[Numnumball] This is for u, dear, my wife, my

Set 4 : Sharing some "rush" casual shots taken yesterday at a park near us.

Feel free to leave me a line or two for comments and critiques so i can improve further..

Shot with D700/AFD135DCF2 with 1 heavy duty light stand and ezybox (softbox) with SB900 shot off camera -right/left fill =D

Cheerios!

Have a great sunday guys!!!

4631163776_dd388a714f_b.jpg

4631155818_dc0a5cb38f_b.jpg

Do add notes for the defocus settings (if any).

Bro, from page 1 to page 5 your pic definitely improving, sharpness and colours.

Btw, when i tried your 135 at F2 wide open, the sharpness of this lens is ok ok only, for Jpeg, and can see abit of CA even with the 5mins of trying out your lens, I thought it was way sharper for this pro price of a lens. I have not tried it with RAW yet, should be rather sharp after raw. The real sharpess came when i tried at 2.8, but again as i mentioned, shooting raw at F2 should not have much sharpness - lacking problem.

Thanks for lending me try out your lens that day.

Bro, from page 1 to page 5 your pic definitely improving, sharpness and colours.

Btw, when i tried your 135 at F2 wide open, the sharpness of this lens is ok ok only, for Jpeg, and can see abit of CA even with the 5mins of trying out your lens, I thought it was way sharper for this pro price of a lens. I have not tried it with RAW yet, should be rather sharp after raw. The real sharpess came when i tried at 2.8, but again as i mentioned, shooting raw at F2 should not have much sharpness - lacking problem.

Thanks for lending me try out your lens that day.

Hay thanks Bro for dropping by..
No problem, i saw a brand new copy at Marina Square Cathay yesterday, u might want to consider getting that with ur prize money :devil:

For me, i perceive it to be rather sharp for a telephoto wide open and CA issue i dun realy find it to be really serious (at least in this 2 departments is better than my 85f1.4)

Could it be due to ur shutter duration used during ur test shots at f/2 that failed to minimize handshake?

Nonetheless, for me i am a happy owner of this lens for the price i paid for it used..:lovegrin:

imo, the DOF is too thin at f/2 for any casual testing. It doesn't help that the AF isn't as good as the newer lenses either. I had quite a big headache with the lens because of it's "lack of sharpness" when I bought it but after I learnt to use it better...

As for CA, I don't see any unless I go into strong defocus.

Can totally understand why Numnumball likes his 135/2DC so much too. ;)

Bro, this new series is :thumbsup:

I thought the posing could be better though (#26 is good). But I do understand shooting wife is much different.... :embrass:

Indeed your new series is a lot better, excellent bro :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

haha the test was really a quick 1 so thats what i feel. I did get sharp shot with your lens, havent really got the chance to fully utilise the DC yet, . Cause if compare to the 50 1.4 AFD, abit softer wide open. But maybe its still a sharp lens.

I really do want to try out the 135mm F2 lens completely to be sure this will be part of my investment for my future functions, i dont like the 70-200 2.8 lenses, not fast enough.

Maybe You follow me out with my friend then we go test it on her ? Private shoot. Must ask u first if your wife allow u shoot other young girls. :bheart:

Then i let u try my "Other half" for the shoot, hehe dont kena poison.
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=682304

imo, the DOF is too thin at f/2 for any casual testing. It doesn't help that the AF isn't as good as the newer lenses either. I had quite a big headache with the lens because of it's "lack of sharpness" when I bought it but after I learnt to use it better...

As for CA, I don't see any unless I go into strong defocus.

Can totally understand why Numnumball likes his 135/2DC so much too. ;)

Yup, Agreed. But the Shallow dof is much easier to content me compared to the 85 @ f1.4 :sweat:

AF to me is more than decent, i find it to be as fast as the 85 (ok,if ur intend to nit-pick, maybe somewhat slower tahn 85mm by 1/1,000s maybe?? .. lolz)

Sharpness to me is very good wide open liao.. But as all of us know, most won't buy this lens becasue of its sharpness but "sth else" which is pretty obvious lar.. Hee..

