redknuckles said:Ahh, nice to hear from so many of you!
phantasmal: I think there's something wrong with ur website, can't access it!
I think phantasmal's link has one too many http, try this :
http://iciclelanding.com/phan
metallilan & explorerz: My budget is abt 600. But, it's not so much the budget, it's more about the use - I'm looking for a good point-and-shoot because i'm not the only user, my parents n bro gonna use it too, so probably not such a good idea to get FZ series which is less compact and a bit more complex. Will consider getting second-hand prosumer cam in future though.
I'm actually using a Canon S300 now (a second hand 2-mp cam that I got off the marketplace here some years back, super old liao). Hehe, that cam accompanied me on my student exchange program in HK, real difficult to take night pics of Peak & Victoria Harbour with it. Can't even adjust ISO, so high time to upgrade liao. But from using that old Canon, I learnt quite a lot of things. Even though point-and-shoot cameras are quite limited in controls, you are still forced to compensate for the lack of control and manipulate with the different fixed settings if you wanna get a good shot. That way, still can learn lah, just that it's not as flexible as cams that can adjust settings manually. Nowadays I see the point-and-shoot, a lot more flexibility liao compared to what I'm using now (it's like upgrade from 286 to Pentium I.. even though got P4 now already, still a lot better... haha). For TZ1 and LZ5, can actually adjust shutter speed up to 60secs to shoot at night etc. Those different modes on the cam are just different shutter speed,aperture and ISO I think, once you are familiar, can still adjust accordingly to what you want to take. So, I guess one step at a time for me!![]()
reverie62: Could it be because the camera focused or metered on a wrong part, making the picture weird? Don't really know how to describe, but I found that your shots will turn out differently when you half-pressing shutter at different points of the picture. Maybe can try half-focus at different points next time and compare the results to see whether can get something better.
fz5owner: okie, lemme upgrade my cam first... lol
metallilan & explorerz: My budget is abt 600.
fz5owner: okie, lemme upgrade my cam first... lol
FZ5owner said:yo bro,
u dun hv to upgrade to join us. as long as u hv a camera, u r welcome to join us anytime.
we are a fun group of shooter. u will find out when u join us..............kekekeke
the next PLUG outingis this sat at 2pm at Lower Pierce.
this is the link :
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=201469
ExplorerZ said:aiyo bro... u remind me of june plug...
this time i cannot make it liao... going on a trip
must shoot more hor tat day... lemme cc
reverie62 said:nice gallery u have there phantasmal.
and thanks for the advice redknuckles.
i would also recommend the fz series too. my bro's holding the fz7 and the effects are good.
the auto mode will be easy to use.
phantasmal said:actually wat does plug stand for?
metallilan said:[p]anasonic-[l]umix-ser-[g]roup. like outing where all lumix users gather to share their knowledge lo..
ironically i never been to a plug, but to a mini plug![]()
i think the thing you're facing now is size vs functionality...am i right to say that?
phantasmal said:thanks for the explanation guys.
well, think my skills havent outgrown Tz1 yet.
still need to practice hehe.
ironically most of my family and friends think Tz1 is too big.
They are more used to Fx size (I sold my Fx7).
One of my fren even forgo the Fx01 which i recommended to get a Casio Z60 due to size.
metallilan said:well in photography you will eventually outgrow that pNs camera and go for something advanced in order to learn more...
phantasmal said:Yup i agree.
A next gen Fz7+ series would be gd (cost effective).
looking at low cost DSLR too eg Sony A100, Pentax 100D etc.
I am not looking to buy one so soon thou.
phantasmal said:Yup i agree.
A next gen Fz7+ series would be gd (cost effective).
looking at low cost DSLR too eg Sony A100, Pentax 100D etc.
I am not looking to buy one so soon thou.
ExplorerZ said:haha low cost dSLR? no such thing that i could think of after using one :devil:
firstly i got d50 + kit lens... soon enuff i tot not enuff range so went to get sigma 70-300. den stepped in to world of the WIDE, so i bought a wide angle lens. and now... felt sigma 70-300 not fast enuff (i wan f2.8 :lovegrin, now saving hard for a f2.8 tele :sweat:
all i can say is... cheaper end camera user will think of getting dSLR, but when they got it, here comes all the BBB virus
phantasmal said:wow...... tats a lot of stuff and i know what u mean hehe.
i could be the next one who gets the BBB virus but i hope not.
will get lots of scoldings haha.
but i do spend in a way.
changed fr Canon A80 to Pana Fx7 then to Pana Tz1.
perhaps reinvest them in lens?
Thanks ExplorerZ and metallilan for views on this.