[ Olympus Colours ] - Show Your Blues, Greens and Reds!

Luminous lotus...

98706793.jpg

98706798.jpg

98706799.jpg

98706801.jpg

Here another shot taken at the Fun Zone, Downtown Zürich area where the public can watch the free live play on the giant screen.

And to adrewine, if you don't mind, can share how usually post-process your photos? I especially like how you processed the latest image of the drummer(?). :)

Thanks dorts.......I'm glad that you like my treatment of the drummer lady.

My initial 'mood feel' of the picture was to try to give it a warm and retro look.... more like those of the seventies color washout look.....I don't know if I have achieved that.

my 1st step is to play with the color balance under the adjustment layer by moving the 'Cyan/Red' cursor towards the red area and moving the 'yellow/blue' cursor to the left area.

Then I darken the peripheral areas with the 'multiply' layer mask.

'grains' and 'sandstone' from the filter textures gallery were added to taste.

There you have it.........practice will make perfect!
This is just my interpretation of the lady's energetic drumming pulsating beats and her rhythmic swaying movement to the Brazilian Samba music.

Below photo is from my recent Olympus E-xperience Nature Workshop outing.
This is the only decent shot of the whole day 'cos I could not see my review shots properly from the LCD screen as the ambient light was just too bright .

Taken with E-510 & 40-150mm kit lens @ f/5.6, 1/125s and ISO 400.

Hehe........here is sort of an 'abstract' shot from the Oly Nature Workshop on the 14Jun08.

Again taken with E-510 & 40-150mm kit lens @ f/5.6, 1/500s and ISO 400.

ooOoo! Another great macro shot with the 50mm lens. Love the bokeh effect and the very soft and gentle lighting! Must have been taken in the early morning..........?

Thks. Nope. Was taken in the evening, around 6.30 pm. :)

Another sun flare shot captured by E-510 & 14-42mm kit lens @ f22, 1/40s and ISO 100.

Did u use any filter? What focal length did u use?
The flare from my lens (without any filter) doesn't look quite like yours.

Did u use any filter? What focal length did u use?
The flare from my lens (without any filter) doesn't look quite like yours.

Hi weekh, I think the lens flares are from my 'cheapo' UV filter and shot from an acute angle....hehe...that's how you get those awful flares....the better ones I think don't give such 'creative' effects!

The shot below was captured @ 14mm, cam setting f/22, 1/60s ISO 200 with LV. The LV is a wonderful feature which I use most of the time in difficult conditions....:thumbsup:

Hi weekh, I think the lens flares are from my 'cheapo' UV filter and shot from an acute angle....hehe...that's how you get those awful flares....the better ones I think don't give such 'creative' effects!

The shot below was captured @ 14mm, cam setting f/22, 1/60s ISO 200 with LV. The LV is a wonderful feature which I use most of the time in difficult conditions....:thumbsup:

I don't even have any cheapo filter for any of my lenses. :)
What brand is your cheapo filter? Would like this sort of flare.

I don't even have any cheapo filter for any of my lenses. :)
What brand is your cheapo filter? Would like this sort of flare.

Hehe......... It's the 'cheapo' Emolux UV filter S$10.......from Alan Photo :embrass:
This filter in many cases can actually be more of a hindrance than of help to your photography.........
Highly not recommended.............except for casual shooting and to use it as a lens protector........often times it causes too much filter reflection and lens flares..:thumbsd: some even said that you are better off without the filter.......:dunno:

Just my 2 cents worth...........maybe the expert out there could recommend you a better filter. Cheers!:)

Oh so if we want the flare effect then we can go buy cheapo emolux UV filter. :)
Thank you for the recommendation.

Taken at Singapore Botanic Gardens on my 3rd Olympus E-xperience Nature workshop outing with E-510 & 14-42mm kit lens @ 42mm, f/9.0, 1/320s and ISO 200.

Heavily PP to salvage this shot as it was taken at midday sun with me standing legs apart precariously at the edge of the bricks and camera pointing directly downwards.

2567330699_3355496d9e_b.jpg

ISO400, 1/10s, F/1.4
I took this shot along the road, the tree was under warm street light, and the background was the cool lightings from HDB flat. This shot was taken without tripod, again thanks to the effectiveness of E-510 IS.

2567330699_3355496d9e_b.jpg

ISO400, 1/10s, F/1.4
I took this shot along the road, the tree was under warm street light, and the background was the cool lightings from HDB flat. This shot was taken without tripod, again thanks to the effectiveness of E-510 IS.

ooOoo! Wow! Excellente! Me kana poison again by your f/1.4 lens!
Lovely whitish n bluish poker dot bokeh............is this the Sigma or Pentax lens?
Now why don't Oly make such a lens? :think:
I'm sure many people would crave for it..........;p

:devil::lovegrin: Poisoned you again, this is not produced by the Sigma lens. ;)

Bro, any chance of me trying out this lens during one of our kopi session?
...........bay tan liao :sweatsm:.....hehe...... (can't wait any longer)!

This lens is incredibly sharp and at the same time produces lovely bokeh, :thumbsup:
I think at least compared to the Sigma lens is it not?

Taken at Singapore Botanic Gardens on my 3rd Olympus E-xperience Nature workshop outing with E-510 & 14-42mm kit lens @ 42mm, f/9.0, 1/320s and ISO 200.

Heavily PP to salvage this shot as it was taken at midday sun with me standing legs apart precariously at the edge of the bricks and camera pointing directly downwards.

Wow! Lovely. Superb PP skill. I think you did not only salvage it, you give life to it.

Swee! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

BTW, how to register for the workshop har? I got my e420 + Pancake 2nd hand.
In fact all my minty olympus stuffs (420 + pancake + 14-42 + 40-150 + 35 macro) are bought 2nd hand for $1500.

Lots of features I also donno how to use... read the user manual also don't understand... need someone to explain them to me....

A shot from outing with All Female Shooters @Botanic Garden on 11 May 2008

2604205120026386358S600x600Q85.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
E-3 + 50-200mm@200mm f5.6 1/80s ISO100

The timing was just right, the sun had just showed her face after the pre-dawn shower. Thus the background still dark in colour.

Cropped a little at the top with leaves of other flowers. Pped with PS Element 4, brighten shadows and darken midtone.

Swee! :thumbsup::thumbsup:

BTW, how to register for the workshop har? I got my e420 + Pancake 2nd hand.
In fact all my minty olympus stuffs (420 + pancake + 14-42 + 40-150 + 35 macro) are bought 2nd hand for $1500.

Lots of features I also donno how to use... read the user manual also don't understand... need someone to explain them to me....

Register at http://www.olympus.com.sg/E-Academy/