Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread

I m using the K mount version. Same optics and design down to the aperture blades. Prefer this wif the newer coating formula. Most other 135s if U need wider tha f/2.8 will be quite big and heavy anyway...

True, that's why I thought f2.5 is good enough.

I was looking at the Elmerit 135 f2.8, and they are rather afforable (no love from the Leica users I suppose), but not sure if it performs better than the Pentax and whether the viewfinder can be removed.

True, that's why I thought f2.5 is good enough. I was looking at the Elmerit 135 f2.8, and they are rather afforable (no love from the Leica users I suppose), but not sure if it performs better than the Pentax and whether the viewfinder can be removed.

Go try n do some test shots bro. U can find my Flickr links n compare to my smc k 135/2.5 shots.

True, that's why I thought f2.5 is good enough.

I was looking at the Elmerit 135 f2.8, and they are rather afforable (no love from the Leica users I suppose), but not sure if it performs better than the Pentax and whether the viewfinder can be removed.

I have the 135 Elmarit this lens it good sharp wide open also. Sample shot taken below I seldom use this as I am enjoying the 35 and 50mm focal lengths now

11772701615_25f4706c1e_b.jpg

11772952683_d517f4c1d7_b.jpg

lens is slightly heavy but ok

Go try n do some test shots bro. U can find my Flickr links n compare to my smc k 135/2.5 shots.

lol… Hong Kongers are not very obliging to let you try things out if you don’t have any intention to buy.

Look look see see ok… but not to mount it on your camera… After kena given the black face treatment...

I have the 135 Elmarit this lens it good sharp wide open also. Sample shot taken below I seldom use this as I am enjoying the 35 and 50mm focal lengths now

lens is slightly heavy but ok

Looks pretty good… Question.. the viewfinder can be removed right? Makes no sense if it can’t.

Sometimes a 135mm is good for street use, it is less likely to arouse the attention of the subject and trigger the “wtf” stares...

I will go look for some good copies.. hehe...

Looks pretty good… Question.. the viewfinder can be removed right? Makes no sense if it can’t.

Sometimes a 135mm is good for street use, it is less likely to arouse the attention of the subject and trigger the “wtf” stares...

I will go look for some good copies.. hehe...

there are 135mm without the viewfinder else you can just unscrew it

What do you ppl think of the Pentax Takumar SMC 135mm f2.5 M42 mount. I found a very mint copy for 900 HKD.

There are 2 versions of this lens.
They look exactly the same.
To tell the difference, look below the switch on the lens.
If it ends with '1' its a version one lens.
If it ends with '2' its a version two lens.

The SMC 'K' version that Thoth has is the same as the version 2 lens. (ie. the K mount version of it)

I have all 3, and personally, I find that the version 1 has a more gentle rendering, a bit less warm in color and little less contrast.
However, I do find it to be a very nice lens and often prefer this style over the punchier ver 2 (bolder drawing style; more contrast).

Ver1

20130501-IMG_0119Canon EOS 5D by jenkwang, on Flickr

20130501-IMG_0149Canon EOS 5D by jenkwang, on Flickr

Ver2

20130519-IMG_0101Canon EOS 5D-1 by jenkwang, on Flickr

20130519-IMG_0097Canon EOS 5D-1 by jenkwang, on Flickr

At about $180, I suspect its ver 1, but even that is a good price.

Edit :
There is a 135mm named as "K mount Takumar 135 f2.5" and you need to be a bit wary of this one. (ie. its not the SMC K135/2.5)
This was a low end lens that was made in later years using the Takumar name and is often considered the worst of the Pentax 135mm
Not that its totally bad, but the rest are considered better.

Wah. You selling off your precious CV15 to fund 55FE or upgrade your A7 to A7R?

A7 cannot maximise potential of the 55FE....

Does Sony have the lens adapter redemption offer for SG like Australia?

Don't think so. The Sonystyle Stores don't even carry third party adapters, and they only have their own Sony LA-EA4 for their A lenses.

Some of the "non-Sonystyle" reputable camera shops such as Cathay do carry adapters like Voigtlander, but have not heard about lens adapter redemption offer.

Does Sony have the lens adapter redemption offer for SG like Australia?

How about the F4 24-70?
Is it coming out in Jan for SG?

There are 2 versions of this lens. They look exactly the same. To tell the difference, look below the switch on the lens. If it ends with '1' its a version one lens. If it ends with '2' its a version two lens. The SMC 'K' version that Thoth has is the same as the version 2 lens. (ie. the K mount version of it) I have all 3, and personally, I find that the version 1 has a more gentle rendering, a bit less warm in color and little less contrast. However, I do find it to be a very nice lens and often prefer this style over the punchier ver 2 (bolder drawing style; more contrast). Ver1 http://www.flickr.com/photos/29329237@N07/8701181479/ 20130501-IMG_0119Canon EOS 5D by , on Flickr At about $180, I suspect its ver 1, but even that is a good price. Edit : There is a 135mm named as "K mount Takumar 135 f2.5" and you need to be a bit wary of this one. (ie. its not the SMC K135/2.5) This was a low end lens that was made in later years using the Takumar name and is often considered the worst of the Pentax 135mm Not that its totally bad, but the rest are considered better.

LKY look very bold and punchy leh... Lol...

Maybe I will take a picture of it and post it here... I am not familiar with Pentax lenses... Hehe...

Don't think so. The Sonystyle Stores don't even carry third party adapters, and they only have their own Sony LA-EA4 for their A lenses.

Some of the "non-Sonystyle" reputable camera shops such as Cathay do carry adapters like Voigtlander, but have not heard about lens adapter redemption offer.

Sony Store carries the metabones M, F and EF to E-Mount adaptors. At least i know that their Wisma Atria branch has

Can anyone kindly share how much cheaper it is to buy Barton straps in HK? If ebay is slightly more expensive,then i'll buy on ebay instead of making a trip to the dealers in HK.

Thank you! :)

Don’t know… never into leather straps especially with the hot humid weather during summer in HK (for once I apprciate Singapore milder sunshine).

Have to go IFC or their store in Central to have a look…. if I have permission from the missus.

lol… Hong Kongers are not very obliging to let you try things out if you don’t have any intention to buy. Look look see see ok… but not to mount it on your camera… After kena given the black face treatment...

Haha. But u do haf intention to buy no?

Wah. You selling off your precious CV15 to fund 55FE or upgrade your A7 to A7R? A7 cannot maximise potential of the 55FE....

Haha. Not upgrading to A7R. FE 55 is on d way. I usually sell of stuff I dun use much. I'm not a hoarder. I prefer to stick to d discipline of keeping useful lenses which I can utilize for different kind of shooting. CV 15 will not b used on my A7 so might as well let others have it. Cheers.

LKY look very bold and punchy leh... Lol... Maybe I will take a picture of it and post it here... I am not familiar with Pentax lenses... Hehe...

Depends on which type of rendering u prefer? I've also post some shots from my SMC K 135/2.5 in d image sharing thread. Keke

FE 55 is a good one.

You got news when this is coming to Singapore, or are you getting from overseas?

Haha. Not upgrading to A7R. FE 55 is on d way. I usually sell of stuff I dun use much. I'm not a hoarder. I prefer to stick to d discipline of keeping useful lenses which I can utilize for different kind of shooting. CV 15 will not b used on my A7 so might as well let others have it. Cheers.