Offically a Minoltian

check for me if got CD-1000 anot... i buying that for fun... i forget where i misplace another FS-1100... i think i left 1 of it nia...

anyway, if u install M screen, need to calibrate the camera, else your metering will go haywire... just to let u know...
oh... but i thought M screen is the same as the default one in the camera?
can help me ask also if they hv eyepiece cup for 7D and the angle finder VN?

check for me if got CD-1000 anot... i buying that for fun... i forget where i misplace another FS-1100... i think i left 1 of it nia...

anyway, if u install M screen, need to calibrate the camera, else your metering will go haywire... just to let u know...

having prelims now. i think i would be going during teachers day celebrations. cos 31 aug also the opening day of comex show. going to double BB.:)

so calibration is done by ourselves or sony technicians? if so, i guess that's where your extra 55 dollars come in, service charge.:(

satay16 said:
having prelims now. i think i would be going during teachers day celebrations. cos 31 aug also the opening day of comex show. going to double BB.:)

so calibration is done by ourselves or sony technicians? if so, i guess that's where your extra 55 dollars come in, service charge.:(

L screen also 60 lor, but i dunno what they do lah...

if only dynax 5d could have the ML screen...sigh.

dr34mc4st3r said:
if only dynax 5d could have the ML screen...sigh.

get the split screen lor...

anyway, A100 also dun have hor, hmm... heng never buy...

get the split screen lor...

anyway, A100 also dun have hor, hmm... heng never buy...
no grid leh. i wan the grid. haha

satay16 said:
not really. only knowledge i got was a small little lecture i got last time from you:bsmilie: . last time i remember have someone selling those screen in B&S. is it this? http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=203351&highlight=screen

Those screens are meant for manual focus lenses... the matt part will screen out the image while the clear part allows u to focus on the subject. As u turn the focus ring, the image will sharpen and the effect of the 'infocus' look will be enhanced making it easier to find out if the image is in focus.

As for your focussing problem... I think in that pic u posted, the girl is the target right? The problem here is that the 7D's AF is not very good nor clever. The centre focus sensor (that centre box in your viewfinder) does not represent the sensor actually... if u take a good look at your manual, u will find that the actual sensor physically occupies only a portion of the centre focus spot in the viewfinder... under poor lighting, the sensor may get fooled and goes for the highest contrast object available (or what it deems to be highest contrast)... that's probably why the focus is always wrong...

On the other hand, it might be a calibration problem with your AF sensors - it's reading the lens wrongly... u can try with another similar scene but in daylight and see if the same thing occurs...

If u want to test, can try moving the subject closer to u while u keep the same background perspective.

Actually I heard it's not only KM camera got problem with focus with wide angle lens, most other brands also do seem to have this problem.

That's why I remember Sulhan recommend a technique, for ~18mm focal length shot, manually set the focusing to 1~2m, stop down to f/8, most shots will turn out sharp (because of Hyperfocal focusing?).

TME said:
Those screens are meant for manual focus lenses... the matt part will screen out the image while the clear part allows u to focus on the subject. As u turn the focus ring, the image will sharpen and the effect of the 'infocus' look will be enhanced making it easier to find out if the image is in focus.

As for your focussing problem... I think in that pic u posted, the girl is the target right? The problem here is that the 7D's AF is not very good nor clever. The centre focus sensor (that centre box in your viewfinder) does not represent the sensor actually... if u take a good look at your manual, u will find that the actual sensor physically occupies only a portion of the centre focus spot in the viewfinder... under poor lighting, the sensor may get fooled and goes for the highest contrast object available (or what it deems to be highest contrast)... that's probably why the focus is always wrong...

On the other hand, it might be a calibration problem with your AF sensors - it's reading the lens wrongly... u can try with another similar scene but in daylight and see if the same thing occurs...

If u want to test, can try moving the subject closer to u while u keep the same background perspective.

OH MY!!! you are right! i found this in a ebook of 7D by Gary L. friedman:"But these red lines can be a little misleading, as shown in a recent article in Popular Photography. They
did some tests and discovered that the center focusing sensor was a lot larger than the tiny square would suggest (see the blue lines in Figure 2-14b); and that the other sensors were a little off in alignment. A very handy thing to know if you’re doing some spot-focusing in a cluttered environment!//

ahhhhh....... now i get it!!!! thanks!! finally, an irritating puzzle get solved:cheergal:

TME said:

oh! its just like those focusing screen in the old camera my dad is using, the before a-mount type era kind of camera

satay16 said:
OH MY!!! you are right! i found this in a ebook of 7D by Gary L. friedman:"But these red lines can be a little misleading, as shown in a recent article in Popular Photography. They
did some tests and discovered that the center focusing sensor was a lot larger than the tiny square would suggest (see the blue lines in Figure 2-14b); and that the other sensors were a little off in alignment. A very handy thing to know if you’re doing some spot-focusing in a cluttered environment!//

ahhhhh....... now i get it!!!! thanks!! finally, an irritating puzzle get solved:cheergal:
u got the ebook?

I have the e-book. Note that there are some errors with regards to the flash system which Friedman updated later. Make sure u lay your hands on a copy that has been updated. If' u're a newbie to SLRs and the 7D in particular, then it's an excellent book... otherwise, u would be better served by asking questions in this forum... sulhan and others take a bow.... ;)

TME said:
I have the e-book. Note that there are some errors with regards to the flash system which Friedman updated later. Make sure u lay your hands on a copy that has been updated. If' u're a newbie to SLRs and the 7D in particular, then it's an excellent book... otherwise, u would be better served by asking questions in this forum... sulhan and others take a bow.... ;)

something new to me :o where can i get hold of a copy of this 'ebook'?:think:

hehe, you every few days dun kena flame one time you not happy issit?

nice of you to want to share lah, but don't make cs admins' life difficult by openly offering to pirate can? :angel:

pai said:

nice of you to want to share lah, but don't make cs admins' life difficult by openly offering to pirate can? :angel:

kk:angel:

pai said:

i think he really kiam deregistering... should report him liao... :bsmilie:

sry, i thought it was a good move to share the ebook.:cry:

satay16 said:
sry, i thought it was a good move to share the ebook.:cry:

u can always pm ppl who are interested
i dun mind u pm me... :bsmilie: