Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread

planning to get Voigtlander Nokton 35mm f/1.2;)
any suggestion for the adapter ?
many thanks:bsmilie:

I just did a few test on the light leak since I am on leave and at home , with the Sun blasting into my window , I place the A7 facing the window and did a number of test shots using the following

1. Cheap RJ adapter with CV 40mm 1.4
2. FE 28-75
3. FE 35
4. La-ea4 only
5. La-ea4 with Sal 50mm 1.4

All shots at 30s , ISO 25,600 for all except RJ at 3200 , you will see why lol

1) Cheap Rj with CV 50mm 1.4 - ISO 3,200

11638457795_7c35e4231b_z.jpg

No need to go to iso 25,600 to know that the Cheap RJ adapter is CMI ...T_T , or is this the case for all third party adapters ? Dont have the voigtlander or kipon to test

2)FE 28-75 , ISO 25,600

11638459405_36a1d93a14_c.jpg

If you want to be anal, there is very very very slight light at lower left corner , but I would negligible and could be due to high iso artifacts. I am happy to say that no light leak issues in real world shooting situation.

3) FE 35mm , iso 25,600

11638836864_2cb27b89b6_c.jpg

Same conclusion as FE 28-75mm

4) La-ea4 only , ISO 25,600

11638458415_c29300b0ab_c.jpg

Looks the same as the earlier two to me , with maybe more artefacts at the edges ?

5) La-ea4 with 50mm 1.4 , ISO 25,600

11639228856_561d015266_c.jpg

This obviously has more visible artefacts maybe due to more metal components, but still acceptable to me to conclude no real light leak issues.

Overall , I think the light leaks matter seems occur only at extreme shooting .

Even with the lousy RJ adapter, I tried to do ISO 100 at 30s, and the result is
as below:

11638456855_569a221f67_c.jpg

Its more pitch black than any of the frames above. SO with the lousy Rj , at ISO 100 , 30 seconds, I cant get any real light leaks, I cannot see how the IQ can be affected in normal situation. The only peeps that will have issue are astrophotographers. Then again, in astrophotography ,you wouldnt get extreme bright lights in my experiment above as well.

As what Bro Ricleo mentioned, when you do 30s, it is unlikely to shoot at high ISO. To conclude, I am happy with my camera and its good to learn about its limitations Cheers

the light leak could be due to some batch(es) of the production run and not all?

Actually you shld busr test with the body cap on without any lenses or adaptor.

That wld be the most conclusive to see if it is a body seal issue

i check liao.. dont have stock . tried the CV 50f/1.5 also :bsmilie:

So fast no stock? Last saturday still saw ppl buying it... Fast hand fast leg these ppl (rich oso)... :bsmilie:

Show us your new toy (CV 50/1.5 Nokton Silver!)...

Ask him to help buy a dozen of 55mm f1.8 ZA to sell here. Can make a good profit!

HK Sony lenses no international warranty. Buy a dozen, no one in Singapore will buy. How to make profit?

I can go buy a dozen for you later if you give me $200 profit for each one. No return policy though.. lol...

HK Sony lenses no international warranty. Buy a dozen, no one in Singapore will buy. How to make profit?

I can go buy a dozen for you later if you give me $200 profit for each one. No return policy though.. lol...

I tot u could convert to tourist's international warranty on these FE 55/1.8 lenses?? :o

But U have an expensive camera... ;p

This is what ppl say 好看不好吃, just bought metabones will do.
Btw anyone know the price for the voigtlander VM-E selling here ?

didn't buy lah. LOL considering FE55mm

test shot http://www.flickr.com/photos/errz/sets/72157639181274465/
am not that good with manual focusing.

but the lens is so damn chio :cool:

Sharper than 35FE?

So fast no stock? Last saturday still saw ppl buying it... Fast hand fast leg these ppl (rich oso)... :bsmilie:

Show us your new toy (CV 50/1.5 Nokton Silver!)...

oversea set with international warranty only. think mainly bodies. not for lens

I tot u could convert to tourist's international warranty on these FE 55/1.8 lenses?? :o