Neighbours Wireless Stronger?

if they place the unit just behind your wall, u think leh? den they buy the omni direction type, and point at your unit, thinking to prevent any radiation to them (ya some ppl are that *fill in the blank*)

anyway, my block here also got free internet connection, and i notice alot of ppl connect to it, cos i went into their router, den check, wah the list damn long...
omni direction still can point direction meh?

Wai said:
i tot all linksys got 2? but even the WRT54G alone, there are already 4 or 5 revision.

btw, i got this huge 5dbi USB wireless dongle in car (just plug to your USB port and use), guess why ;p

gw-us54pro.gif
gw-us54pro_show.gif
you need some interior lighting?

tonight i go see your car again... btw your car interior damn spacious wor...
dun play play his not car.. but can out run than many civics at red light sprints.

if they place the unit just behind your wall, u think leh? den they buy the omni direction type, and point at your unit, thinking to prevent any radiation to them (ya some ppl are that *fill in the blank*)

anyway, my block here also got free internet connection, and i notice alot of ppl connect to it, cos i went into their router, den check, wah the list damn long...
wah.... you hacker? :bigeyes: :bigeyes: :bigeyes:

firestone said:
Hello,
Why ar?..
I have my linksys wireless router and adapter like 3m away from each other and my neighbours wireless signal, not enrypted btw..:), is just as strong,at times stronger than mine!

How can? :think:
Not one but 2 neighbours!...
Hmm.. I recall reading somewhere that if the antennas are too near, they may cause problems.. there's a software that has readings from "Too near" to "Too weak" too

willyfoo said:
Hmm.. I recall reading somewhere that if the antennas are too near, they may cause problems.. there's a software that has readings from "Too near" to "Too weak" too
it is somewhat true.. when the transmitter antennas are too near, your receiver might be getting a signal that is 'too loud' and thus a lousier signal quality. I'm not sure if wireless routers suffer from such signal degradtion. After all we only want to recover the digital bits from the analog carrier.

Such a phenomenon is more common for audio/video signals.

OT: you still want the jan issue of style? emailed you but no response.

+evenstar said:
how do you mod the antenna? i'm thinking of changing my antenna if it's easy to do so (without my parent's knowledge...;p;p)

Can just unscrew the old one and screw in the new one (but must make sure you get the right type, compatibility is different across brands). My OEM 5 dBi antenna doesn't look that much different from the built in one. Just abit thicker and longer only. If ur parent's aren't that observant then shouldn't be a problem. :bsmilie:

yanyewkay said:
it is somewhat true.. when the transmitter antennas are too near, your receiver might be getting a signal that is 'too loud' and thus a lousier signal quality. I'm not sure if wireless routers suffer from such signal degradtion. After all we only want to recover the digital bits from the analog carrier.

Such a phenomenon is more common for audio/video signals.

OT: you still want the jan issue of style? emailed you but no response.
Oopss... super OT here.. but yes.. evening at middle rd/bugis area?