Nikon D300 vs Canon 50D

Nikon D300 or Canon 50D

I heard they sprinkle milk powder from China(and only milk powder from China) over the circuit boards to prevent overheating.....

Wow....

new idea there... Due to the melamine content? :bsmilie:

Yes, in fact the higher the content, the better......

i beg to differ. what do you define as a 'whackjob'? it has all the forms and functions to make it a dslr.:nono:

DSLR= Digital Single Lens Reflex.

Let's look at D40...

Digital sensor------------checked.
Lens--------------------checked (yup it's interchangeable)
Reflex mirror-------------checked.
It's a DSLR alright...
Shutter curtain----------checked.
Pentaprism/pentamirror---checked.
Phase-detection AF------checked.
Metering-----------------checked.

Don't see why it's not a DSLR... :dunno:

allow me to explain. (possibility of wrong word choice, i apologize). whackjob here in meaning a function not much better than a prosumer camera but price much higher. or should i say, 'flimsy' build/functions(???) considering the pedigree? i can't be exactly sure, but its the feeling i get when feeling them out. its like something is just not rite with it, but i cant put a finger on it... hard to say lor. whackjob (or some other less offending word choice) is the closest i could offer to describe it. sorry nikon fans.

Nikon D40 is not much more expensive than a high end PnS. Other than being compact and shoot videos, it does everything a PnS would do, only you get more controls.

I think in that case, an EOS 1DSmkIII or a D3 is even more of a whackjob according to your definition. It doesn't do much of what a PnS could do also.

My advice.. stick with a PnS until you know what you want from a DSLR, otherwise, you're just wasting money. :)

Wow....

new idea there... Due to the melamine content? :bsmilie:

All lenses sure fail melamine content test one... :sweat::sweat:

High protein level leh... dun play play... :sweat:

Or can try the Micro 4/3 CLR (Compact Lens Reflex :bsmilie:) range such as the Panasonic G1 at the moment. Can allow you to play with lens and ISO, something critically lacking in PnS

Yikes another one of them "Should i buy Canon or Nikon" questions.

Go and try the cameras out yourself. Go to a reputable shop. Ask them to show you the cameras. Try out a few. You like one you buy. You don't like then ask to see other brands/models.

My advice is that if this is first time you are buying a DSLR, it's probably better for you to buy one of the entry level DSLRs from any of the brands rather than a mid-range/enthusiast level.

PS - i am not voting in this poll.

No. I say buy the one with the most melamine content. For the perfectionists, an easy to use melaminometer is available at all good photograhic equipment retailers.

Besides going down to the shops and get the feel of the systems, you may wanna take a look at their sample pictures (which are easily available at www.dpreview.com). Ultimately you wanna know which DSLR is able to take pics closest to your preference.

Another important factor is budget (unless you dun have one).

no need to compare lah.... each have their own strength & weakness.... just take the one you feel you like better... Its' like choosing a Lamborgini or Ferrari in Singapore, you go for the design you like best more than the performance of the car, it not like you are going to run 280 Kph on Sheares Bridge anyway....

buy your cam, get as many shoots as possible, get good lenses and shoot more... eventually, you decide the output of the image and not the camera.

Or can try the Micro 4/3 CLR (Compact Lens Reflex :bsmilie:) range such as the Panasonic G1 at the moment.

I do not think one can associate G1 with 'lens reflex' 'cos there's nothing to flip. :bsmilie:

I have a new name for it: CIL (compact interchangeable lens).

I see...i must have confused the reflex with shutter :bsmilie:

I vote for 50D + EFS17-55 + 85L which will have immediate advantages over the alternative. FYI, Nikon version of 17-55 do not have IS. And thier 85 f1.4 also not as good as Canon version.

These are the combo I suggested... And they are my favourite :thumbsup:

Just buy both and then sell the one that you don't like. Simple ;)
Else just make up your mind and get one and don't regret in getting
the other. End day it's still up to the person holding the camera to
take the shot anyway.

Haha, and another versus thread this time the Canikon entry level series is out! :bsmilie:

Perhaps the next day we see Nikon D3 vs Canon 1D Mark III and coming November, Nikon D700 vs Canon 5D Mark II :sweatsm:

Haha, and another versus thread this time the Canikon entry level series is out! :bsmilie:

Perhaps the next day we see Nikon D3 vs Canon 1D Mark III and coming November, Nikon D700 vs Canon 5D Mark II :sweatsm:

So common... mebbe we oughta bookmark this thread and remind them. :bsmilie: