Nissin Di866 Problems

I think this flash work best with NiMH batteries (rechargeable batts).

Indeed. It was highlighted by one of the staffs at Schmidt Marketing while I was there to have my Di866 unit replaced due to a LCD fault.

I just faced a overheating issue with this flash today... i was using manual flash with 1/128, and thinking that it was the lowest power i wonder how come i still have the overheating problem. anyone facing same problem? intending to bring down service centre to check... my lcd also have an extra line on the right side when it is turn on. not sure whether it was previously there but it is definitely not normal to have that line.

Wow. Overheating at 1/128. :o Did you use continuous shooting on it? And the LCD... I feel you man. I also just discovered last night that my LED pilot light start its stupid blinking again and my flash won't turn on. But this morning, my flash is working fine. Haizz. I should have brought it back to the shop the first time. Bought it last Wed. Hope the shop can still change for me. Where's the service centre anyway?

There seems to be a lot of problems here with Di866. I am NOT trying to make this flash look bad or anything. The problems we're facing could be just normal and it may happen to any other brand of flashes. I am new to flash photography so I wouldn't know. I've read a lot of good reviews about this flash and thats the reason why I got it in the first place.

But the frustation I'm having here is, not knowing when my flash will work/won't work. Like I said, I should have bring it back to the shop the very first time but I just couldn't squeeze my time in between to go back there the last few days. Hope they'll still change it for me though.

I believe this is one of the many reasons why photogs invest a lot of their money on expensive camera equipments. Reliability.

Anyway, sorry for the long blabbering. :sweat: Just venting my frustrations here coz my gf just won't listen to it. :bsmilie: But whatever it is, Di866 cheated my feelings. :sticktong

:think: I didn't have any overheating issue when I was using it for shoots. Did you use it for continuous flashes or just 1 at a time?

If in doubt, drop by the service centre at E-Centre (Red Hill). Their technicians are a helpful bunch of dudes. ;)

not quite sure the problem too... i was shooting two days ago for the whole day with greater power and did not face the overheating issue. so i am thinking might be problem with the battery...

no continuous shoot... 1/128 each shot at least 5 seconds apart or longer for me to view the photo and adjust the aperture/shutter.

will bring it down for a check since under warranty and hopefully they can fix it for me.

Damn sian. I buy the flash on Sunday afternoon because I am going to hospital tonight. Baby coming! I tried the flash with my Canon 500D for a while, then tried high speed mode. Took 2 shots. Then tried to use my 500D to 'trigger' the flash optically. I am noob enthusiast so I am just trying out things.

Then I also tested the subflash. All along I was using energizer batts coz I don't have enough time to charge rechargeable batteries.

I packed new energizer batts when I came to the hospital. TO my shock, the ****ing 866 flash stopped working. The LCD, subflash are working but the main flash light never flashes no matter what. I changed 2 more packs of energizer batts to no avail. Sibei sian. Bought from SLRR this afternoon. Can I bring back the unit to swap or do I need to go to redhill?

****ing sad. Buy the item for the big day of firstborn child and the stupid thing stop working. :(

I tried resetting camera and flash also but still no go. :(

SAD:thumbsd:

Damn sian. I buy the flash on Sunday afternoon because I am going to hospital tonight. Baby coming! I tried the flash with my Canon 500D for a while, then tried high speed mode. Took 2 shots. Then tried to use my 500D to 'trigger' the flash optically. I am noob enthusiast so I am just trying out things.

Then I also tested the subflash. All along I was using energizer batts coz I don't have enough time to charge rechargeable batteries.

I packed new energizer batts when I came to the hospital. TO my shock, the ****ing 866 flash stopped working. The LCD, subflash are working but the main flash light never flashes no matter what. I changed 2 more packs of energizer batts to no avail. Sibei sian. Bought from SLRR this afternoon. Can I bring back the unit to swap or do I need to go to redhill?

****ing sad. Buy the item for the big day of firstborn child and the stupid thing stop working. :(

Definitely a bad copy. Bring it back to the shop as soon as possible. Don't be like me. Wait and wait end up sending it to the service centre. What will happen (In my experience).

