NEX 7 or Fuji X-Pro 1

Atarandas said:
Hmm Xpro-1 has better lens line up ? Thought only 3 lens announced. 18 , 35, 60m correct ?

Compare it to the 24mm, 30mm , 50mm, and the widely condemned 16mm . Thats already 4 primes. If you consider the zooms, theres 3 zooms to pick, but I am assuming most people write offs the NEX zooms as shitty lenses without shooting them instantly , thats why most think they doesnt exist. lol

Considering third party lens
Sigma has announced the 30mm 2.8 and 19mm 2.8 for NEX and Tamron has the 18-200m.

Dont think NEX-7 lens lineup lose leh .

Of course to existing Alpha users, which I am , the LEA2 adapter , effectively makes the weak optics lineup issue disappear instantly.

Actually i use all my nikon lense so practically i got no problem with lense line up (eventhough is manual focus)

U have your point nex has more lense then fuji rite now. But what i meant nex cams has been around for quite some times but it seem they are very slow developing their e lense line up.
Im hoping with nex7 more lense will come out from sony or 3rd party.

Imo the other point that ppl get the nex peaking mode for manual focusing using manual lense.
We dont know yet from the fuji cam and from exp the x100 is just a pain for mf.

U have your point nex has more lense then fuji rite now. But what i meant nex cams has been around for quite some times but it seem they are very slow developing their e lense line up.
Im hoping with nex7 more lense will come out from sony or 3rd party.

One can only hope the lens announcement will come quickly as per below :

Roadmap.jpg

Fuji lens lineup attached her for reference

11133%7C000005c40%7C1664_orh100000w397_FujiXPro1LensLineup.jpg

The Xpro seriously looks damn cool lah... But its too expensive! Had already set my mind on Nex7 and was wondering should i buy it now in Korea or wait few more weeks for the supply to catch up in SG? Will hunt for shops selling for Nex7 and 50mm 1.8 in Korea tomorrow!

Get both and sell the other one which you don't like. :p

Anyway, my opinion is that X-pro1 basically defeats the purpose of going mirrorless. It's way too big, heavy and damn bloody expensive.

You will need 2 person to hold the camera...

xpro1launchsg_500x375.jpg
The right girl looks familiar... I have the feeling I see always the same models here in Singapore...

Anyway, I wouldn't mind a bigger body for my lenses. Though, the X-Pro 1 looks a bit too big. In the end I would take whatever delivers the best IQ. Hopefully Fujifilm has improved the sluggish overall performance of the X100.

Quite a few cool cameras out this year.. Really competitive year for the makers all wanting a piece of the pie!

Just on top of my head
Canon 1DX
Nikon D800/E & D4

Mirrorless
Xpro1
EM-5
Nex7

i may have missed some rumored ones but it is really exciting year for peeps to upgrade

Having said that e mount roadmap looks really boring with no concrete lenses in the pipeline. if sony dont push new lenses hard enough, they gonna lose a lot of customers to the m43. sony needs more pancake primes

The right girl looks familiar... I have the feeling I see always the same models here in Singapore...

i think her name is Emily

After reading some good review from DL (too bad i din know abt CS then), i bought an expensive fujifilm PNS few years back. It turned out to be a disaster, which prompted me to use back my old casio.

2 lessons learnt...

not all Fuji PNS cameras are bad. i own the S7000 (bought in 2004) and F200EXR (bought in 2009). fantastic cameras. still shoot with them.

may i ask what kind of "disaster" you're talking about? don't just make a sweeping negative remark without stating any facts.

and next time, remember that you can always come in here to ask the seniors for help. there's no need for google. in fact, CS should be renamed "GoogleCS" :bsmilie:

Sonaz... Account suspended ! For speaking against Fuji ?
sweat.gif

tomcat said:

I doubt so .. But let's not get ot again .

no wonder. it's the slider fuji camera. those weren't very well-known for their IQ.

sweat.gif

I think Rash also got suspended :P

Anyways backm to topics X-Pro 1 looks really huge... must see in real life to judge if it is really big. Coz A77 plus VG is freaking huge also and heavy :(

NEX-7 is very interesting cam sadly cant afford it after getting A77...

