Pentax K100D in SG?

caterham7 said:
just saw straits times COMEX supplement, K100D selling at S$1269, with 18-55mm lens, 1GB card, and tamrac bag...hmmm
!!! Not bad! Feel like trying out n get as a 2nd body.... so gian liao... :lovegrin:

caterham7 said:
just saw straits times COMEX supplement, K100D selling at S$1269, with 18-55mm lens, 1GB card, and tamrac bag...hmmm

dont know if the price will drop to $999 on the last day last hour of the show...:think:;)
anyway, intend to get one this afternoon...wish me luck!

airconvent said:
dont know if the price will drop to $999 on the last day last hour of the show...:think:;)
anyway, intend to get one this afternoon...wish me luck!

i also tempted leh... but i dont think will drop that low even at the last hour cos it's a new product, it's not like it is clearing stock...

If can get around $1200nett, that will be very good liao.

Feels a bit overpriced leh ...

I do carry k100 kit at $1120 with 1 GB card. PM if interested.
Local warrenty sets.

tOngEh said:
Local warrenty sets.

This sounds a bit more reasonable ...

BTW, does anyone know if the K100D support the SCA3xxx adaptors for METZ flashes?

alamak! how come TongEh now than say....??
anyhow, I have joined the K100D club today cos when I left the house TongEh did not post yet...;)

Warning to drivers! Jams ..jams..jams! Even the illegal double yellow line lots were full! After wasting 35 min trying to get into the EXPO, I drove to Changi Airport Terminal 2, and took the MRT to Expo (forget Bedok MRT....no lots there either). On arrival, I took my time before I reached the Pentax stand. what a nice and cosy corner but sadly, all the crowds are at the "C" and "N" stands instead.
Even though there were 3 Pentax ladies to pose for photos. Ironically, 3 photographers busily snapping away were using "N" and "C" camera...sigh..

The salesperson was quite surprised by me. I went up to him, he started to want to demo to me the K100D and I said " I'll take one!". Price is $1269 including 1 x 1GB Kingston card and 1 x bag.
Do note this is NOT the sholder bag given in previous deals where you can put a camera and spare lens. This bag can only hold one camera and that's it!
Lucky I already bought my Pentax bag previously for my islDL.

The ist DL2 is selling slightly over $1100 and includes a free Epson photo printer.
The K100D does not have this gift! I tried my luck and pestered the guy to give me the printer anyway and surprise surprise, they were very accomodating (a pretty sexy lady in white said ok)...so at least even if I did buy it $100 more expensive than TongEh's offer, at least the $100 went into the free printer...whew...
Surprisingly, the printer's resolution is actually better than the lowest end Canon CP series. Colour is not very vibrant for the pixelation can barely been seen.

Why did I buy the K100D when for $100 more, I can get the D50 and lots of free gifts?
Well, I generally liked the form factor of the Pentax better, so here, looks wins.:D
One old guy who was at the stand with me was very curious about my purchase. I think he had been brainwashed by friends to go for "C" brand because it "has lots of lenses to choose from". I explained to him if he is a professional photographer, this would have been a key criteria but for general users, the current range from Pentax, Sigma and Tamron would suffice.

Anyhow, I now have an istDL with kit lens to let go..cheap cheap...PM me if you're interested. :lovegrin:

zoomzoomzoom said:

mm..from the demo shots, (look at the indoor church), it seems the K100D has a yellowish tinge or is it the D50 has a bluish one? The D50 looks more natural though so I guess one may need to do some adjustment to the WB for the K100D.

airconvent said:
mm..from the demo shots, (look at the indoor church), it seems the K100D has a yellowish tinge or is it the D50 has a bluish one? The D50 looks more natural though so I guess one may need to do some adjustment to the WB for the K100D.

It's not the D50, it's the D80. :)

If anyone is willing to pay $110 bucks more im willing to throw in a canon CP510 printer.

Thats means $1120 plus $110 for CP510.

tOngEh said:
Local warrenty sets.

Sorry to ask, I am not familiar with the term used in here.
Is this new or used unit?
What does kit mean? Does it mean body only without the kit lens?
Thanks.

tOngEh said:
If anyone is willing to pay $110 bucks more im willing to throw in a canon CP510 printer.

Thats means $1120 plus $110 for CP510.

wow..that's a pretty good deal..the cp510 is much more compact than the Epson 100 I got...

more on comex..

On the price side, I think the price of $1269 for the
K100D is still reasonable at the show but seeing not
many people know or appreciate pentax and the masses
are generally brain washed to go for N and C stuff,
they may end up on the loosing end.

the 350D is selling only for slightly more with lots
of free stuff and in the $1300+ range, there is also
the highly rated D50 and not forgetting the Olympus
E500 that comes bundled with a second zoom lens! I
think they should have included the istDL as well and
price it around $950.
A few months back when I was not even looking at
pentax yet, I would have grabbed the 350D instead.
The displays do not seem to emphasise clearly on the
stablisation part which is sad since that is a key
feature. Panasonic meanwhile have lots of pictures to
showcase their MEga OIS....

