480*30fps video! When I play back on the comp, it is choppy......Today I tried using my TwinMos UltraX 66X card, then it looks ok. Anyone tried if 50X card like Kingston ElitePro can take video with this setting?

The 2nd pic it nicer in terms of color and shadow. The 1st pic has the shadows from the flash and the ceiling......not so nice.
Its why I dun like to take with direct flash if can.....
tks said:

IMG_0060.jpg
IMG_0061.jpg

most of my shots are without flash, but he coy did had to use flash. Indoor without flash is challenging but I love those as it takes the subject by surprise and you can get a natural look.

felixcat8888 said:
most of my shots are without flash, but he coy did had to use flash. Indoor without flash is challenging but I love those as it takes the subject by surprise and you can get a natural look.
diffuse e flash lorz.. will look more natural.