Need advice for lens to accompany my coming OM-D EM-5

Which lens is most useful for me?

Blitzkriegh said:
Any thoughts on the pancake lens 17mm 2.8? Is it good for everyday lens? Is there a big difference in sharpness and iq vs the 20mm 1.7?

17/2.8 is known to be soft while 20/1.7 is very sharp. Go for the 20 or new 17/1.8. IMO don't touch the 17/2.8.

Any thoughts on the pancake lens 17mm 2.8? Is it good for everyday lens? Is there a big difference in sharpness and iq vs the 20mm 1.7?

Yes, yes..AF a tad slower than most of the newer lens, but not that far off from the 20/1.7. 2nd hand it's about half the price of 20/1.7

wonglp said:
Yes, yes..AF a tad slower than most of the newer lens, but not that far off from the 20/1.7. 2nd hand it's about half the price of 20/1.7

There's a reason why the 17/2.8 is cheaper....
A good alternative is the panny 14/2.5. Cheap. $250 or so on bns. Can buy new from eBay around usd 180. Faster AF. Sharper than 17/2.8. Softer than 20/1.7.

http://m43photo.blogspot.sg/2010/11/panasonic-lumix-g-14mm-f25.html?m=1

http://www.photozone.de/olympus--four-thirds-lens-tests/468-oly_17_28

Had similar dilemma as TS .

having 12-50mm looking for 1 faster prime.

I had tried MZ 17mm for kid portrait and some outdoor shoot, would said the IQ is sharp, fast focusing and delicious bokeh! The size and weight oso fit nicely for OMD...

Didn't get the chance to loan the others like MZ 45mm / pana 20mm / 25mm to try and am going HK in few days time, (want to get len there)

I know 45mm and 25mm are usually recommended for portrait shoot but are they also gd for product shoot (i mean for close focusing etc,) ? How about pana 20mm for portrait and product?

Had similar dilemma as TS .

having 12-50mm looking for 1 faster prime.

I had tried MZ 17mm for kid portrait and some outdoor shoot, would said the IQ is sharp, fast focusing and delicious bokeh! The size and weight oso fit nicely for OMD...

Didn't get the chance to loan the others like MZ 45mm / pana 20mm / 25mm to try and am going HK in few days time, (want to get len there)

I know 45mm and 25mm are usually recommended for portrait shoot but are they also gd for product shoot (i mean for close focusing etc,) ? How about pana 20mm for portrait and product?

20mm induces some distortion so less pleasing for portrait, due to focal length. Though for product shoot it's good as you can go pretty close without standing up. 25 has slightly lesser magnification I believe.
45 certainly can't shoot sitting down, moreover, you need a faster speed in order to handhold this, hard if you are using in less than ideal lighting. And the depth of field will be more difficult to handle.
For portraits outdoor, it's 45 for me. Indoor 25. No perfect lens, just what focal length you prefer, and work around if not ideal.

Will you guys consider selling thw 12-50 kits lens to fund for the panasonic 20mm 1.7? I currently have the 45mm 1.8 and type of shooting is baby portraits and general streets.

I won't, because the resale price for the 12-50 is way too low.
For that $200 - $250, might as well just keep it as a backup.

I am keeping the 12-50 kit lens. It's splash proof and useful macro function :)
Good zoom range too.

I almost about to sell the 12-50mm for the 20mm 1.7 but after careful consideration and budget, i kept it for the fact of its macro capability and weatherproof. I just bought the 17mm 2.8 instead.

The olympus pancake lens Is an under rated lens (from a technical standpoint) but i think it can do the job for a decent street photography and general everyday shots. If i want bokeh, ill switch to my 45mm 1.8.

Perhaps at some point, i save up for the famous 20mm 1.7 or the oly 17mm 1.8

I will be keeping my kit lens for now.

Thought of buying one prime lens for fun, but not sure what to get. I heard Oly 45 F1.8 is a value for money lens but I am not sure will it be too narrow for me. In general, I shoot a lot indoor with wide(r) angle. Mainly shooting family photo and maybe some scenery. Oly 12mm F2.0 seems to be very expensive. Oly 17mm F1.8, seems like not getting very good comment? Oly do not have any 25mm and hence if I want, i will need to get Panny 25mm liao. If I order Panny 25 from Amazon JP, price will be able the same (maybe slightly more) as Oly 17 F1.8 locally.

Any thought?

Thought of buying one prime lens for fun, but not sure what to get. I heard Oly 45 F1.8 is a value for money lens but I am not sure will it be too narrow for me. In general, I shoot a lot indoor with wide(r) angle. Mainly shooting family photo and maybe some scenery. Oly 12mm F2.0 seems to be very expensive. Oly 17mm F1.8, seems like not getting very good comment? Oly do not have any 25mm and hence if I want, i will need to get Panny 25mm liao. If I order Panny 25 from Amazon JP, price will be able the same (maybe slightly more) as Oly 17 F1.8 locally.

Any thought?

There is also pana 20mm f1.7. Both are excellent. For me 45mm too tight, below 20mm too wide.

Paiseh, forgot to mention 20mm. But i understand 20mm is pretty slow in term of AF and that is why I did not consider the 20mm. But 20mm is a very good and compact lens from what I understand.

ahyoo2002 said:
Paiseh, forgot to mention 20mm. But i understand 20mm is pretty slow in term of AF and that is why I did not consider the 20mm. But 20mm is a very good and compact lens from what I understand.

If I were you, better try them out first before ruling out If AF slow or not. You just bought your OMD and im sure you have no actual experience on the panasonic 20mm lens yet but just mere based on reviews... (correct me if im wrong) It all depends in your shooting style anyway, but based from your description above, I think your range should be anything below 25mm down to 12 or 7mm...

You can consider Panasonic 14mm 2.5, 17mm 1.8 (I'm eyeing on this), 17mm 2.8 (I have this and loving it despite of its negative views), and perhaps the famous 12mm f2.

My favorite lens is the 45mm 1.8. I can achieve the same result or even better in that lens compared to expensive DSLR lenses. :) cheers.

ahyoo2002 said:

Any thought?

Pana 25mm f1.4 is good......

N-user said:

20mm used to be a must have in m43. but comparing to the 25mm, it has a slower AF speed + bigger distortion + half a stop different. for me I also vote for the 25mm. just a right focal length for me especially indoor.

jackwolf said:
20mm used to be a must have in m43. but comparing to the 25mm, it has a slower AF speed + bigger distortion + half a stop different. for me I also vote for the 25mm. just a right focal length for me especially indoor.

Cheaper alternative = sigma 19/2.8.

Just ordered one from Amazon. I see that this lens is about 100 USD cheaper on E-Bay, top rated seller. Can trust the quality? Itching to buy the 25 f1.4 :D