can i sue them if something happen due to the fact that i was not able to consume my medication on the train ?
can i sue them for causing discomfort as i was not able to take my motion sickness medication ?
Plain water spillage a problem? Total nonsense
Whats the diff when ppls shoes are wet and get on the MRT?
Rain water from umbrella and wet shoes?
We are not talking about having a Sonkran festival inside the train. Just a bottle of water.
Don't underestimate the need for immediate use of medication as well.
There are many cases of illness that would be better to take medication ASAP.
Dizzy spells; Potential stroke; Headache; Stomach ache (esp. food poisoning); Heart attack
some spillage of whatever liquid/solids is better than seeing someone in pain/discomfort/life threatened, right??
Those who say, can tahan one, obviously never had to due with such problems/illness.
Informing the MRT staff, can be useful or can be damn irritating and inconvenient. Lets say you are already unwell and after visiting the doc, make your way back via MRT. You become worse while waiting for the MRT and need to take the medicine. Do you proceed down to the ctrl room and inform the staff , after which they (being typical S'poreans with no u-turn syndrome) stop you from continuing your journey (die on their train and on their watch, how??). Or you board the train, take the medicine while on it and be on your way home where you can rest in the comfort of your bed?
Anyway, looks like it going to be 'do anything don't get caught' and hope 'some officers close one eye' for the moment.
I still remember you.............:thumbsup:
Furthermore, we do know that not all staff are friendly and helpful.
I give you an instance. I used to have student concession pass for my EZ link, and that covered both bus and train rides, so essentially, I could travel around Singapore without having any monetary value in my card, as long as I topped up the concession value every month.
So one good Sunday morning, I was rushing to an appointment and had my concession renewed at Clementi MRT. I then took a train to Redhill MRT, where I could not exit. I then approached the station control's help desk.
At the desk, I told the staff on duty that I could not exit with my card. I also showed him the receipt that I was just issued at Clementi MRT for the purchase of my concession. He went to his computer, checked it awhile, then came back to me and said
"Your card has no value"
I then reminded him very pleasantly that I had purchased concession travel for both bus and train rides, indicating to the receipt in his hand. Once again, he replied me
"Your card has no value"
I told him that for the past three months, I have been travelling flawlessly around Singapore, utilising both bus and train systems, and never once have I encountered this problem except on that wonderful Sunday morning. I then, once again, reminded him that I had just purchased my concession travel a very recent ten minutes before this conversation with him. To my utter disbelief, he said
"Your card has no value. You need to have value to travel, even if you buy concession."
This guy was priceless. I asked him, if I had no value, how I could enter the station at Clementi. He didn't have an answer and dismissed my question, once again saying
"You need to have value in your card, or you can go check your concession at Clementi. I tell you what, you go back to Clementi and ask the person whether she got (sic) top up your card's concession"
Tell me, who at this point, would not be pissed? I lost it, and my retort showed it.
"I've travelled all the way here from Clementi, and was able to enter the station after purchasing my concession, and I have an appointment here in 5 minutes, and you want me to travel all the way back to Clementi to determine the validity of my concession when you are holding a bloody receipt in your hand? Are you saying that even your own payment and receipt issuing system is flawed?"
He had the cheek to ask me why I had to raise my voice at him, and asked me if I thought I was very "big" as a student to do such a thing. If you ask me, this individual did not exercise professionalism, understanding, nor an intricate comprehension of his own company's operations and systems. With epic staff like that, you expect them to be understanding? Close one eye to those who need water or medication? All it takes is one staff member like that and your day is screwed.
Too bad I didn't ask for his name. :bsmilie:
I still remember you.............
While I agree with the fine for most eating and drinking. I can't find agreement with the banning of drinking water.
Plain water spillage a problem? Total nonsense
Whats the diff when ppls shoes are wet and get on the MRT?
Rain water from umbrella and wet shoes?
We are not talking about having a Sonkran festival inside the train. Just a bottle of water.
Don't underestimate the need for immediate use of medication as well.
There are many cases of illness that would be better to take medication ASAP.
Dizzy spells; Potential stroke; Headache; Stomach ache (esp. food poisoning); Heart attack
some spillage of whatever liquid/solids is better than seeing someone in pain/discomfort/life threatened, right??
Those who say, can tahan one, obviously never had to due with such problems/illness.
Informing the MRT staff, can be useful or can be damn irritating and inconvenient. Lets say you are already unwell and after visiting the doc, make your way back via MRT. You become worse while waiting for the MRT and need to take the medicine. Do you proceed down to the ctrl room and inform the staff , after which they (being typical S'poreans with no u-turn syndrome) stop you from continuing your journey (die on their train and on their watch, how??). Or you board the train, take the medicine while on it and be on your way home where you can rest in the comfort of your bed?
Anyway, looks like it going to be 'do anything don't get caught' and hope 'some officers close one eye' for the moment.
I would love to see the chaos ensue one day, the chaos being somebody who had a real legitimate reason to be consuming water/lozenges (I don't know. heat exhaustion, dry throat combined with a whooping cough, heart medication, etc) and having a narrow minded official fine the living daylights out of him/her for preserving his/her own life by doing so.
and while I agree water should be allowed on trains, and the consumption should be allowed to do so if a person is responsible enough... but too often enough, it's (insert expletive) and (insert expletive) that spoil it all for us. I'm guilty of drinking water when I'm on the trains, if only because I'm susceptible to heat induced migraines. would love to see what will be said to my face if I did so to prevent a potential migraine coming up.
I look forward to coming back in December.
Anyone notice the store selling snacks inside Harbour Front train station....wah liao...what if I "tar pao" from this store then kena ticket taking a ride back to my office....:sweat::sweat::sweat::bsmilie: We look forward to having you back to hammer the living daylights out of the official.
You know my friend got a ticket for holding a cup of drink. Her mouth wasn't even near the straw! Maybe that's called drinking. Soon, staring at a bowl of noodles will be defined as eating.
:bsmilie: We look forward to having you back to hammer the living daylights out of the official.
You know my friend got a ticket for holding a cup of drink. Her mouth wasn't even near the straw! Maybe that's called drinking. Soon, staring at a bowl of noodles will be defined as eating. I wonder what happens if we have to buy food for a loved one back home (who can't come out because the person is "unfit for travel" horhorhor) and we need to use the train to access food. For instance, I may stay at Chinese Garden or Lakeside, and food is probably more easily accessible at Boon Lay, or Jurong East. I wonder how we get the food back home if holding a cup of drink is considered drinking.
Well Done Roger Foo....you are one "FINE" product of this "FINE" system. Hope you are not the person who stopped someone from taking their angina medication and had a heart attack because the person needed a sip of water to take their pill. Hope you are able to tell the difference between reflux and angina.Fined $30 for eating sweet - http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_404559.html
".. She said, 'I know it is not OK but I take it sometimes because I am giddy.'
Enforcement officer Roger Foo did not buy her explanation. 'If everyone were to say they have to take sweets because they are thirsty or giddy, where are we going to draw a line?' he rebukes. .."
- Well said officer , the peasants must be put in their place!
Well Done Roger Foo....you are one "FINE" product of this "FINE" system. Hope you are not the person who stopped someone from taking their angina medication and had a heart attack because the person needed a sip of water to take their pill. Hope you are able to tell the difference between reflux and angina.
Come on lah. How long can a train ride be? Eat and drink before u take the train lah. I really dun understand why the big fuss. If u are really that weak and will die without taking your medication so on time, u probably are not physically fit to take the train.