Need advice.. Mac or PC ?

ortega said:
hdd problems are the fault of the hdd manufacturer, I am using a G4 mac that is 6 years old already, I also have a 3.2GHz P4 sitting next to me, I am using the older and slower mac.
So ortega, isn't it Mac's fault for choosing a lousy hard disk after all the hype about stability and ridiculous pricing? Can I accept the fact that Mac suffers frequent hard disk failure considering all these marketing hypes floating around? Don't get me wrong, I am not arguing or putting up a fight but just trying to tell you what I feel about Mac. As for your case, I can only congratulate you on a good purchase.

rueyloon said:
for raw processing power, PC is still in the best price point, you can get those superduper dual processer with dual core and what nots from Dell or HP at the price of an imac from Apple :|

i m not sure about this price point thing for raw processing power, but the last time i check, Intel beats the G5, & AMD x64 kills off the whole competition, & those machines r cheaper than the G5. i read this from a few independent computer hardware websites & not apple's. their ridiculous claim of G4 is 200% faster than P4 is really a joke in the ad (long ago). :bsmilie: my hardcore friend actually believes it & said "its true one. G4 eats Pentium for lunch":bsmilie: :bsmilie:

ortega said:
hdd problems are the fault of the hdd manufacturer, I am using a G4 mac that is 6 years old already, I also have a 3.2GHz P4 sitting next to me, I am using the older and slower mac.

so is it my fault that apple uses a substandard hdd manufacturer or can i blame apple's choice?

funny rite? Do you blame the companies that uses sony CCD for the recent free CCD failure program of just blame Sony?

Sometimes i think we need to look at the pricing issues in another perspective :

1) Apple has never hide the fact that it sets its profit margin at a comfortable level.
i.e. mac buyers must be willing to pay the style tax.
or rather, mac users enjoyed the experience so much that they are willing to pay
for the premium (haha. .... very funny argument, if u ask me)

2) Apple compares itself to Sony / Alienware and pricing premium is as such.
Don't compare Apple profit margin with SLS DIY shops which operates in
razor thin margin.

3) Mac provides iLife which vanilla PC do not provide.
Anyway, many users have gotten used to friendly versions PC installer/software which
Mac apps are not easy to get.

Anyway, am a recent switcher (less than a year).

It is not exactly smooth sailing but it is less frustrating than being a PC user.

Fact_1: Mac does slow down. I also need to force quit some applications
at times. (similar to end process in Windoze).
we need to understand that no matter how much praise we sing to Unix
(or Mach kernel/ NextStep which OSX is based on), there are still
zombie processes in Unix, and killing a process is still existing in real life.

we need to understand that there are no bug-free OS in this world.

Fact_2: Mac is not virus or WORM free.
One reason it is less frustrating than M$ may be because of "security by obscurity".
I.e. very good hackers / virus writers are an egotistical animal.
They write viruses to infect the masses.
Mac user base is never big never.

If one day, Mac community grows to be 50% of the PC population, I won't be
surprised to find Mac viruses written by clever hackers.

But I agree that Mac OS or UI is written with more careful thought than
M$ UI, regarding the human-computer interface.
I.e. it is more sleeker and easier to familiarise.

However, we must not forget that M$ has a huge R&D budget, and they
are making improvements on the usability end.
Currently, i think Mac still has a slight edge.

Fact_3 : Mac is not faster
In terms of launching application, and processing, we have take
into consideration price/performance vs stability.

I had an awful experience with M$ stability with some of its peripherals (or lack of).
Therefore, i weighed strongly on the stability and i switched.
I am not 100% satisfied with Mac stability, but i am much happier
with the switch than staying in M$, wasting easily 2 - 3 hours not
getting the PC to surf the net, after some casual browsing.

So, if performance time includes waiting time for the stupid M$ PC
to reboot. I think Mac is much faster.

Mac buyers beware:
M1) you will have lesser peripherals to be compatible with.
E.g. stylus - u cannot try the latest, or cheapest u can find in SLS.
but rather stick to tried and tested, best of breed , ... , Wacom.
but again, money well spent. (if u have the means)
and u make sure that they are compatible with Mac

Printers/ scanners usually come with Mac drivers but ADSL modems/ joysticks
steering wheels, u must do some homework.

