New Pro Nikon Camera on June 26th!

Must be 1.0FF? 0.9 can Rest In Mind?:bsmilie:

I can't understand if it is a 1.1crop factor... why is it so difficult to make it 1:1 FF.
I'll not able to Rest In Mind if it a 1.1...!

we all hoping so much for FF..low noise..High FPS...maybe Nikon has these in a new Digital Compact Camera :bsmilie: Who got the information that Nikon will introduce a New DSLR and not a new DCC.

Why far? Someone in SG has played with this FF prototype some times back already mah...:) Hopefully it is matured (technically and in marketing strategy) for production liao.:)

u talking abt me? :bsmilie:

jus kidding.

cheers and happy waiting.

we all hoping so much for FF..low noise..High FPS...maybe Nikon has these in a new Digital Compact Camera :bsmilie: Who got the information that Nikon will introduce a New DSLR and not a new DCC.

The title of this thread says Pro camera leh. :bsmilie:

maybe he left out sumer part = prosumer

Well, Nikon will be having their 90th anniversary in July 2007, so you can probably expect something to mark the occasion.

Hhmmm...

probably a D2XS 90th anniversary "titanium -- or whatever" edition.

Remember the FM2n special edition ;)

I hope I'm wrong though.

Well, Nikon will be having their 90th anniversary in July 2007, so you can probably expect something to mark the occasion.

Aiyah please allow Ah Kiat to rant a little bit about this lah. I think everyone here is waiting for this news with baited breath, like me lah, because I think so much about Nikon's future direction hinges on what will be announced tomorrow. Ranting makes me feel better lah so please bear with me.

[Rant ON]

Ah Kiat is a long time Nikon user lah, having used the F3, F100, F5 and FM3A. Dabbled in digital with a friend's Canon 10D. So basically I've been shooting film til this year.

One of the main reasons why I wanted to switch to digital is because of WB lah. As you know, WB can be tricky indoors and I've lost shots because of it. So I'm in the market for a DSLR plus some of the juicy new lenses.

I started my research and I must say I'm disappointed with Nikon lah. I'm just a prosumer but because I shoot sports (not all the time) I need something with good (dont have to be great lah) ISO performance and nice FPS. So D200/D80 came into mind, with my preference going towards the D80. I'm a general shooter lah with a tendency to shoot portraits, street photography. Dunno why but I find it difficult to wake up at 5am to take photos of sunrise lah (I almost got arrested for trying to take photos of the Opera House at 5am :sweat: ).

Ah Kiat's been tempted by the different companies just like many of the Nikon users lah. Canon comes to mind because of sports shooting and nice collection of lenses with IS and USM, but their flash photography not so good lah compared to Nikon. Also hor, canon updates their bodies too often for my liking. For portraits Fuji's S5 is bloody good! Very nice skin tone and I think one of the best if not the best ISO performer in the price range. Wide dynamic range too! But aiyah only 3fps at 100% DR or 1.6fps at 400% DR. At least I get to keep my AIS and CPU lenses from Nikon.

I think deep down I'm a Nikon shooter lah. But having been used to Nikon and its supremacy with their film bodies which unfortunately hasnt been carried over to the digital medium, I'm at a cross-road lah. Switch or not? Aiyah in the end I get angry with Nikon for putting me in that position lah. My needs are so simple - I want good and strong body (weather sealing preferred), 5fps (and up), good ISO performance at 1600, mirror lock-up without buying the expensive models, good collection of lenses with AFS and VR technology, and nice colour reproduction (like Fujifilm's Velvia etc).

Ok now it's rant time:

(1) Why can't Nikon develop their sensor instead of relying on Sony's R&D? Sony is, at the end of the day, a competitor. Enough said lah.
(2) Why CCD?
(3) Why Nikon so slow in reacting to competition, especially in the pro market?
(4) Why pay attention to its users (who have since abandoned them in favour of Canon)?
(4) Why can't they match Canon in terms of lens collection?

[rant OFF]

I hope tomorrow's announcement would send a strong signal to the market that Nikon is BACK with a vengeance lah. Otherwise poor Ah Kiat will have to buy a S3Pro!

Sorry for the off-topic guys...

wah...didnt know clubsnap got so many pros who shoot wall size poster that needs FF and 20megapix...i thought these pros get paid alot? why need 1-to-1 exchange? buy FF do one big job can cover liao lo

DX at 10meg already very good for weekend shooters like me...not just pretty good....i only print up to A2 and once awhile and 10meg file w a little upsizing w photoshop very good for me already...

we all hoping so much for FF..low noise..High FPS...maybe Nikon has these in a new Digital Compact Camera Who got the information that Nikon will introduce a New DSLR and not a new DCC.

The title of this thread says Pro camera leh. :bsmilie:

if nikon hv all these in a compact camera, then it will be a Pro:bsmilie:

DX at 10meg already very good for weekend shooters like me...not just pretty good....i only print up to A2 and once awhile and 10meg file w a little upsizing w photoshop very good for me already...

I think it's already overkill.. I know some people who use D80 and only shoot at 5MP.

it seems that they are calling top press people to meet on that day to unveil a camera that is "leaps and bounds better than anything Canon is offering" :bigeyes:

thou i'm a canon user, i would want to see what do they meant by leaps and bounds better!

read here: http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/13/nikon-getting-set-to-unveil-next-gen-professional-dslr/

I hope Nikon will live up to the Hype!!! Do S up!

Ok now it's rant time:

1) Why can't Nikon develop their sensor instead of relying on Sony's R&D? Sony is, at the end of the day, a competitor. Enough said lah.

go check out canon and sony...they are electronics GIANT...nikon is just a small optical/camera company compared to them.

(2) Why CCD?

why must all sensor be CMOS?

(3) Why Nikon so slow in reacting to competition, especially in the pro market?

whats wrong w D200?

(4) Why pay attention to its users (who have since abandoned them in favour of Canon)?

Canon is a GIANT

(4) Why can't they match Canon in terms of lens collection?

Canon is a GIANT!! get it!!!

nikon makes camera. canon makes electronics...needless to say canon stuff will have more bells and whistles that is electronics related.

nikon just makes cameras good enough to takes good picture...

like what SDU used to say....the rest is up to you....:)

it is not whether u need or dont. It is a evolution in digital world. Standard will rise higher & higher.

I still remember 20 years ago, everyone was saying who need AF when it just started. AF tech was so slow that I can even focus faster using MF lens. & now, how many % still use a MF lens?

Less than 10 years ago, when digital started, how many people reject the technologic? Almost everyone saying digital will never replace film. & now, how many % are still shooting film? Some younger gen dont even shoot film before.

Accecpt or not, need it or not, FF will eventual become a standard in DSLR or even in a PnS.