Post your street cat here!

Nice stuff here juzmoo.

What type of flash you using?

Also, raptor84, Icarus meant well about not posting area as well.
Anyway, its better not to. If the cat is cropped ear (meaning sterilized) at least not a problem. Otherwise, I think its still better not to reveal location.

On the otherhand, if location is revealed, the cat might have a chance to survive as some nice adopters might find them cute and nice and want to locate them for adoption..

signz..dillemma.

Just hope they can survive in this trecherous world...sometimes even normal passerby hurt this cute thingies.

Best Regards,
tltan

Thanks for comment titan. It's a SB600 with sofen omnibounce on pointing up @ 60... Non-direct.

Well.. I am always glad to see them adopted. Pitty is that my house is band from animals from my 'House IC', if not I'll have a dogs and catz. :cry: Well I occationally feed some strays one around my neighbourhood like this one. :angel:

raptor84 said:
Whlile the AVA does trap and cull unregistered animals outright. The SPCA will only euthanise the animal if #1 it is in very poor health condition or #2 there is not enough space in the quarrantine area. Most of the time its reason #2.

And i think the word slaughtered is a bit too strong for this context.

Most of the time its reason #2... i hope u understand how limited room there are for cats back in SPCA. the moment they catch them, then in to the slaughter house it goes.

No offence, but i think its still best not to post the location of the strays. I have personally encountered way too many *unpleasant* incidents with SPCA and AVA - slaughter is not a strong word to use here...

Aiya. why take the risk? Just refrain from posting location can liao lor.

jUzMoO said:
Thanks for comment titan. It's a SB600 with sofen omnibounce on pointing up @ 60... Non-direct.

Well.. I am always glad to see them adopted. Pitty is that my house is band from animals from my 'House IC', if not I'll have a dogs and catz. :cry: Well I occationally feed some strays one around my neighbourhood like this one. :angel:

Well done. Both photography and feeding them. But remember to clean up after your good "acts" hehe. Otherwise, some people might complain and WHAM...no more...sad.

The flash is looking good. Something I hope to get in the future..moola not enough, too many things to buy.

tltan

tltan said:
On the otherhand, if location is revealed, the cat might have a chance to survive as some nice adopters might find them cute and nice and want to locate them for adoption..

signz..dillemma

I will not deny this point, there are some really kind souls that went around to adopt these cats, saving them from the clutches of you know who, however the numbers of such kind souls are decreasing..thanks to unfriendly neighbours, people who dun like cats..etc i know of someone who adopted about 80 cats who had to move house because someone complained to Town Council... :sweat:

But as a cat lover, i still feel very uneasy when i see locations of strays been revealed over a public forum. Weighing the pros and cons, its best that you guys refrain from posting the location... thanks alot :)

My contribution :

DSC_5570.jpg

D2H_3832.jpg

DSC_4687s.jpg

icarus said:
My contribution :

DSC_4687s.jpg

I like this picture. Speaks alot to me. Sad lines though.

tltan

drumma said:
here's mine!

127876573_e5a9267703.jpg

I'm walking away. Nice catch.

I must learn to take such shots of cats with compo and story. Currently only taking portriat kind of shots.

tltan

icarus said:
Most of the time its reason #2... i hope u understand how limited room there are for cats back in SPCA. the moment they catch them, then in to the slaughter house it goes.

No offence, but i think its still best not to post the location of the strays. I have personally encountered way too many *unpleasant* incidents with SPCA and AVA - slaughter is not a strong word to use here...

I guess thats you presonal expereince. I will refrain form posting locations then :) Nice series btw..

tltan said:
I'm walking away. Nice catch.

I must learn to take such shots of cats with compo and story. Currently only taking portriat kind of shots.

tltan

Yea me too my shots are getting kinda boring even for me :D

Icarus: Kitten next to the blue wall is really lovely:thumbsup:

icarus said:

since i started the thread, i should explain that i wanted the location cos i like to go around taking cat pictures and also feeding them. thought if i go to a certain area, then i can look out for the cat too....

seriously, i dont think that AVA needs our 'help' to locate this cats. there know where they are. i dont believe there are AVA ppl constantly looking at this thread to see where the strays are...

but for the safety of the cats, i cast my believe aside, so guys, post the pictures, not the location, thanks [i have also edited my 1st thread to exclude location.

surge said:
since i started the thread, i should explain that i wanted the location cos i like to go around taking cat pictures and also feeding them. thought if i go to a certain area, then i can look out for the cat too....

seriously, i dont think that AVA needs our 'help' to locate this cats. there know where they are. i dont believe there are AVA ppl constantly looking at this thread to see where the strays are...

but for the safety of the cats, i cast my believe aside, so guys, post the pictures, not the location, thanks [i have also edited my 1st thread to exclude location.

Thanks for understanding :) :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

me join in the fun

newbie shot please be kind

_DSC6221.jpg

surge said:

Surge,

You may want to be a lot more careful about the "feeding" part. In most places, there are caregivers who have been taught to feed their charges (the strays) under controlled conditions, ie, a fixed number of meals. Additional, unsolicited feeding can (1) upset the dietary plans for some caregivers, esp in the case of unwell felines, and (2) upset timings intended to keep the animals safe.

Worse still, such unsolicited feeding can sometimes draw unwanted attention to the strays, putting them at further risk from the already unfriendly human co-inhabitants. Sometimes, such unsolicited feeders are also to blame for adding to the mess left behind by various irresponsible humans - litter, leftover food (attracts rats, flies, roaches), poop (usually from irresponsible dog owners). The list is a long one.

Do give that additional thought of care, those of you who TRULY love the other animal inhabitants of our world. For it is their world too. They have just as much right to it is you and me.
corner.jpg

Good point there, Azure... :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Very nice street cats picture. Really nice composition as well. Lets keep it going!

tltan