M2) u have lesser options on third party hw/sw apps
well, u should know it when u make the choice

M3) much less games
M$ PC platform has much more choices.
Mmmm, go for Xbox, or PS2 if u play games. period.

M4) iMac is definitely a better buy than Mac Mini if
i. u are into price/performance comparisons.
ii. u intends to stay in the Mac camp for at least one to two years

A fully tricked out Mac Mini will always lose out to
a vanilla iMac

M5) Apple care is not cheap. Default Warranty for mac products
is 1 year. Subsequent extension of support requires $$, aka Apple care.
Factor in the price in your purchase.
Best to buy Apple in a comp exhibition or use Education discount,
if u are still a full time student.

M6) It is recommended to subscribe to a Broadband package with unlimited usage

For me, my usage of Mac is casual browsing and some light digital photography
post processing. I am not into games.

I have a very frustrating experience with M$ PC, and given a choice, i rather
not try it again. Mac has served me well enough.

If I have to grade the two platforms based on my own home user usage experience,

I would say
M$ : C-
Mac : A-

hafele said:
What u get from Mac is stability and reliability.

Seriously, the myth that Macs are inherently more stable is just false. There are bad Macs just as there are bad PCs. I have had friends who have been utterly frustrated with their Macs in terms of reliability, and friends with PCs like that too.

hafele said:
What u get from Windows is software and gaming (which is important to someone) variety.

Performance wise, it's smoother and easier on Mac according to one of my software engineer frens. Though there's a learning curve, well, a fast one.

Actually, your software engineer friend has failed to consider that a lot of photo applications tend to be written for the Windows PC platform, and then ported over to the Mac. The problem is that the ports tend to be very bad (meaning slow and clunky), and take quite a while to get right, if ever.

hafele said:
iMac G5 just debut few days ago, do give a thought. It's Apple dsiplay (ya, APPLE !) and with a great spreadsheet of specs. Give a :thumbsup: for the design, its shuffle-look-alike remote control is :heart:

This is where Apple's strength lies - design. They just look terrific, and looks often matter.

I am for neither platform in particular. I like Windows boxes because I can build them myself.

jpcc said:
Mac buyers beware:
M1) you will have lesser peripherals to be compatible with.
E.g. stylus - u cannot try the latest, or cheapest u can find in SLS.
but rather stick to tried and tested, best of breed , ... , Wacom.
but again, money well spent. (if u have the means)
and u make sure that they are compatible with Mac

I have a very frustrating experience with M$ PC, and given a choice, i rather
not try it again. Mac has served me well enough.

u forgot to mention hardware like RAID cards (both SCSI & ATA/SATA), 3D cards for real 3D modelling, etc. the new G5s also don't support 133MHz 64 bits PCI IIRC, so if u r into really hi end RAID for work, u r out of luck. the next best bet is the Xserve, & i m not sure if its a better server compared to AMD Opterons, cos Xserve is not popular in the server or workstation market.

if u use mac for really hi end video stuff or some very 3rd party hardware dependent apps, u will pull out ur hair. the hardware compatibility is juz a never ending nightmare, glitches, freezes, very slow rendering, the famous colour wheel of death.... the list goes on. when conflict occurs, there's also little help on the net, u r very much on ur own. this is where the waiting game starts, wait for apple to release latest BIOS or hardware vendors to release latest drivers. :thumbsd:

finally, the last time i tried using the iPhoto to rename a big batch of jpgs (1700+), the mac corrupted all the 1700+ jpgs data, rendering all the images useless (there's a stripe of corruption throughout the pics). when u r like me, on a comissioned job & this happened, u really juz want to smash the mac into pieces with a sledge hammer & tos it into the thrash bin.:thumbsd:

I agree with the myth that Mac are more stable. I think MAC or PC are the same... its all user problem, if u dun know how to use the system, and kena spyware, your system sure will slow down and become unstable one. But i do like the sleek design of Mac systems, very chio.

"finally, the last time i tried using the iPhoto to rename a big batch of jpgs (1700+), the mac corrupted all the 1700+ jpgs data, rendering all the images useless (there's a stripe of corruption throughout the pics). when u r like me, on a comissioned job & this happened, u really juz want to smash the mac into pieces with a sledge hammer & tos it into the thrash bin."

Maybe iPhoto is not that capable of captioning.
Not to defend Apple, (Am never impress by iPhoto) but maybe the newer
software, Aperture, should be able to handle this well.
But errrr, think the new pro app is really very demanding on hardware....

