Swee! What gear you use to capture such great details?
![]()
Well, this is unexpected. I wasn't expecting to upload anything into this thread until I'm done with my Taiwan photos, but it turned out that I actually took a photo of a butterfly in Taiwan :bsmilie:
I quite like it, so here it goes!![]()
Swee ahh! Bokehlicious and pleasing colors! Also with the Tamron 150-600mm lens?
haha I not that insane to bring the 150-600 for a leisure trip :bsmilie:
It's shot with the Canon 70-200 f4L IS![]()
Focusing Sibei Jun.
Nice Bro! After PP all the pics turn out like an artistic shots!
Welcome to birding bro
Some prelim thoughts before I sleep:
1) You are right about it being really hard to pick up the bird at the max focal length. Best to zoom out a little to find the bird before zooming as much as you need. The more you use your lens, the easier you'd find the bird.
2) The bird looks to be out of focus especially if you're already at 1/2000 for a big bird. Perhaps it's an issue of not having the AF points switch too quickly.
I'm not up to date with the 1dx/7d2 af system so I cant help too much on the exact settings. My best suggestion is to download the official AF manual and mug it - I did that for my 1D3, 1D4 and a77ii. Really glad I made the effort to learn the system well so I can maximise the super cheem AF system.
3) I have the Jobu Jr3 gimbal head from Tk for my A-mount copy of the T156. Works a charm as I've said to quite a few peopleFor your gimbal head, can it be that your setup is too heavy for the head?
Thanks.
Happy to chip in a little.
For locating birds in the viewfinder, I guess it is really a matter of practice - how you align your camera with where you are looking.
Shutter speed - I would reckon 1/1000 thereabouts should be enough? I havent shot many bigger BIFs before paiseh. At least for the small ones I would try to keep it above 1/1600 at least.
Gimbal head - I would recommend you bring your whole camera and lens setup to Tk to test out the gimbal head before buying. Else you can grab a used one off BnS. Think there was someone selling his copy recently.
If you use a battery grip, do note it may prevent you from turning the entire swing arm such that the front of the lens is perpendicular to the ground. Just FYI in case you plan to shoot like that. The Tk guys alerted me to this small impediment when I was trying out the Jobu gimbal head.
Cheers.