CAs wise.. funny till present, i dunt see any.. :think:

Its my most used lens on weekends for the past 3 weeks.. :lovegrin:

Bro, this new series is :thumbsup:

I thought the posing could be better though (#26 is good). But I do understand shooting wife is much different.... :embrass:

Tua eh...

Gum xia ni zuay zuay for ur support.. :lovegrin:
Seriously lar.. think need lotsa improvement as my wife still feeling a little uneasy in front of the cam (afterall she's has little experience in modelling leh) and me as the photographer still fell short of being pro enough to pose her.. Still experimenting.. and learning from others and via many sources (WWW, Books etc. ) Will need to imrpove.. and will strive in doing so..

And cant tell u how much i agree with u " Shooitng Wife is Not Easy" :bsmilie:

P.S. U had no idea how many times she scream at me during the shoot "Lidat can not~!!?" :sweatsm:

bro I discovered this thread so late... paiseh... :embrass:

Good job, especially with the last set of pics! Can see the colours coming out more, and your wife looks more relaxed now in front of the camera.
Agree with DD123 that it's a different experience photographing a loved one compared to a paid model shoot.

On my monitor, the colour balance is slightly different in some. For example, in #26 the yellow and red are not so strong. Photo looks a bit desaturated compared with the rest. On its own it looks fine. As a series the consistency is 90% there but not 100%.

haha the test was really a quick 1 so thats what i feel. I did get sharp shot with your lens, havent really got the chance to fully utilise the DC yet, . Cause if compare to the 50 1.4 AFD, abit softer wide open. But maybe its still a sharp lens.

I really do want to try out the 135mm F2 lens completely to be sure this will be part of my investment for my future functions, i dont like the 70-200 2.8 lenses, not fast enough.

Maybe You follow me out with my friend then we go test it on her ? Private shoot. Must ask u first if your wife allow u shoot other young girls. :bheart:

Then i let u try my "Other half" for the shoot, hehe dont kena poison.
http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=682304

Bro, i m in for the idea.. but lets do it discreetly kk..

Think my wife dun like the idea of me shooting XMM.. :sweatsm::sweatsm:

Will contact u again to arrange the time and place .. hee... :)

I want to molest ur 8K lens :lovegrin:

bro I discovered this thread so late... paiseh... :embrass:

Good job, especially with the last set of pics! Can see the colours coming out more, and your wife looks more relaxed now in front of the camera.
Agree with DD123 that it's a different experience photographing a loved one compared to a paid model shoot.

On my monitor, the colour balance is slightly different in some. For example, in #26 the yellow and red are not so strong. Photo looks a bit desaturated compared with the rest. On its own it looks fine. As a series the consistency is 90% there but not 100%.

Bro, its never too late to drop by.. Thanks!!!
Yah, when u 'r married u will know.. :sweatsm:

Oh, i calibrated my monitor for consistency liao leh.. hmm.. :think:
Thanks for pointing out.. WIll check my settings again.. for pic 26.. hee.. :)

Tua eh...

Gum xia ni zuay zuay for ur support.. :lovegrin:
Seriously lar.. think need lotsa improvement as my wife still feeling a little uneasy in front of the cam (afterall she's has little experience in modelling leh) and me as the photographer still fell short of being pro enough to pose her.. Still experimenting.. and learning from others and via many sources (WWW, Books etc. ) Will need to imrpove.. and will strive in doing so..

And cant tell u how much i agree with u " Shooitng Wife is Not Easy" :bsmilie:

P.S. U had no idea how many times she scream at me during the shoot "Lidat can not~!!?" :sweatsm:

Ya bro, only married men like us understand the pain of photographing our wives.

Hi bro let me do some C&C on # 28 after reading so many C&C hahaha

your bokeh & sharpness nothing to comment liao...

here come the BADsss...

fingers & elbow cut off is a NO NO...

wrong don't shoot me... :cheers: