new carl zeiss ikon

Based on what I paid for the 35 and 50 biogons, the 28 should be around $1300, slightly cheaper in HKG. I can't wait for the 21, that should be something. The 28 should be out by now, the 21 in Jun/Jul. As far as availbility here, it's questionable. Your best bet is Hong Kong.

Terence said:
Based on what I paid for the 35 and 50 biogons, the 28 should be around $1300, slightly cheaper in HKG. I can't wait for the 21, that should be something. The 28 should be out by now, the 21 in Jun/Jul. As far as availbility here, it's questionable. Your best bet is Hong Kong.

The HK price for the 28 was 6800HK when i went to Tin Cheung last month. Will be back in HK in 2 about weeks time before returning to singapore and hope to get a RD1 so looking for some wider lenses (a 21mm and 28mm) as currently my widest lens is a 35mm.

You should check out the CV 15/4.5 and 21/4 for the wide end. Inexpensive performers.

For those of you interested, the first 1200 units of the Ikon will be produced in chrome, the following bodies will be black. I'm not sure how that translates into months but I figure the demand for this camera will be substantial.

I am quite excited about the new Zeiss Ikon camera when I first heard the news. Later found out that it is made by Cosina I really sian 1/2 liao!!!
I would prefer Kyocera than Cosina.

XXX Boy said:
I am quite excited about the new Zeiss Ikon camera when I first heard the news. Later found out that it is made by Cosina I really sian 1/2 liao!!!
I would prefer Kyocera than Cosina.

The build quality of the current Bessa bodies are pretty good and you can expect the Zeiss body to be even better. Cosina has invested quite a bit into the production facilities to undertake the assembly of the new Ikons alongside the new range of Zeiss lenses. I don't think you should underestimate the new Cosina so readily.

Terence said:
The build quality of the current Bessa bodies are pretty good and you can expect the Zeiss body to be even better. Cosina has invested quite a bit into the production facilities to undertake the assembly of the new Ikons alongside the new range of Zeiss lenses. I don't think you should underestimate the new Cosina so readily.

Dun get me wrong really. I used to owned a Bessa-L and a 25mm f4 made by Cosina. The built quality is not really good for my expectation. But then again I have no complains as it is so much cheaper than the Leica.
Now will I pay a higher price for a Zeiss Ikon camera that is made by Cosina, no thanks! I had tried out the new Cosina-made Carl Zeiss lens made for this Zeiss Ikon camera and the built quality is not so good as well.

I think CV has come a long way since the Bessa L and like you pointed out, the Bessas and the lenses are priced accordingly. They are quite a bang for the buck and I wouldn't say the quality is of poor build. I travel extensively with my CV lenses and body and they have stood up quite well. Some lenses do have paint loss but that's about the extent of the wear and tear in my experience.

I own the new 35 and 50 biogons and have no complaints about their build either. They consistently produce great images, much like their cheaper CV cousins.

The new Ikon is breaking quite a bit of new ground and I believe you're probably paying a bit of that. The new 28mm parallax corrected frameline in its supposedly bright ass viewfinder is quite an achievement really. I'd agree that US$1600 is probably quite a bit to pay but I have a feeling there'll be a slight downward revision in prices a few months after all the hoopla dies down.

We'd see...

Terence said:
I think CV has come a long way since the Bessa L and like you pointed out, the Bessas and the lenses are priced accordingly. They are quite a bang for the buck and I wouldn't say the quality is of poor build. I travel extensively with my CV lenses and body and they have stood up quite well. Some lenses do have paint loss but that's about the extent of the wear and tear in my experience.

I own the new 35 and 50 biogons and have no complaints about their build either. They consistently produce great images, much like their cheaper CV cousins.

The new Ikon is breaking quite a bit of new ground and I believe you're probably paying a bit of that. The new 28mm parallax corrected frameline in its supposedly bright ass viewfinder is quite an achievement really. I'd agree that US$1600 is probably quite a bit to pay but I have a feeling there'll be a slight downward revision in prices a few months after all the hoopla dies down.

We'd see...

As wat you said, the price of the new ZI is US$1600 which is pretty ex. For that price, I would rather get a 2nd hand Leica M4-P which is of better built and also much cheaper than that Cosina-built body.

US$1600 can almost get a used M6+50 cron..

kex said:
US$1600 can almost get a used M6+50 cron..

Tat is the reason why I should not go for a higher price Cosina-made electronics rangefinder. The Leica is much more better built, isn't it?? :dunno:

XXX Boy said:
As wat you said, the price of the new ZI is US$1600 which is pretty ex. For that price, I would rather get a 2nd hand Leica M4-P which is of better built and also much cheaper than that Cosina-built body.

To each his own I guess. I'd like to have the convenience of in camera metering and an aperture priority mode, both of which is lacking in the M4-P. You could however pick up a mint M6 TTL with some spare change for that price, I think that might be a bit of a better buy. The $1600 figure is still a guesstimate. There's a high probability it will come out at a lower price tag.

A mode is nice..

but i think RF users are more to the "retro" type..setting the aperture and speed dun really pose much problem for a competent photographer..

if i want convenience,i would go for the Contax G series.

kex said:
A mode is nice..

but i think RF users are more to the "retro" type..setting the aperture and speed dun really pose much problem for a competent photographer..

So you're saying I'm incompetent for preferring A priority?

hahaha!!

no la..i also like my A mode on my Xpan,but shooting manual is fine with me too.

sigh...now now children. We all love A mode, honestly, just that i think our ego does not permit us to say so eh :D
Terrence, would you care to post some samples from the 2 new zeiss lenses? I am myself looking for a 28mm or 24mm and have yet to decide on which to get. I used to use a contax and the 28mm was superb. Wondering if the new zeiss is as good.

szekiat said:
sigh...now now children. We all love A mode, honestly, just that i think our ego does not permit us to say so eh :D
Terrence, would you care to post some samples from the 2 new zeiss lenses? I am myself looking for a 28mm or 24mm and have yet to decide on which to get. I used to use a contax and the 28mm was superb. Wondering if the new zeiss is as good.

The ZM series only offer 25/2.8 and 28/2.8. Looking at the MTF the 25/2.8 seems better but I think using 28/2.8 there is a chance u can do without the external finder. Zeiss are conservative in design and no compromise in quality, so I think no worries about whether they are good or not. If u read the book 'Only Zeiss' published many years back u will probably bet Zeiss without second thought (but of course u need to have quite a bit monies..........)

Terence said:
The new 28mm parallax corrected frameline in its supposedly bright ass viewfinder is quite an achievement really.
We'd see...

bright ass viewfinder must be for kinky photographers. :o
Well even Singapore Tourist Board is trying to earn the "pink" tourist dollar.
Alamak !

The scans are coming along slowly, I should have them all by Mon or Tues but for now this is the only sample taken with the 35 Biogon... about 1/30 f/2 thereabouts , handheld.

original.jpg

For me, quality needs to be measured against the amount spent. Its a pity the CV 25mm is not RF coupled or i'd get it in a flash. A toss up between the leica one and the zeiss one i guess.