I tried the K100D yest too.. Saw a long haired guy with his wife/gf trying out the K100D.. Think he's there for at least 30 - 40 mins.. airconvent are u the one? :p anyway I like the feel of K100D very much and its quite reasonable for its price.. I tested the SR by shaking the camera alot then taking the pic. And it really worked very well, at least it works better than A100.. The ISO performance is very good too as expected, better than the D80 in my opinion. I have tried both cams. I m very tempted to get 1 too.. Still thinking whether to get this or my compact camera.. Really tempted man..:think:

airconvent said:
alamak! how come TongEh now than say....??
anyhow, I have joined the K100D club today cos when I left the house TongEh did not post yet...

Warning to drivers! Jams ..jams..jams! Even the illegal double yellow line lots were full! After wasting 35 min trying to get into the EXPO, I drove to Changi Airport Terminal 2, and took the MRT to Expo (forget Bedok MRT....no lots there either). On arrival, I took my time before I reached the Pentax stand. what a nice and cosy corner but sadly, all the crowds are at the "C" and "N" stands instead.
Even though there were 3 Pentax ladies to pose for photos. Ironically, 3 photographers busily snapping away were using "N" and "C" camera...sigh..

The salesperson was quite surprised by me. I went up to him, he started to want to demo to me the K100D and I said " I'll take one!". Price is $1269 including 1 x 1GB Kingston card and 1 x bag.
Do note this is NOT the sholder bag given in previous deals where you can put a camera and spare lens. This bag can only hold one camera and that's it!
Lucky I already bought my Pentax bag previously for my islDL.

The ist DL2 is selling slightly over $1100 and includes a free Epson photo printer.
The K100D does not have this gift! I tried my luck and pestered the guy to give me the printer anyway and surprise surprise, they were very accomodating (a pretty sexy lady in white said ok)...so at least even if I did buy it $100 more expensive than TongEh's offer, at least the $100 went into the free printer...whew...
Surprisingly, the printer's resolution is actually better than the lowest end Canon CP series. Colour is not very vibrant for the pixelation can barely been seen.

Why did I buy the K100D when for $100 more, I can get the D50 and lots of free gifts?
Well, I generally liked the form factor of the Pentax better, so here, looks wins.:D
One old guy who was at the stand with me was very curious about my purchase. I think he had been brainwashed by friends to go for "C" brand because it "has lots of lenses to choose from". I explained to him if he is a professional photographer, this would have been a key criteria but for general users, the current range from Pentax, Sigma and Tamron would suffice.

Anyhow, I now have an istDL with kit lens to let go..cheap cheap...PM me if you're interested. :lovegrin:

aaron80 said:
I tried the K100D yest too.. Saw a long haired guy with his wife/gf trying out the K100D.. Think he's there for at least 30 - 40 mins.. airconvent are u the one? :p anyway I like the feel of K100D very much and its quite reasonable for its price.. I tested the SR by shaking the camera alot then taking the pic. And it really worked very well, at least it works better than A100.. The ISO performance is very good too as expected, better than the D80 in my opinion. I have tried both cams. I m very tempted to get 1 too.. Still thinking whether to get this or my compact camera.. Really tempted man..:think:

no...not me...I'm the guy in the stripped polo t-shirt and bermudas (the type that looks nothing like a towkay)..ha ha

anyhow, I walked through all the halls. On my first pass, i took a look at it. It looks exactly like the DL/D/DS/DL2/DS2 series except its slightly bulkier and heavier (I just confirmed its about 600+ g heavier!..no wonder I can feel it.). Based on this, I already decided to buy it but only on the way back so I don't need to carry the thing around all day. I checked with the guy and he says he has sufficient stocks..heh heh

On my second pass, I went straight to the salesperson, and he was about to raise the camera and wanting to show me the features when I said "I'll take one!". He stopped in mid air with that surprised look...you should have been there to see it.
if you were there, you would have seen me pestering him to give me the printer and of course, the chio bu that finally said ok. too bad she has a problem smiling...sigh...otherwise she could have been a Pentax photo girl too!

Do read the reviews. if you are going for the "join the main crowd" policy and intend to buy lots of lenses (possibly second hand), then maybe pay a little more for the 350D or D50. None of my camera friends recommended the Pentax to me because "lens hard to find", "lens expensive", "other brands more popular".

I bought the Pentax because I fell in love with its form factor, its reputation as a company that builts quality lenses and stuff. I would have stuck with the my DL but the stabilised CCD and 11 point AF (compared with 3 for the DL and 7 for the 350D) helped motivated me...:lovegrin:

yes i do realise the lens are hard to purchase. i did my homework and searched ebay and some things they dont deliver to singapore :(

the k100D felt right in my hands. My budget constraints me to get the pentax. I was really impressed with the camera.

IMO, after trying out the k100d and sony alpha100, the pentax feels better and cheaper. today is the last day. I hope i can convice my parents for one,( pay them back that is) and who knows? last day get extra stuff ;)

btw, ive decided to join the pentax family and not look back. even if i miss this offer for the k100d , we still got fellow cser who brings it in :) three cheers to pentax! :thumbsup:

welcome welcome...
BTW, now that I have the K100D, I will be selling off my istDL soon..if budget is a problem, PM me! ;). Otherwise you won't go wrong with the K100D or even the istDL2. Even without stabilisation its a good performer. As for lenses, you can easily get the Sigma APO 70-300mm zoom or the new 18-200mm zoom (i have both..heh heh). Only pain is trying to get a 50mm f/1.7 or f/1.4. These sell for hundreds of dollars...
otherwise you won't feel you missed anything with the lenses I mentioned.