I'm not a big fan of iPhoto myself, I'm still manually sorting and arranging the pics via Nikon View.

I'm running both WIN XP and Mac OS X on the same old (very old) Acer notebook. See :)

tiger_Acer%7E0.JPG

My take: they are good for different things. OS X is more user friendly and intuitive but Win XP has more supports and (at least for my notebook) it just runs smoothly, for all kinds of programmes that I'm using. (PS CS2, Nikon View, VS .Net2003, Macromedia stuff..)
Spec? (Don't laugh, OK!) intel pentium-M 1.3GHz (Centrino), 768M DDR, 40G HDD, ATI RADEON 9000 64M Video.

If you are just using the computer to surf, word processing or occasionally PS, Mac is good. (the new iMac sounds good, not tooo ex also) Want to do more, wintel is cheaper and better.

I would say:
Mac : A-
Win : B+

Juz my 1 peanut.

i'm not an expert and neither am i a mac fan, but have a look at the link below and see if you can spot any non-macs there!

http://www.sportsshooter.com/funpix_view.html?id=4240

you just have to wonder why macs seem so popular with people in this line of work...

sounds like a canon ads (remember? "Look ma, ALL white tele lenses! Canon is the name!" :bsmilie: )

Allegro said:
I'm running both WIN XP and Mac OS X on the same old (very old) Acer notebook. See :)

tiger_Acer%7E0.JPG

Are you using PearPC??? If not how do you run OS X?

PornStar said:
Are you using PearPC??? If not how do you run OS X?

PearPC?? what'z that??

Notice within "About this Mac", somewhere it says "tiger x86" ??
How? Just google "tiger x86".....
This baby sure is a real Tiger, I promise :angel:

Allegro

This emulator program will not do justice for Mac. It will only slow down your PC. I use both platform, a PC Centrino 1.7GHz laptop with 512MB ram and a iMac.

Mac have fast processors even for their entry level computers. In terms of software(OS) I find both are similar(I am only a PC user for 2 months plus..) The iMac is significantly faster processing a 100MB photoshop file. My PC laptop, on the hand, has a little waiting time when doing post process on a 100MB photoshop file.

For a Mac User for more than 10 years, I only have 1 virus attack and its only a trojan horse.
For PC, every now and then there's a new virus. And my ex-companys' PCs were attack like dunno how many times when I was there.

It is NOT an emulator, but the real OSX for intel platform for all Mac from next year (supposedly). On my humble 1.3GHz Centrino (768M DDR) notebook, it actually runs much faster than than a Mac mini (with 1G DDR), which is basically a headless iBook.

It took me about 3 nights of hard work to set it up, just for fun. I let my friends try out to have a feel of the GUIs before they bite the apple :bsmilie: BTW, I'm typing this thread using the Safari. It's so smooth. :cool:

Orh...because someone mentioned PearlPC, so I went to search and turn out to be emulator. So how did you do it?

Its interesting, I may want to turn my dell inspiron 700m to a Dell powerbook...Can teach?

Andy Ho said:
So ortega, isn't it Mac's fault for choosing a lousy hard disk after all the hype about stability and ridiculous pricing? Can I accept the fact that Mac suffers frequent hard disk failure considering all these marketing hypes floating around? Don't get me wrong, I am not arguing or putting up a fight but just trying to tell you what I feel about Mac. As for your case, I can only congratulate you on a good purchase.

all HDDs will break down sooner or later, I agree with you on the pricing thing.
Mac does not suffer more frequent than PeeCees.

It is just sometimes it is just your a55 luck that you bought a lemon, be it PeeCee or Mac.

Belle&Sebastain said:
so is it my fault that apple uses a substandard hdd manufacturer or can i blame apple's choice?

funny rite? Do you blame the companies that uses sony CCD for the recent free CCD failure program of just blame Sony?

No, it is just A55 luck. why you people need to find someone to point the finger at when something goes wrong?

I used to have a Mac G4 (first generation) for 5 or 6 years, still waiting for it to spoil. I have to gave it away so I can buy a new one(no space in my room).

From what I know, its still running very well and fast enough for PS and other graphic softwares in my friend's home!

I think housekeeping for computer is important, and also the way you use and take care of it.