Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread (Season II)

Sony SG knows there will be buyers holding out to buy the SG local set due to the warranty issue... I wun be suprised for those bought in HK, Korea or Japan, if something happened to their FE 55 and die die have to bring to Sony SG, we will be charged a premium over the usual servicing charges... LOL

But sony offer international warranty am, but must convert at the country of purchase la.

MO to Malaysia sounds good, can Makan also haha but I only lowyat and. That's probably the last place to buy camera lol

I got the mailer too but being first to own at rrp not very steady leh T_T

MO to Malaysia sounds good, can Makan also haha but I only lowyat and. That's probably the last place to buy camera lol

anyone any idea if JB got Sony store or not?

Haha normally street price savings can get u a nice b+w filter..anyway mid feb CNY over le..

Wait Kenna fly aeroplane again, like those pre-order their A7 - those placed their order at Sony Stores didn't get their stocks few days after the usual stores like MScolor started selling.

Some more paid full RRP for pre-order, and if slower than the usual shops (they may sell slightly below RRP like 35FE), lagi tui man.

Wait Kenna fly aeroplane again, like those pre-order their A7 - those placed their order at Sony Stores didn't get their stocks few days after the usual stores like MScolor started selling.

Some more paid full RRP for pre-order, and if slower than the usual shops (they may sell slightly below RRP like 35FE), lagi tui man.

Now more rrp 1st batch liao, waiting at BNS =)

KNN...that's Sony delaying the release to go after our Ang Pow money :angry:

Sony is doing business... of cos want your money... and love... lol... :bsmilie:

May that was years ago give you toyish feel, now perhaps better. For sony lens, once is sony zeiss lens confirm good QC liao, normal sony lens not bad also

I guess so... quite a few years maybe... I went to hold a A7 today... feeling was ok.. like the compact size.... the EVF is cool....

Considering very deeply about switching.... :think:

Can someone help me with the mount questions... Nex are E mount, and I know have A mount the Alpha.....

FE is for E mount, and FE is for full frame...

How to know if A mount is FF or not?

Can A7 us A mount lens?

I guess so... quite a few years maybe... I went to hold a A7 today... feeling was ok.. like the compact size.... the EVF is cool.... Considering very deeply about switching.... :think: Can someone help me with the mount questions... Nex are E mount, and I know have A mount the Alpha..... FE is for E mount, and FE is for full frame... How to know if A mount is FF or not? Can A7 us A mount lens?

Yes A7 can mount alpha lenses. For fullframe alpha lenses, you can use the la-ea4 adapter that gives you pdaf af on the alpha lenses. The fullframe alpha lenses are quite easy to recognize by their focal length equivalent. All Sony Carl zeiss lenses are fullframe with the exception of the 16-80 which is an Apsc lens for the a700 body.
All the older minolta AF lenses are fullframe as well.

The sony g lenses are fullframe too. For the non g lenses , some of them are fullframe , for example , the 28-75 and 50mm 1.4. For the avoidance of doubt, you can go to Sony website to confirm the lens format.

Hope that helps

Yes A7 can mount alpha lenses. For fullframe alpha lenses, you can use the la-ea4 adapter that gives you pdaf af on the alpha lenses. The fullframe alpha lenses are quite easy to recognize by their focal length equivalent. All Sony Carl zeiss lenses are fullframe with the exception of the 16-80 which is an Apsc lens for the a700 body.
All the older minolta AF lenses are fullframe as well.

The sony g lenses are fullframe too. For the non g lenses , some of them are fullframe , for example , the 28-75 and 50mm 1.4. For the avoidance of doubt, you can go to Sony website to confirm the lens format.

Hope that helps

Hi Bro

Thanks for taking your time to help me with the mount questions....

Hope I get it right. To use Alpha A mount FF lenses, you need a la-ea4 adapter for it to use on FE mount?

Does the E mount need adapter? The other E mount are all APSC right? So the picture will have some circle due to the lenses?

Main reason I am keen in Sony is due to Zeiss... sigh... "Zeiss biten, always Zeiss"....

