Newbie Quest for New Hobby (Key Requirements, Items)

already tell u... get a lightweight one.......

You already gave your suggestion, no need to force your preference on him here. The TS will decide what he really needs

most important is ts happy can liao

That's weird, it says on the web that it has a built-in focus motor. Just had a feel of th 600D and D7000 earlier during lunch. Felt that D7000 is darn heavy, with the magnesium alloy of cos. Assuming that both of it drop, the D7000 probably has a higher survive percentage. :cool:

erm, which lens was it (D7000) mounted with? the kit 18-105 is heavy, but the body itself is not.
I liked the grip on the D7000 compared to the 60D (when I was looking for my cam).

both without lens. somehow the shop didnt allow us to press on the shuttle... But it sure feels solid.

Get the one that you feel happy using, then it'll be money well spent. :D

hmmm now i start to look at the 600d, just curious for cost down i would probably get a 18-135mm lens. But assuming i wanna get a 55-250mm lens, would it be better for me to get the 18-55mm? How does the quality for pictures differ from a 18-135 vs 18-55 on the 18-55 range?

Hi Acertey,

I bought a 600D for 2 weeks and i sold it to change for a 60D so thought i can share with you.
600D picture quality is the same as 60D. Just the continuous shoot more nia.
Also, build wise, lighter than 60D. Interms of special effect, 600D got the miniature effect which 60D dont have.
Dial button for 60D on left and 600D on right.
If you wanna know why i change, purely cause holding factor.
And if you wonder, why i didnt buy 60D at first cause that time when i buy, i was thinking ' erm.. that 60D too pro for me lar. i think i buy entry level one. Somemore, 600D the newest model'.

But frankly, beside the holding part, i as a beginner, i really dont feel a huge difference in the picture quality.

For lens wise, that time i got 600D is with 18-135 and when i buy 60D i got 18-55.
I prefer 18-135 cause more versatile and i didnt like 18-55 cause very restricted.
Picture quality, personal experience, no difference leh, just that the 'reach' to the object, 135 can go 'nearer' lor.

My feedback not the pro one lar... but hope it helps you in some ways...

Wow thanks man, 1 of the thing on continuous shot also appeal a general sense of interest. Does it mean i need to wait a while for the next shot? I did try my friend's d90, it actually quite fast on that. How bad was it on the d600? Becos this 1 sure dun know unless u try the actual camera with shooting. And thanks once again on ur post. It sure helped me.

I think you should at least try to remember the model correctly....cos there are some of Nikon models have same number as Canon ones...e.g. Canon 60D vs Nikon D60. Thou we know the model in question is 600D.

Sony A55 - Super Fast & Lightweight. You only need to pay a trip to MS Color to verify this. The last time i went, they have a setup for people to test out the camera at 10fps.

Eh, I think this is provided that they still have the display set....

I think it's still there at their main shop. Anyway, if not can still test the camera there without the setup. Most important is TS happy with his choice whatever it is.

If you are looking at FPS, I suggest you understand the processing speed of the camera, the difference between RAW and Jpeg and the quality of your SD card. DSLR tend to lock up after a few shots using high quality RAW + JPEG and can shoot continuously much more shot on low quality JPEG. Class 10 SD card which is much more expensive, helps to process faster and may let you get a few more shots in before the DSLR lock up. So sometimes high FPS may not help if your DSLR locks up after taking 3-4 shots of high quality shots.

Haven't tried Sony so unaware how many shots at 10FPS high quality RAW before it locks up. Anyone can feedback on this?

Eh i am using canon hor. not nikon :)

Actually TS, just go down to the shop and see which one you like best. Btw, which shop don't allow you to press the shutter button? But actually one of the main thing is to check the menu, the user interface, the feel of the buttons at each location and also if you are comfortable with the grip and stuff like that.

Well... frankly, I have handled the D7000 and it is great, but somehow compared to my 7D, I just don't like how it feels. As to the Sony and Pentax... I have never handle a Pentax before so cannot advice... I like the Sony, but find that the A55, NEX and A33 too small for me to grip properly (it is just me and not that those cameras are not good).

Anyway, it all boils down to own personal preference... and once you get your camera, have fun...

shanmugong said:
If you are looking at FPS, I suggest you understand the processing speed of the camera, the difference between RAW and Jpeg and the quality of your SD card. DSLR tend to lock up after a few shots using high quality RAW + JPEG and can shoot continuously much more shot on low quality JPEG. Class 10 SD card which is much more expensive, helps to process faster and may let you get a few more shots in before the DSLR lock up. So sometimes high FPS may not help if your DSLR locks up after taking 3-4 shots of high quality shots.

Haven't tried Sony so unaware how many shots at 10FPS high quality RAW before it locks up. Anyone can feedback on this?

I had tried A55 FPS at Sony style in wisma. They have setup a trial camera there.

I can't rem whether the pic format is in RAW or jpeg. But it doesn't lock up at all. I pressed a few times and each time is 10 FPS. so thats alot of pics in total.

Like machine gun like that....... And it's really 10 FPS....

May TS can go to Sony style wisma to test this out.

You seem to place a lot of emphasis on continuous shooting speed, so I assume that is very important to you?
D90's maximum continuous shooting speed is 4.5fps (according to the spec sheet). I find it very fast already, but you could be more demanding, I dunno...
600D is 3.7fps apparently, so quite fast too.
If you really demand > 6fps then I guess these aren't the cameras for you ;)

Erm it's actually 1 of the Parisilk branch.

Actually TS, just go down to the shop and see which one you like best. Btw, which shop don't allow you to press the shutter button? But actually one of the main thing is to check the menu, the user interface, the feel of the buttons at each location and also if you are comfortable with the grip and stuff like that.

Well... frankly, I have handled the D7000 and it is great, but somehow compared to my 7D, I just don't like how it feels. As to the Sony and Pentax... I have never handle a Pentax before so cannot advice... I like the Sony, but find that the A55, NEX and A33 too small for me to grip properly (it is just me and not that those cameras are not good).

Anyway, it all boils down to own personal preference... and once you get your camera, have fun...