Newcomer...

Seriously, pick up some books from the library to get yourself familiar with the techniques and basics, starting off on the right foot is the correct way to go. Haha, just to share some tips, i'm quite a bad photographer actually.

Honestly, if you wanna pick up a book from the library, get acquainted with work of masters. They will keep you inspired, and give you ideas of what you need to strive towards in your own photographic journey.

Techniques and basics on the other hand are easily pick up online through reading reputable websites like luminous landscape or even CS own Photography 101. Also, an even better way to learn photography is to ask, either in forum or over a cup of kopi. Discussions from websites are often more useful as people tend to discuss a certain thing in more and greater details.

The technique books that I consistently referred back to were Ansel Adam's three books "The Camera", "The Negative" and "The Print". There are a few others pertaining to darkroom printing that are useful as well. Most of the other technique books I'd came across, especially those which goes under the pretense of being a know-all book, are just forgettable.

Photographic series by masters on the other hand has a longer lasting impression. You could refer first to the works of well-known household names like Henri-Cartier Bresson and Ansel Adams, and move on from there. I know a lot of CSers have been particularly affected by the work of Gary Winogrand.

Well abit to share about film cost .... my theory is *not* to aim for quantity but quality (for newcomer need more quantity at first for practise to find your eyes, and familiarization with gears). After awhile with manual cam, aiming for quality means nothing about equipment anymore, force myself to think & feel, and find meaning in my life. Thats how I define *quality* in my own terms. I can imagine zillions of photos being produced since invention of camera/photography, but i believe individual soul is unique, do track my thread on "Altar of Lost traits" for inspiration, but don't have to be my cult, just find *your ownself*.

That's the hard part, not being able to take great pictures (though it is very important as well), but knowing when and where to. =\

Honestly, if you wanna pick up a book from the library, get acquainted with work of masters. They will keep you inspired, and give you ideas of what you need to strive towards in your own photographic journey.

Techniques and basics on the other hand are easily pick up online through reading reputable websites like luminous landscape or even CS own Photography 101. Also, an even better way to learn photography is to ask, either in forum or over a cup of kopi. Discussions from websites are often more useful as people tend to discuss a certain thing in more and greater details.

The technique books that I consistently referred back to were Ansel Adam's three books "The Camera", "The Negative" and "The Print". There are a few others pertaining to darkroom printing that are useful as well. Most of the other technique books I'd came across, especially those which goes under the pretense of being a know-all book, are just forgettable.

Photographic series by masters on the other hand has a longer lasting impression. You could refer first to the works of well-known household names like Henri-Cartier Bresson and Ansel Adams, and move on from there. I know a lot of CSers have been particularly affected by the work of Gary Winogrand.

Hi The_Cheat,

Would it be possible to obtain those books from Ansel Adams at the library? Do you know which one?

Hi The_Cheat,

Would it be possible to obtain those books from Ansel Adams at the library? Do you know which one?

Don't know man. Check the online NLB site for the title lah.

I'm also very new to RF. Got myself a Yashica Electro 35 GSN a few months back and am very happy with it. Now I'm looking for a Canonet GIII QL17. Seems like it's harder to find than the GSN. If someone has lobang to get one, please let me know. Otherwise I'll have to risk it and get from evil bay in the US.

When I was looking for my Yashica, there weren't much RFs around in Buy/Sell. Now suddenly, I see so many! Need.to.control.self.

alternative - I see a WTS post by tan131 on his GTN. You should get that. It's harder to find than a GSN.

I'm also very new to RF. Got myself a Yashica Electro 35 GSN a few months back and am very happy with it. Now I'm looking for a Canonet GIII QL17. Seems like it's harder to find than the GSN. If someone has lobang to get one, please let me know. Otherwise I'll have to risk it and get from evil bay in the US.

When I was looking for my Yashica, there weren't much RFs around in Buy/Sell. Now suddenly, I see so many! Need.to.control.self.

alternative - I see a WTS post by tan131 on his GTN. You should get that. It's harder to find than a GSN.

That's my second choice if my first one doesn't go through. But it has a fixed lens and it's heavy, so I'm looking around still.

to Jinn ,buying the QL17 online i afraid that sometimes u might get it with the meter die , i dont know much about this cam but buying old RF online quite risky for me,so be careful.

eBay = possibly cheaper, but there is a higher chance of getting scammed.
Local = Hard to find.

Haiz...

i hear someone mention my name? :) well, I still have the yashica, if no one wants or offers a good price, i'll keep it. The built of the yashica puts alot of modern cameras to shame ;)

Someone selling the M3,very tempting. To Alternatve,Leica M2,3,4 or Russian cam is not quite the cam u should get right now, they dont have mettering, and for someone who is really new to photography like u,it will become very bad that u may want to buy the external metter which cost u more and harder to use. Have u read some book about shutter speed, exposure ....etc, should read. For now, i think the Yashica is one good choice, GSN or GTN can be found with affordable price. Another option is bessa R, many people selling in buy and sell :) check them out. Well another option is buy Rf from jazzguy ,he got some in very good condition.

Your Yashina looks tempting. To my understanding, it's a Yashina Electro 35 GTN? How is the camera working? Is the inbuilt meter working? Is the lens clear and the rings moving smoothly? What about the aperture? Haha, I'm like interrogating him...

My gosh! I was looking through the internet, searching for the Yashina RP where I stumbled on a picture of it. It looked really familiar, and after a while, I realised that I have the exact same model at home! I bought it for $10 as a display model and forgot all about it. it's in pretty bad condition. Meter doesn't seem to work (probably due to the batteries), shutter still fires, aperture is working, lens in bad condition and the inside of the camera is filthy... I think the light seals are gone... The hotshoe is all oxidised as well... It looks really cool, too bad I treated it so badly...

Send it for repair? Maybe you could ask for a quote first, to gauge if you should get something else or stick with this.

Your Yashina looks tempting. To my understanding, it's a Yashina Electro 35 GTN? How is the camera working? Is the inbuilt meter working? Is the lens clear and the rings moving smoothly? What about the aperture? Haha, I'm like interrogating him...

Yes, its the yashican electro 35 gtn. the camera is working fine. had it serviced last sept at cam x. the inbuilt meter is working, no fungus n the light seals have been replaced. i'm still considering whether to sell or keep. so tempt me with a price :P

I'll try to send it for repair, to see whether I can bring back the dead. The things you find in your storeroom... I even found another RF while I was at it! This is in better condition, but the lens is foggy, the meter isn't working (No Batteries to test as well) and the shutter lever is jammed. But I'll try to send it for repair as well. Hopefully it can work. If it costs more then $300 for both though, I think I rather skip the process. The other RF is a Ricoh 500ME, in black. Pretty unknown actually...

Anyone knows any good places to repair a classic camera? Thanks.

i suggest cam x at penisular... turn right after ruby photo n head down all the way... its diagonally opposite the makan place @ the corner

Do you know whether they still open at night, around 8-9? Thanks.