1) At the shop: Flash not working. - They might replace it with new one on the spot. (Provided its within 1 - 3 days)
2) At the shop: Flash working. - They will call Scmidt Marketing guy to come down and collect your flash. They will call you within few days (excluding sun)
3) Send to service centre personally - They will still retain your flash and call you within few days. They will decide to replace a new one or repair it.

Call them before you go down (Both shop and service centre). Make sure to take down their names.

Warranty card at home. Going to stay here for a few days for baby so... :(

Bopian, have to bring to service center liao lor.

I will just tell myself that I feel less sian because I didn't buy a 580EX that buang on day 1 because of QC fault. Haha..

ow, definitely sad to hear that. I am facing the problem of battery with this flash as well... tried using a few nights ago and the flash lcd seems to be corrupted. meaning when i go into TTL, all the settings is messed up and there's no "0.0" thing that u will see on TTL mode...

after changing new set of batt, restarting a few times both camera n flash then the screen go back to normal. lost lots of precious timing in that period...

btw all nissin flash got no battery indicator right?

Warranty card at home. Going to stay here for a few days for baby so... :( ... QUOTE]

Darkemperor, 1st thing, CONGRATS on your baby!! :) Feel for you man, u can't capture the moments with your FLASH! Nyway, the guys at the service centre there quite helpful and friendly. For my case, the guy there was talking about battery compatibility, volt power and stuff but I didn't buy it though. Been 4 days already.

... btw all nissin flash got no battery indicator right?

Wah, your problems troublesome leh. And yes, no batt indicator as far as I remember.

Thanks. Still waiting. Most likely baby coming out tonight so now my wife suffering. I suffer because I can't do much. Only thing I can help is to help her take tissue, call nurse, take water etc. :|

You presence there alone is the most impt for your wife there. Beside the doctors that is ... :) Wish you all the best for your family!

Baby born, pics taken etc. Came back room to rest. Just before sleeping at 2.25am 27 April, I decided to just take out the di866 to try one more time. KNN. This time it worked properly like it is a damn new unit. I am so pissed.... I should have used this when taking my baby pics. I ended up using non-flash because the built in camera flash on 500d will be too harsh on the baby.
GRRR. Maybe it is really the battery. I think I will go get enerloop rechargeables and try again.

But same batts that didn't work yesterday work now. :|

Baby born, pics taken etc. Came back room to rest. Just before sleeping at 2.25am 27 April, I decided to just take out the di866 to try one more time. KNN. This time it worked properly like it is a damn new unit. I am so pissed.... I should have used this when taking my baby pics. I ended up using non-flash because the built in camera flash on 500d will be too harsh on the baby.
GRRR. Maybe it is really the battery. I think I will go get enerloop rechargeables and try again.

A possibility could be temperature, was there a drastic difference between then and now?

compadre...
Its time for you i guess to consider the Built-In Flash Diffuser cap/dome available in www.artworkfoto.com
I get one of this, so i can use my built-in flash with diffuser cap/dome to trigger my flash sb900. i cant tell you right now that its rightful time to consider the my flash, but its all preferential...
Indeed, i was encourage and informed about all your discussions about the Nissin Di866.
Coz in these past week, im considering to buy this Nissin as my slave for my protrait photoshoot, in every customer i have.
Thanks for all your enlightenment.
I might be saving money for another sb900

Salamat:thumbsup:

Congratulations to you and your wife for the new addition to your family. Try not to use flash for new born at least for the first 3 to 6 months. Bump up the ISO would be fine and reduce the speed to about 1/60 should freeze most motion.

Hi guys.

Just to update. I had just collected my Di866 yesterday. (After more than 1 week in service centre @ E-Centre). They ended up exchanging my faulty one to a brand new. Apparently, the service technicians classified my case as "Intermitent problems".

My new Di866 works like charm on both NiMH (rechargeables) and Alkalines batts. I think I was really unlucky to get a faulty Di866 in the first place. :(