Photos from 8D7N Hanoi Halong Bay & Sapa Valley Photography Trek

Yup, we'd probably fly out to Huangshan from Chengdu on 20th morning, then its basically a 4 day program there including Shexian County (1 day), Huangshan (2 days), then Emerald Valley and Hongcun another UNESCO Heritage site (1 day). Fly back to Singapore on the 23rd or 24th, haven't fully planned it yet, but the recce itinerary should be out by this weekend :)

keep me in the loop

Sister, I will need to check whether I can apply leave during this period.... :embrass:
Been to 黄山 few years ago. Beautiful place to visit.
So you and Brother Lim are going?;)
We missed you alot alot....:angel:

T R A V E L O G U E ~ Day 6 - Bac Ha Market

You guys are all so excited and couldn't stop talking about this Huangshan, that Huangshan.
Little beknown to you all, I am the poor soul who is silently working hard trying to keep this travelogue focussed.

Before you all go scattering all over the place, here is a painstakingly cut and pasted Montage.
One that depicts a feeling from the depth of my heart.
A feeling that became obvious to me as I worked my way deeper into Bac Ha Market.
Wherever I went, whichever angle I turned, I found smiles.
Yes, smiles. Nothing but simple, innocent, heart-warming smiles.
On the faces of all these tribal people.
I believed I snapped more smiling faces in that one and a half hours than I would do so in a week back home!

Here it is, a montage of this lovely, cheerful smiling people.

limwhow #166

4706203133_95b9fe2e8a_b.jpg

Ladies and Gentlemen of the newly-formed Hmong tribe.
Come on. Work a little harder.
We're almost there already.
Day 6 ending soon... it's the last stretch. Home run already.
Come on, post. Come on, post.

Hey, hey people... This Bac Ha Market not completed yet.

• Where are the pictures of the Hmong trading and bargaining over their buffaloes up the hill above Bac Ha?
  • Where are the pictures of the Hmong ladies eating in their Bac Ha market hawker centre?
  • Where are the picture of the food?
  • Where are the picture of the lady selling the dog?
  • The picture of that little piglet squealing with one of its hind legs tied up?

And where are the pictures of that fateful Day 6 night back at Sapa where Adrian and we whole lot went night shooting?

• The Catholic Church?
  • The Dancing Black Hmong boys?
  • The night market?
Eh, anyone who have got these above precious photos - please post them up to share, OK? Thanks so much in advance!

So many things here... I tell you guys, it is no wonder that Adrian was almost ready to throw in his towels!
We were quite a basketful for him, weren't we? Hehehe...

limwhow #167
4706927750_62efd0149b_b.jpg

Ban Pho Village 2:30pm. Day 6.

Today has definitely been fruitful for all of us.
Bac Ha market was, in my own words, a 'protraiture galore'.

On our way back from Bac Ha to Sapa Town, we pass by a small village, the Ban Pho Village.
This is a little village inhabited by the Flower Hmong.

Three boys walked towards us from a distance.
They were animatedly discussing and gesturing among themselves.
I put my camera on AI Servo mode, high burst rate, and fired away.

These three cute little boys' expressions were so pure and genuine.
And they were so easily amazed and tickled by little gifts like candies from the travellers...
... Something that does not come by so readily in the younger citizens of our highly-strung society.

limwhow #168
4706405925_5a3352ddee_b.jpg

SereneXMM #47
So far the weather was no good and not enough light to take IR. At the Ban Pho village I try a IR. Kekeke ;p!

4707106836_db72abae44_b.jpg

SereneXMM #48

Oops never clone away the wire in the sky. Sorry.:embrass:!
4707131162_afe6e2260c_b.jpg

It is already Day 6 and so far both SereneXMM and myself have not much luck with our IR cameras.
We waited and waited for days for conditions to improve enough to shoot IR, every day still lugging along our IR cameras,
but only to be disappointed day after day.

But when we arrived at Ban Pho I think SereneXMM really cannot tahan any more.
She went scampering here and there shooting with her IR-modified Canon 20D.
Scrutinising the environment, I thought she got some wisdom in doing that,
for the surrounding foliage is good enough for IR, although the sunlight is still not that ideal.

But heck lah... just give it a shot.

limwhow #169

4706542573_79d8f0630e_b.jpg

limwhow #170

4707164576_5f128ea216_b.jpg

Interesting trip and alot of beautiful photos.

Yup, we'd probably fly out to Huangshan from Chengdu on 20th morning, then its basically a 4 day program there including Shexian County (1 day), Huangshan (2 days), then Emerald Valley and Hongcun another UNESCO Heritage site (1 day). Fly back to Singapore on the 23rd or 24th, haven't fully planned it yet, but the recce itinerary should be out by this weekend :)

Is it falls in Oct also? Are you saying this new itinenary is a continuation of Jiuzhaigou. So for those who opt for both, it will be like 10 days?

