Newbie into Candied & Portrait shots

Thanks for all your leads...:cool:

ok BRO, I have another question, I only wanna buy a tripod once, so if I need one that suits my requirements which tripod & head would you recommend me?

1. I need one light weight to carry around & abroad, so must be airport friendly.

2. It must be able to take the weight of my 7D & 70-200mm f2.8.

3. Small enough to use in tight spaces, like indoor portrait shots.

4. Is there a head that enables me to pan the Camera horizontally?

Thanks again for your valued advise...:cool:

Hehe... Chow Yun Fatt... you ask me, I will certainly poison you by saying go buy a Gitzo 1541T (traveller's series).
Good, sturdy, light and tok gong.
I regret not getting this. Now stuck with the non-T Gitzo.

Hehe... Chow Yun Fatt... you ask me, I will certainly poison you by saying go buy a Gitzo 1541T (traveller's series).
Good, sturdy, light and tok gong.
I regret not getting this. Now stuck with the non-T Gitzo.

Ok...Thanks Bro, the head also use Gitzo?

I need something easy, light & can take abuse...I'm not the gentle type...:bsmilie:

Thanks again...;)

I need something easy, light & can take abuse...I'm not the gentle type...:bsmilie:

Thanks again...;)

I use Kang Rinpoche head. so far for the NB-3 for $450, it works well for me.
Some purist would recommend more expensive brands.

I use Kang Rinpoche head. so far for the NB-3 for $450, it works well for me.
Some purist would recommend more expensive brands.

I think I'll take a look at those tomorrow...

Sorry for being so Loh Soh...But after reading on some of the Threads regarding Filters, I think I pretty much to buy some other than the UV type...is there such a thing as a set of filters so I can buy as a set?...Thanks again...:)

I think I'll take a look at those tomorrow...

Sorry for being so Loh Soh...But after reading on some of the Threads regarding Filters, I think I pretty much to buy some other than the UV type...is there such a thing as a set of filters so I can buy as a set?...Thanks again...:)

Look for the advertisers in the Mass Sales Section selling the set of Tianya filters with filter holders - if you are looking for GND, ND4, ND8 - all square filters.
For the price, I find them pretty good to use.

for tripod you can head down to those big shops to test around and see which u prefer. i personally tested at TKfoto and Cathay peninsular before settling down with one. but dont go at peak hours, i went on weekday afternoon after lunch hours.

filter tianya is quite good for the price it is selling... the most use is the GND n ND filter for me.

Look for the advertisers in the Mass Sales Section selling the set of Tianya filters with filter holders - if you are looking for GND, ND4, ND8 - all square filters.
For the price, I find them pretty good to use.

Roger that...Thankz...:)

for tripod you can head down to those big shops to test around and see which u prefer. i personally tested at TKfoto and Cathay peninsular before settling down with one. but dont go at peak hours, i went on weekday afternoon after lunch hours.

filter tianya is quite good for the price it is selling... the most use is the GND n ND filter for me.

Sounds Good to me...Thanks...:)

Dear Chow Yun Fatt,
Not sure about the detailed features of the Canon EOS 7D, but on my own Nikon D90 you can perhaps choose a faster ISO, ie. 400 or more. That will keep the shutter speed fast enough to capture action.
Alternatively, if indoors, choose the fastest sync shutter speed with flash. You may want to use a flash and adjust it to bounce for portraits.
For focusing, you may want to set the camera to take a couple of shots at one go, ie. choose a medium speed, may be up to 3 fps and choose the clearest shot. Or, if your camera has dynamic focus (think your model should have, since it is a pro one), select that mode where there is focus tracking and pan the camera to follow your kids running, etc.

Anybody else has experience using the EOS 7D? Hope the above helps! Enjoy your new camera!

Regards.

I'm trying out all you have mentioned so far & so far so good...Got the flash & shots were indeed much better then the Pop Up.

I'm dun usually do much settings, I'll just set it to Tv & start Panning...:)

Dear Chow Yun Fatt,
Not sure about the detailed features of the Canon EOS 7D, but on my own Nikon D90 you can perhaps choose a faster ISO, ie. 400 or more. That will keep the shutter speed fast enough to capture action.
Alternatively, if indoors, choose the fastest sync shutter speed with flash. You may want to use a flash and adjust it to bounce for portraits.
For focusing, you may want to set the camera to take a couple of shots at one go, ie. choose a medium speed, may be up to 3 fps and choose the clearest shot. Or, if your camera has dynamic focus (think your model should have, since it is a pro one), select that mode where there is focus tracking and pan the camera to follow your kids running, etc.

Anybody else has experience using the EOS 7D? Hope the above helps! Enjoy your new camera!

Regards.

Thanks again...;)

Pair the Gitzo 1541T with Markins Q3T and you should be set...

Wah your thread is really happening. See what choosing a good nick can generate... :P

Pair the Gitzo 1541T with Markins Q3T and you should be set...

Wah your thread is really happening. See what choosing a good nick can generate... :P

Yah, I got the Markins, but I'm not sure of the model...I just went with feel rather than brand...& I must say, the Markins really felt smooth & solid...:)

P.S. No prizes for a long thread...it was also never my intention...

CHow Yun Fatt, it is about time you customise your Avatar already.
You are Chow Yun Fatt.
Don't keep using that green man with the silly grin.
It's time your character shines through with your own Avatar!

CHow Yun Fatt, it is about time you customise your Avatar already.
You are Chow Yun Fatt.
Don't keep using that green man with the silly grin.
It's time your character shines through with your own Avatar!

If you really must insist...:bsmilie:

Just for laughs & by the way ppl...I'm not the real Chow Yun Fatt hor...
I really cannot do all the card tricks he did in GOD OF GAMBLERS...

If you really must insist...:bsmilie:

Just for laughs & by the way ppl...I'm not the real Chow Yun Fatt hor...
I really cannot do all the card tricks he did in GOD OF GAMBLERS...

Hey, this is good!
Wonderful!

Oei.. Chow Yun Fatt, don't like that call leh... please please.. really.
I would be more than happy to help in whatever limited knowledge I have.
Let me PM you...

Oeii SiFu, don't like that PM leh... got tricks must share share with the rest.

Ziploc!! :bsmilie::bsmilie:
Of all people, you go and tekan me like that!!! :bigeyes: Wah lau... I pai seh...
Haha.... I am the earthworm tunneling inside the earth and not even worth 2 rupee.
This Chow Yun Fatt he don't know only lah.
Ask the wrong person (me) for advice lah, he!!

Ziploc!! :bsmilie::bsmilie:
Of all people, you go and tekan me like that!!! :bigeyes: Wah lau... I pai seh...
Haha.... I am the earthworm tunneling inside the earth and not even worth 2 rupee.
This Chow Yun Fatt he don't know only lah.
Ask the wrong person (me) for advice lah, he!!

So humble....:bsmilie:

this is one of long running newbie thread and u are not a xmm...:bsmilie: