Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread

Vario-Tessar T* FE 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS 定價為 HK$9,390,將於 2014 年 1 月 28 日正式發售。

http://www.dcfever.com/news/readnews.php?id=9746

140115_zeiss24704_02l.jpg

Don't you guys wish you are in Hong Kong then??? I will go and check if they have it in the Sony Store tomorrow...

Lucky I m least interested in this... Cheers...

Wait till neck also long le... gonna use that alot in family events and meetup with friends.

sigh.. where is the FE 55!!!!
Sony SG Marketing damn jialat.

Wait till neck also long le... gonna use that alot in family events and meetup with friends.

i'll wait for review first. hehe

about $1.5k in get from HK....who's going?!? hehe

2 more weeks till first launch...all so kan chiong, just the way Sony wanted. Singapore price possibly $1,650? always late and expensive...lens I have no hesitant to buy abroad

U r gg to HK for this?

If it is a FF 24-70 F2.8, it will be as large as Canon and Nikon ones and will cost similar price near $3K bro.

Guess you already have a full set of lenses in your collection liao. Time to upgrade to A7R to really test your lenses...

Nopez... not interested in f/4... LOL... :bsmilie:

Sony workers at Thailand are very busy with other ECA. No time to make the lenses lah.

If it is a FF 24-70 F2.8, it will be as large as Canon and Nikon ones and will cost similar price near $3K bro.

Guess you already have a full set of lenses in your collection liao. Time to upgrade to A7R to really test your lenses...

Tatz y knowing an f/2.8 will be large and heavy, I will stick to my primes. LOL...

Not upgrading to A7R... M happy wif the current setup... Probably just wait for the FE UWA lens to complete it... Guess its time to really start focusing on shooting... :bsmilie:

Sony workers at Thailand are very busy with other ECA. No time to make the lenses lah.

The chaotic situation in Thailand doesn't really help in expediting production of the FE55... Seem to be facing a supply crunch, even in Japan there are only very limited sets available for purchase...

They can always get this produced in their home base in Japan, since all the 35FE lenses are Made in Japan. Higher labour costs, but help the employment of Japanese. Slightly smaller profit margin due to higher costs, but still better than not having enough to sell.

Without the 2 or more FE lenses, it will impact their sales of their A7/R, especially A7R which is more demanding with good lenses. Shops here are trying to save their 35FE lenses and only selling to those who are buying with the camera.

Hope the new batch will be made there!

The chaotic situation in Thailand doesn't really help in expediting production of the FE55... Seem to be facing a supply crunch, even in Japan there are only very limited sets available for purchase...

They can always get this produced in their home base in Japan, since all the 35FE lenses are Made in Japan. Higher labour costs, but help the employment of Japanese. Slightly smaller profit margin due to higher costs, but still better than not having enough to sell.

Without the 2 or more FE lenses, it will impact their sales of their A7/R, especially A7R which is more demanding with good lenses. Shops here are trying to save their 35FE lenses and only selling to those who are buying with the camera.

Hope the new batch will be made there!

Quite unlikely they will make the FE 55 in Japan... Seems they have segregated the product line manufacturing to different countries to balance COGS. Anyway, just gotta wait for everything that comes along. Agree that this will impact the sales of A7/Rs but seemed there are already many adopters that is leveraging it with their legacy lenses... like me... LOL

There is a critical difference on why people are using adapters with legacy lenses - it should be creating flexibility for users of legacy lenses to use their lenses on a A7/R if they wish to. But not that they have to.

Building such a good machine mainly to be used with other brand lenses of other company is just not ideal for Sony. There is a big market of users just using AF and do not wish to add on adapters to increase the bulk, which is the main selling point of this, or most of them will just grab a D800E which is better in most functionality and with better choice of lenses.

This is discounting the fact that many legacy lenses still have issues (be it how minor it is) such as vignetting, magenta casting, etc. and kind of defeating the purpose of having a superb 36mp sensor on the A7R with not many lenses capable of optimising its resolution.

Quite unlikely they will make the FE 55 in Japan... Seems they have segregated the product line manufacturing to different countries to balance COGS. Anyway, just gotta wait for everything that comes along. Agree that this will impact the sales of A7/Rs but seemed there are already many adopters that is leveraging it with their legacy lenses... like me... LOL

I only bought the camera on launch day because they said the FE55 was coming mid dec.. Getting a little sick of having to manual focus every single shot!