Interesting, I forgot to check out the size of the x pro

Haha, suddenly had a thought - wait for NEX-77 or whatever successor where the screen can tilt sideways as well.

Had a moment with my NEX5 when I wanted to do a low upright shot and I was like...wah lau...hahaha

I think Rash also got suspended :P

Anyways backm to topics X-Pro 1 looks really huge... must see in real life to judge if it is really big. Coz A77 plus VG is freaking huge also and heavy :(

NEX-7 is very interesting cam sadly cant afford it after getting A77...

Phua, didn't know the venerable rash gena suspended. hth did that happen?

Anyway...

Should've gotten NEX 7 + that EA adapter thing. Controls and buttons aside, that adapter makes the nex 7 super flexible so you can adjust your gear depending on whether you're doing a pro shot or convenience shot.

Size comparison from dpreview:

x-family.jpg

Now I see what you guys mean. I thought it would be similar to the old x100, but holy crap :bigeyes:

side-by-side-ilcs.jpg

I guess this is where the fuji guys will say,"what's the point of a small body if you have a big lens?"

True story, lol

Source: http://www.dpreview.com/previews/fujifilmxpro1/

shadowoflight said:
Phua, didn't know the venerable rash gena suspended. hth did that happen?

Due to another thread which degenerated into a quarrel. Sigh.

hope mod wont suspend me also yeah saw that thread sometimes we should be more tolerant to newbies and politely point them to the correct way or direction. Like I said being blunt is borderline being sarcastic... Do always remember we all did once started as nothing let's share to other what we learn =)

Back to topic.... I'm thinking if getting mirrorless for travels or light outing with family dont want to lug around a full dslr always thinking of nex5n, nex7 my huge problem with nex 7 is the budget. or maybe get m4/3 lolz

haha i believe Sonax got suspended for starting a flame war. one does not simply start a flame war and get out of it unscathed

Should've gotten NEX 7 + that EA adapter thing. Controls and buttons aside, that adapter makes the nex 7 super flexible so you can adjust your gear depending on whether you're doing a pro shot or convenience shot.

Yup, the LA-EA2 makes the NEX -7 semi modular in a sense. You need the bigger pro Alpha lenses, you have the choice to use them. For simple street shooting, just put on the NEX lenses.

I saw today that theres a Ring flash accessory to mount on the 30mmf3.5 and 50mmf1.8 lenses. Its like a bracket to fix on the Sony Ring Flash, good for marcro and portraits who needs ringflash I guess.

hope mod wont suspend me also yeah saw that thread sometimes we should be more tolerant to newbies and politely point them to the correct way or direction. Like I said being blunt is borderline being sarcastic... Do always remember we all did once started as nothing let's share to other what we learn =)

Back to topic.... I'm thinking if getting mirrorless for travels or light outing with family dont want to lug around a full dslr always thinking of nex5n, nex7 my huge problem with nex 7 is the budget. or maybe get m4/3 lolz

lol...but I believe all of us can agree that there are times where the noobs are just asking for it.

anyway

After I sold my nex5, I was seriously considering a m4/3 because, sensor size aside, I must say the PQ is actually still v good...for me at least. Then, you have the smaller lenses. NEX + 18200 is definitely a joke lol

shadowoflight said:
lol...but I believe all of us can agree that there are times where the noobs are just asking for it.

anyway

After I sold my nex5, I was seriously considering a m4/3 because, sensor size aside, I must say the PQ is actually still v good...for me at least. Then, you have the smaller lenses. NEX + 18200 is definitely a joke lol

Guess the attraction of the nex7 will not be , great if you don't have an array of alpha lens with the adapter to use or have desire to use it with legacy lenses for mf shooting .

The nex lens line up hasn't gotten their trinity primes complete yet. There should be some nex lenses announcement coming out soon . One telephoto 60mm prime and an improved pancake wide angle would have complete the circle. These are all in the pipe line .