OFFICIAL: CANON EOS 5D Mark III - User Thread - Part 3

24 April 2012 (Updated)

Support
When shooting with a lens attached, this phenomenon might not significantly affect the shooting results. However service will be provided to customers upon request from May 17 to address this issue. Please contact your nearest service center if you have any queries.

source :Canon in South & Southeast Asia

I'm waiting to see what "fix" they will do and wait for experiences from others before i will send mine in..mine is the XXXXX1XXXX model so it's first batch. If the fix isn't worth taking the camera apart in a non-cleanroom enviroment by CSC, then i won't do it….

What I mean is if you have other lenses, you can get the body first n shoot first. Then get the 24-70 mk2 when it's out.
Edited my original post to u after reading it again :) anyway further to my addendum, most of my previous lenses were cropped lenses and have since sold it off, now only left with 70-200 and the 50 1.8 which i dont particularly like. So definitely need to get a 24-70, be it mk1 or 2.

spinworkxroy said:
Yes but people who are aiming a 24-70 will most likely aim for the one with the best built no? Tamrons aren't known for build quality because they're not as expensive.
And you won't have the CA lens correction available natively in the camera if you use a non-Canon lens…IF this is a feature you want of course.
I don't know..i've always found the 24-70 as a "high end" model and people that want to buy it won't care about the price..people who do care about price will get the 24-105 instead :) that's just how i see it

Er, in which case 24-105mm owners might be tempted to 'upgrade' to this tamron if the IQ is close to the canon version?

spinworkxroy said:
I'm waiting to see what "fix" they will do and wait for experiences from others before i will send mine in..mine is the XXXXX1XXXX model so it's first batch. If the fix isn't worth taking the camera apart in a non-cleanroom enviroment by CSC, then i won't do it….

Same here.

Er, in which case 24-105mm owners might be tempted to 'upgrade' to this tamron if the IQ is close to the canon version?

Maybe..maybe not..the tamron is after all going to be about $1500 and up..which is not cheap by any means of owners of the 24-105…
Besides, with the mk3, the f2.8 and f4 doesn't really matter much if you don't need the DOF and well..people like me still want the red ring haha..for psychological reasons. will have to wait and see the tammy when it gets launched lah..nothing like the real thing review before making any decisions…i own 2 tamron lenses and i kinda know what to expect when using one..it's not the same "expectation" as using an L

spinworkxroy said:
Maybe..maybe not..the tamron is after all going to be about $1500 and up..which is not cheap by any means of owners of the 24-105…
Besides, with the mk3, the f2.8 and f4 doesn't really matter much if you don't need the DOF and well..people like me still want the red ring haha..for psychological reasons. will have to wait and see the tammy when it gets launched lah..nothing like the real thing review before making any decisions…i own 2 tamron lenses and i kinda know what to expect when using one..it's not the same "expectation" as using an L

I don't know how much the tamron will sell for, but it will only make sense if the price difference is a few hundred bucks and the IQ is close to at least the mk1. VC for me is second priority.

The new DLO feature in DPP is also a big plus in favor of using the canon version.

Wait and see lor... I was going to get 24-70L but now i wait and see how the whole picture come out in the end

Who knows market 24-70 market saturation after the mkII come out. 2nd hand price might drop...

Looks good. Image quality probably wont match the 24-70 II but for the price and IS, I can live with it.

+1. In the past, I will be worried about AF calibration. Since Canon has fixed the zoom calibration shortcoming, this lens is worth a second look. Still looking for a decent ultrawide though...

esoeij said:
Not sure why you must buy body n 24-70 mk2 together? Is that going to be yr only lens?

If he need 24-70mm,then I think buying both as a kit set should be cheaper isn't it?

ME Photo said:
Yes,$4k for this kind of specs and performance would say is value for money.
Nothing much to complain about.

Agreed. U are getting a slower fps 1DX for $4k+. That cheap !

hammie said:
July `~~~~
Tamron 24-70 with VC also coming out
got fight liao

I do not have confident in tamron lens especially in their focusing technology.
Anyway, iq is more important than IS ... Unless u are shooting video.

Canon 24-70 mk2 .... New King of FF standard zoom.

Hmm.. Have you guys considered sigma 24-70mm ?

If he need 24-70mm,then I think buying both as a kit set should be cheaper isn't it?
There's no kit set with the 24-70mm lens :)

Can I know is anyone upgraded their version to 1.1.2 ?????

Upgraded already..other than a number change, nothing else changed for me :)
I believe all the fixes in this firmware didn't affect me in the first place and no..they didn't include additional 14MP to make it 36MP haha..

spinworkxroy said:
Upgraded already..other than a number change, nothing else changed for me :)
I believe all the fixes in this firmware didn't affect me in the first place and no..they didn't include additional 14MP to make it 36MP haha..

Oh, how to upgrade the firmware? Connect the cam with the pc and download the firmware? Thanks