Need advice for lens to accompany my coming OM-D EM-5

Which lens is most useful for me?

silencer13 said:
Wow, thanks all for the good advice. Really appreciated. :)

Looks like fast and wide are the keywords. The 20/1.7 and 25/1.4 look to be very close contenders.
Can anyone advise me where would be the best place to buy either of these lenses? Anyone know the latest price for these lenses?

New: estimated 550 for 20/1.7, 800 for 25/1.4. 2nd hand 20mm easy to find at 450, 25mm hard.
Place to buy: funan-Slr revolution, Tk Foto, Alan photo. Peninsula: Cathay photo. Amk: Ms colors. Holland v: Parisilk.

prices are estimated, call and check and pls google the numbers . Happy searching

New: estimated 550 for 20/1.7, 800 for 25/1.4. 2nd hand 20mm easy to find at 450, 25mm hard.
Place to buy: funan-Slr revolution, Tk Foto, Alan photo. Peninsula: Cathay photo. Amk: Ms colors. Holland v: Parisilk.

prices are estimated, call and check and pls google the numbers . Happy searching

Many thanks, wonglp.
Will have a happy time searching for these lenses over the next few weeks. :D

If anyone wants to sell, please feel free to PM me. ;)

By the way, I think I'd most probably buy the 20/1.7. Not because it's cheaper or wider or better bokeh, but because it's smaller.
With that on my OM-D, I think I should be able to carry the camera in my cargo pants pocket or a small pouch for convenience.

Like what people always say - the best camera is the one that's with you when you need it. ;)

Still same advice, try out the focal lengths from the 12-50 and then you probably have a feel which focal length is more suitable for you. If you looking at pancakes, there's also Pancake 14/2.5 which is smallest, thinnest. & Oy 17/2.8, both though are not as sharp than the 20/1.7, they cost about half or less. :)

Bear in mind most of my usage will be travel photography, which will include street scenes, food, landscape, animals and whatever else catches my eye.

I believe the 12-50 will do for street scenes, landscape, animals. but i also noticed you said food. with that, i'd choose 20/1.7 over 25/1.4.
reasons being, 20mm being wider and min focus dis. 20cm, will allow you to take the photo of the food while sitting down; 25mm will force you to lean back or stand up, being narrower and min focus dis 30cm
i'm using the 20/1.7 on a gf1, and in dark food outlets like izakayas, i find the need to use a bounce flash as i don't like to push the iso up. but u will have no issues in brighter lit food outlets.

I believe the 12-50 will do for street scenes, landscape, animals. but i also noticed you said food. with that, i'd choose 20/1.7 over 25/1.4.
reasons being, 20mm being wider and min focus dis. 20cm, will allow you to take the photo of the food while sitting down; 25mm will force you to lean back or stand up, being narrower and min focus dis 30cm
i'm using the 20/1.7 on a gf1, and in dark food outlets like izakayas, i find the need to use a bounce flash as i don't like to push the iso up. but u will have no issues in brighter lit food outlets.

Very good point!
Ok, good. Now my mind is set. 20/1.7...... plus an additional 25/1.4 if I suddenly have an unexpected windfall. :D

I just gotten the Ep3 with the single kit lens. Used mostly for travel photography. Would the 20/1.7 is enough? Is this one of the value for $, fast prime lens? I can see that it's pretty slim too. Olympus has a new firmware at v1.03. Not sure still got noise or not :(

heya snip3r, same snip3r at XP? :)

From what I gather, yes the 20/1.7 is good enough and good VFM. But looks like it's a very hot item at the moment. I see more WTB than WTS for this lens.

Yeah, snip3r from XP. Nice to meet you here LOL.
If really need, just hoot from the shops lor. New also like $450 same price. $50 difference might as well buy new.
But Pana lenses I'm deterred by the "rattlesnake"

heya snip3r, same snip3r at XP? :)

From what I gather, yes the 20/1.7 is good enough and good VFM. But looks like it's a very hot item at the moment. I see more WTB than WTS for this lens.

haha! Cool to see u here too. ;)
Yup, I agree. Looking at the price difference I think a brand new one, if I can get at $550 or less, is still a good deal.

Camera equipment seems to have a much lower depreciation than hi-fi. 2nd hand stuff still seems to be almost as expensive than brand new. :D:o

I love my Pan 20 1.7 it pretty much stays on my ep1 full time....I will get the OM-D EM-5 as well very soon... Off topic: I am hoping Oly will upgrade their 150 f2 for M4/3....I just sold my Nikon 300 f2.8 (I bought it new in 1995)...Now I want the Oly 150 f2...but I am hoping Oly will get busy with making a M4/3 version...:cool:

Pana 20/1.7 on the Oly EP3 , the rattlesnake very jialat?

Camera equipment seems to have a much lower depreciation than hi-fi. 2nd hand stuff still seems to be almost as expensive than brand new. :D:o

Only lenses are supposed to hold their values longer, as they don't wear out as easily and are not replaced by newer versions often. (There are 1980's and 1990's lenses still in production today, go check out the Canon 35mm f/2!) Camera bodies, on the other hand, depreciate quicker as new models are released frequently and the electronics and moving parts (e.g. shutter) wear out faster.

Ah, I see! That makes sense.
Been checking out only lens, no wonder the 2nd hand prices are so close to the original selling prices.

silencer13 said:
Ah, I see! That makes sense.
Been checking out only lens, no wonder the 2nd hand prices are so close to the original selling prices.

Also lens dependent, if kit lenses drop like siao or lens that's less popular and not so excellent. 20,45,25 are excellent and popular lenses.

I'm thinking of getting the pana 25 f1.4 and the upcoming noktor 17.5mm 0.95 for this body. Probably buy the 12-50 at used price after couple months later if I really need it.

Bought my dry cabi just now and tested the 20 / 1.7 on the ep3. No sound, swee! Hoot ah!

snip3r said:
Bought my dry cabi just now and tested the 20 / 1.7 on the ep3. No sound, swee! Hoot ah!

Congrats !

Congrats !

Bro, have not buy la LOL. Still contemplating between the normal 20mm or the leica 25mm.
Is the 20mm actually more versatile? AF speed significant difference?

AF Speed for the 20mm. Can't find a 25mm video.
[video=youtube;DYKBSuogUXc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYKBSuogUXc[/video]

Bro, have not buy la LOL. Still contemplating between the normal 20mm or the leica 25mm.
Is the 20mm actually more versatile? AF speed significant difference?

AF Speed for the 20mm. Can't find a 25mm video.
[video=youtube;DYKBSuogUXc]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYKBSuogUXc[/video]

Search YouTube. Digitalrev leica dg 25mm. Bought it after watching

Also see digitalrev m zuiko 12mm. very tempting