Or the recce for the new site is entirely on its own aggenda.

T R A V E L O G U E ~ Day 6 - Bac Ha Market

Day 6 ending soon... it's the last stretch. Home run already.
Come on, post. Come on, post.

Its a relay event. How can finish without Kei, Helen, Jim, George? Still sleeping huh? At least Kei has given some vocal support, Helen passing out water bottle. Jim, George - still changing your shorts?

Jim - have you managed to figure out after you have clarified with me?

Needless to say nor think. My dearest Adrian, we are on!

We are going to both Bali and Jiuzhai. Yah, not easy to apply leave.
Me, heng ah! I'm the followers and supporters of my boss.

ER... Acpical, yes mid October.

Wah, limwhow and SereneXMM, I am really envious of your endless availability of time and supply of $$$ :thumbsup::thumbsup: haha.
After my trip with SgTrekker to East Java, I was really looking forward to another, and another trip with them. Wanted to go on this Sapa trip but couldn't due to my work schedule. Looked at the Chiangmai trip but was cancelled. Then the Borobudur, which was cancelled again. Best part is that work activity I was expecting got postponed to end Jun :( Now I think I am left with Jiuzhaigou and Bali to consider ..... hmm...:think: I have been to Jiuzhaigou last year, albeit not a photography trip, don't think will go again so soon. So guess it would be Bali for me now....

limwhow #170

4707164576_5f128ea216_b.jpg

Indeed, a good location and weather for IR photography. The above image has too many negative space, can crop tighter, more panaromic. Unless the foreground has something interesting.

BTW interesting travelogue, bring back many beautiful memories of Sapa.

These IR limwhow and SereneXMM took of Ban Pho village are nice :)

To keep the ball rolling again here are more shots on the Bac Ha Market for sharing

1)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200064.jpg

2)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200092.JPG

3)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200101.JPG

4)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200090.JPG

5)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200119.JPG

And here are some shots of the trekkers in action

1)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200125.JPG

2)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200131.JPG

3)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200123.JPG

4)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-07062010%200226.JPG

Sorry.. fast forward to the waterfall for this

5)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-07062010%200223.JPG

Where are the others ??

Its a relay event. How can finish without Kei, Helen, Jim, George? Still sleeping huh? At least Kei has given some vocal support, Helen passing out water bottle. Jim, George - still changing your shorts?

Jim - have you managed to figure out after you have clarified with me?

Haha... no no no.
Certainly it will not end until all have shared.
The travelogue is just a small record of events.
Even when it reaches the last day, there will be other photos that every one of us would inadvertently left out. And we will still be posting our shots any time from now till then... hahaha...

Hey, divinemoment, your shots are getting more and more interesting!
Come show some more!

Interesting trip and alot of beautiful photos.

Hi airforce1, thank you so much for your compliments!

Wah, limwhow and SereneXMM, I am really envious of your endless availability of time and supply of $$$ :thumbsup::thumbsup: haha.
After my trip with SgTrekker to East Java, I was really looking forward to another, and another trip with them. Wanted to go on this Sapa trip but couldn't due to my work schedule. Looked at the Chiangmai trip but was cancelled. Then the Borobudur, which was cancelled again. Best part is that work activity I was expecting got postponed to end Jun :( Now I think I am left with Jiuzhaigou and Bali to consider ..... hmm...:think: I have been to Jiuzhaigou last year, albeit not a photography trip, don't think will go again so soon. So guess it would be Bali for me now....

These IR limwhow and SereneXMM took of Ban Pho village are nice :)

Aiyoh... SK1968 yah SK1968.... like everybody else in Singapore, we work like siao so that we can play like siao mah... hahaha...
Sadly, none of this is true for me. Hehehe....
And thanks for your compliments on our humble IR.

Indeed, a good location and weather for IR photography. The above image has too many negative space, can crop tighter, more panaromic. Unless the foreground has something interesting.

BTW interesting travelogue, bring back many beautiful memories of Sapa.

I'm glad it has brought back fond memories for you, jopel.
And I totally agree with you on the composition.
The foreground is lacking.
I really should have cropped this panoramically.
Thanks so much for your advice!

And here are some shots of the trekkers in action

2)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200131.JPG

3)
VN%20-%20Sapa%20-06062010%200123.JPG

Thanks Stevepow for sharing with me.
I didn't know when I am in action, my face contorts up so terribly and i look so terrible.
Aiyoh....
I must re-train my facial muscles to be aesthetically more acceptable whenever i fire my camera... hahahahaha....