Ok.. so Sony does not have like Canon, EF-S and EF to differentiate the FF from APSC? This is a bit confusing, but I can try to read more on it.

Once again, thanks bro....

Hi all!

Since we're at the topic of mounts, would like to ask if KM mount is useable on a7? If yesh, what are the limitations? I'm abit confused and Google didn't help much.

Thanks in advance! =)

Hi Bro

Thanks for taking your time to help me with the mount questions....

Hope I get it right. To use Alpha A mount FF lenses, you need a la-ea4 adapter for it to use on FE mount?

Does the E mount need adapter? The other E mount are all APSC right? So the picture will have some circle due to the lenses?

Main reason I am keen in Sony is due to Zeiss... sigh... "Zeiss biten, always Zeiss"....

Ok.. so Sony does not have like Canon, EF-S and EF to differentiate the FF from APSC? This is a bit confusing, but I can try to read more on it.

Once again, thanks bro....

Hi all!

Since we're at the topic of mounts, would like to ask if KM mount is useable on a7? If yesh, what are the limitations? I'm abit confused and Google didn't help much.

Thanks in advance! =)

Sony has two main kinds of interchangeable lens camera system, the DSLR/T which uses the A mount, and the mirrorless NEX/A7(r) which uses the E mount, similar to canon EF mount for DSLRs and the EOS M mount for its mirrorless cameras.

For DSLR, canon crop lenses are called EF-S and uses the same mount as full frame EF lenses. For nikon, crop lenses are designated as DX. For Sony A mount, crop lenses are designated as DX (no unique name for Full frame lenses) . For sony mirrorless E mount, crop lenses have no special designation, but Full frame E mount lenses are designated "FE"

KM mount is the mount used by minolta DSLRs before they were bought by Sony, and is the exact same mount as A mount. So to use KM (or A) mount lenses on a7, which is an E mount mirrorless cameras, u will need the laea3 or laea4 adapter. Laea4 allows full AF and electronic control of the adapted lenses, but laea3 may not allow u to AF most of the older lenses with SAM or SSM motor.

Sony has two main kinds of interchangeable lens camera system, the DSLR/T which uses the A mount, and the mirrorless NEX/A7(r) which uses the E mount, similar to canon EF mount for DSLRs and the EOS M mount for its mirrorless cameras.

For DSLR, canon crop lenses are called EF-S and uses the same mount as full frame EF lenses. For nikon, crop lenses are designated as DX. For Sony A mount, crop lenses are designated as DX (no unique name for Full frame lenses) . For sony mirrorless E mount, crop lenses have no special designation, but Full frame E mount lenses are designated "FE"

KM mount is the mount used by minolta DSLRs before they were bought by Sony, and is the exact same mount as A mount. So to use KM (or A) mount lenses on a7, which is an E mount mirrorless cameras, u will need the laea3 or laea4 adapter. Laea4 allows full AF and electronic control of the adapted lenses, but laea3 may not allow u to AF most of the older lenses with SAM or SSM motor.

For Sony A-mount, the APS-C lenses are marked DT. The Full Frame lenses bear no marking, except the Zeiss lenses with FA

The E-mount APS-C lenses have no special term for them, but the Full Frame E-mount lenses are marked FE

For Sony A-mount, the APS-C lenses are marked DT. The Full Frame lenses bear no marking, except the Zeiss lenses with FA The E-mount APS-C lenses have no special term for them, but the Full Frame E-mount lenses are marked FE

Zeiss lens for alpha is marked as ZA..

Wow... Malaysia set has tourist warranty too, and even if without, it is still easier to bring down for servicing if needed. Anyone going to get over the weekends or early next week?

Have.. Go sony.com.my and look for store location at jb area. Quite a few.

Haha... if you are eyeing for the 55FE, not going to be the first to own, as many of us already using it for a while.

Some got it from Japan, some from Korea and some from HK.

As for the 24-70, good chance to see many hiadees here buying directly from other countries too, since SG is going to be the last few countries to get stocks? And you probably pay less if buying from other countries (still with international warranty).