newbie studio shot

TECH said:
ok, since you like the 'direct' way ...
a good comment is something that gives you space for thinking, when a person tells you things so straightforwardly , it only shows that he does not respect your intelligence.
my point is , you are not direct but just rude.
give some thoughts bout it. i just hope CS is a friendlier forum for people to come.

hahaha seen deadpoet's posts around in cs , agree that he is indeed rude. i believe many feel the same way just never say, cos many of us not so 'direct' mah. :bsmilie:

catchlights said:
are you still testing anyone of us got color blind or not? why still using green green and tiny font? so hard to read you know?

seriously lor, i find that ZC is helping me, remember the other day i wanted to use green fonts, den i clicked, orange instead, den my fren told me... so since ZC is consistent in green, i just highlight his text will get green liao, no more malu again...

quavisity said:
hahaha seen deadpoet's posts around in cs , agree that he is indeed rude. i believe many feel the same way just never say, cos many of us not so 'direct' mah. :bsmilie:

Same here, I have noticed deadpoet's posts. I would tend to agree with quavisity on his observations.

The ability to put down or tell someone off for his wrongdoing without being offensive/hurtful/harsh is called tact. It's not an ability we were all borned with, and is not an ability we can all master overnight. Some have it, while others have less. (That's trying to be tactful.) ;)

Astin said:
1 more point to add, yr model face is round (I think), I would suggest to set the front light higher to reduce the roundness effect, alternatively u can ask yr model to turn the face slightly sideway to shoot 3/4 face, or use the hair to cover part of the face.

good advice :)

Jemapela said:

Same here, I have noticed deadpoet's posts. I would tend to agree with quavisity on his observations.

The ability to put down or tell someone off for his wrongdoing without being offensive/hurtful/harsh is called tact. It's not an ability we were all borned with, and is not an ability we can all master overnight. Some have it, while others have less. (That's trying to be tactful.) ;)

Well said. Fortunately, there are more nice folks here than rude, harsh and caustic chaps in this forum.

I notice that the true, real genuine authentic masters/gurus are the humble and helpful ones - they earn our respect here.

smallaperture said:
Well said. Fortunately, there are more nice folks here than rude, harsh and caustic chaps in this forum.

I notice that the true, real genuine authentic masters/gurus are the humble and helpful ones - they earn our respect here.
Hmmmm may be smallaperture my man or person (u could be female) you could exercise some that tact thing too huh ? DeadPoet may be going thru a phase that some of us have been through. Remeber the improtant thing he "cared" enough to speak up when he could have been silent.Let not go around trying to classify who is what. You know where and what you are, if your honest enough to look deep in the mirror. In CS is it's often not always too clear to observers who is what or what is who at first few glances. The shape and outlines becomes clear for most people with time.

deadpoet is not rude, just direct, you need to know a person more then comment.

smallaperture said:

really never tried to earn anyone's respect, and since I ani't a real genuine authentic masters/gurus, will probably never get the respect form the like of many here.

However, I call everything as I see it. i don't mince words, becuause doing that, I am being disingenuous at best, a hypocratic at worse. So, if I see a picture that sucks, I will say it sucks. I will continue to tell newbies to shoot more, ask questions later.

quavisity said:

I am glad you finally got the courage to be direct. Feels good, doesn't it to be truthful and say it as you see it, as you feel it. So, are you rude? I don't think so, you are entitle to your only feelings and opinions, and absolutely entitle to the rights to express them.

ellery said:
If it looks like a duck, sounds like a duck, poos like a duck, smells like a duck - it most probably could be a duck but it could also be what you want it to be - the PC version. It is freaking duck for gads sake - the frustrated version. It is a duck - the direct version. In 3 hours I can make this into roast duck - eternal chinese food fixation knee jerk reaction. With some make up some feather styling, some designer togs , a little time and some studio lighting - meet supermodel duckie - the fashion wannabe photog version. Ignore the last 2 versions , it is my demented sense of humor surfacing. Which you approach you like best as a photog will determine how long you stay at the basement level. Your game your choice. We have all seen the basement, some of us are moving away from there, some like it there.

Deadpoet said:
I am glad you finally got the courage to be direct. Feels good, doesn't it to be truthful and say it as you see it, as you feel it. So, are you rude? I don't think so, you are entitle to your only feelings and opinions, and absolutely entitle to the rights to express them.

yeah , since you say i not rude then i not rude. i am whatever you say i am if i wanst then why would you say i am. you are what people say you are.

quavisity said:
yeah , since you say i not rude then i not rude. i am whatever you say i am if i wanst then why would you say i am. you are what people say you are.
touchy touchy, touched a nerve?

quavisity said:
you are what people say you are.

I am not involved with the err, difference in opinions.

But this statement, if you really meant it, is so pathetic.

quavisity said:

:bsmilie: :bsmilie: hahaha let me guess ... quote from eminem? i think what quavisity means its that if you care , then you are what people say you are, if you are not then why would people say you are.but if you dun care then it does not matter.

hmmm...Please shoot more. Not meaning to sound blunt, but it's really hard to crit your work with so little amount of work.

Please consider this a reminder to keep this thread on topic.

Thank you.

dunwackme said:
:bsmilie: :bsmilie: hahaha let me guess ... quote from eminem? i think what quavisity means its that if you care , then you are what people say you are, if you are not then why would people say you are.but if you dun care then it does not matter.

Deadpoet said:
touchy touchy, touched a nerve?

what i mean is that i believe that i am not rude simply by saying that i feel that deadpoet is rude.need to do a poll whether he is rude? joking la, actually i also feel that things he say not wrong, just the choice of words. and ya its a qoute from eminem.

Well I suggest that you look for some course to attend or get professionals to teach you. It will be more productive. Some of these people here also dont know what they are talking. And they may even teach you the wrong things.I am sure you are a newbie therefore dont know much your equipment let alone studio lighting. In fact you can still get very sharp images at shuttle speed of 30 to 40 as long as your hand and subject is steady. Yes do use tripod. There are many aspects to learn in studio lighting. There are many faults and nos nos in your picture. But it is ok so lo0ng you learn. Keep the passion up. So please be patient and learn from the experts then you would be fine. Cheers