My PowerShot S5 IS

Guys, I wish to take pictures of the firework display tmr but am unfamiliar with the optimum settings for such shots. Wad would you reccommend?

I understand from a previous post (#1206) from cerebrus that he used (fully manual, f5.0, 2 secs, w/ tripod). How abt the ISO setting? Should I turn off the IS mode while shooting from the tripod?

Another qns, I've got CHDK up n running, besides the battery life and the SD card indicator, wad else is there that I haven notice?

Tks u guys for the input.

PS: Thanks velesco & icem4n

I never take fireworks before but for the ISO, you can put as 80/100. The best is to try it out first ... go tonite, if the result bad go again tomorrow hahaha

For CHDK there are zebra mode, live histogram, etc you can check it here
http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ

I never take fireworks before but for the ISO, you can put as 80/100. The best is to try it out first ... go tonite, if the result bad go again tomorrow hahaha

For CHDK there are zebra mode, live histogram, etc you can check it here
http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/FAQ

I understand that thr are so many benefits of CHDK but currently.. i'm only physically able to see the effect of the indicators. Perhaps I'll fiddle ard with my cam more to see how CHDK works.

Hahaha.. as for fireworks.. u r rite.. can always go tmr. But will ty out tonite 1st. Tks alot dude!

Sorry to be a bother but I have another question.

I was reading on some websites that I would need to set the lens focus length to infinity if u wanna take fireworks shots. How do I do this? Read the manual but cant seem to get it. How can I alter the focal length? (dunno if I mentioned it right)

Hope someone can help ans my queries. Thank you.

Velesco, I saw from ur flickr that u've used the CHDK 62sec exposure. I too have CHDK up n running but I dun see the ultra-long / fast shutter speeds. Why is this so?

Have I installed CHDK in the wrong way? Anyone?

Guys, sorry for all the queries!!!

Really appreciate ur patience and guidiances.

Thank you all once again!

Hi, check your advanced s5is manual, on page 75. To set focus to infinity, switch to manual focus and then adjust the focal point to the top of the bar (infinity).

Sorry to be a bother but I have another question.

I was reading on some websites that I would need to set the lens focus length to infinity if u wanna take fireworks shots. How do I do this? Read the manual but cant seem to get it. How can I alter the focal length? (dunno if I mentioned it right)

Hope someone can help ans my queries. Thank you.

Hi, check your advanced s5is manual, on page 75. To set focus to infinity, switch to manual focus and then adjust the focal point to the top of the bar (infinity).

tks for ur reply Winduhs. Unfortunately I was out w/o my manual when u replied, hence I gave canon a call and got em to guide on the local length adjustment.

Once again, thank u for ur reply.

Now, its raining so heavily in town, dunno if the organizers of the fireworks would cancel the event. *cross fingers*

:bwhat:

Guys, I wish to take pictures of the firework display tmr but am unfamiliar with the optimum settings for such shots. Wad would you reccommend?

I understand from a previous post (#1206) from cerebrus that he used (fully manual, f5.0, 2 secs, w/ tripod). How abt the ISO setting? Should I turn off the IS mode while shooting from the tripod?

Tks u guys for the input.

PS: Thanks velesco & icem4n

Turn IS off. Set to the lowest ISO possible for your camera. You might want to shoot at f4 first, then see if it is too bright.

Velesco, I saw from ur flickr that u've used the CHDK 62sec exposure. I too have CHDK up n running but I dun see the ultra-long / fast shutter speeds. Why is this so?

Have I installed CHDK in the wrong way? Anyone?

theres the extra operations.

for the hack you dont use the normal menu. its a new menu. Press the circular button on the left near the viewfinder then press the menu :D

happy exploring! :D

whee btw today i finally gave in to the BBB virus.

bought a ND 4 filter (FINALLY!!!!!) for 2o bucks at John 3:16
then i went to Bally Photos to purchase the 3rd party lens adapter ( 30 bucks)
and a uv filter for 2o bucks.

its ok right? reasonable enuff?

whee i think im getting the wideangle lens at Bally .they seems like nice people

Shopping ah?
Tomolo my engagment. Will practise take photos with S5 IS and EOS 450D; as warm up for Sunday wedding of my future in law brother. Now playing with the 450D, feels abit weird. hehehe!

dont tell me you bought the 450D!!!!

Turn IS off. Set to the lowest ISO possible for your camera. You might want to shoot at f4 first, then see if it is too bright.

tks 4 e advice man!

i remembered clearly when taking pics from the tripod, 1 shld always switch off the IS.

once again tks

theres the extra operations.

for the hack you dont use the normal menu. its a new menu. Press the circular button on the left near the viewfinder then press the menu :D

happy exploring! :D

MAN! tks for guiding me man.. i was only abt 2 view the xtras after reading this post. tks!

anyway my shots at the fireworks were quite ok, juz tat it was too smokey. ;)

Shopping ah?
Tomolo my engagment. Will practise take photos with S5 IS and EOS 450D; as warm up for Sunday wedding of my future in law brother. Now playing with the 450D, feels abit weird. hehehe!

bro ur engagement?! congrats congrats!

Thanks. 450D is not mine, rented unit. Using it without any IS lens; quite hard, pic easily look blur. Need to hold it shake free. Luckily got battery grip oso.

whee btw today i finally gave in to the BBB virus.

bought a ND 4 filter (FINALLY!!!!!) for 2o bucks at John 3:16
then i went to Bally Photos to purchase the 3rd party lens adapter ( 30 bucks)
and a uv filter for 2o bucks.

its ok right? reasonable enuff?

whee i think im getting the wideangle lens at Bally .they seems like nice people

It's quite okay..

I bought 3rd party lens adapter at S$27 from metal one
UV Hoya $14 if not mistaken and CPL at $39

tks for ur reply Winduhs. Unfortunately I was out w/o my manual when u replied, hence I gave canon a call and got em to guide on the local length adjustment.

Once again, thank u for ur reply.

Now, its raining so heavily in town, dunno if the organizers of the fireworks would cancel the event. *cross fingers*

:bwhat:

How's the photo taking? Share your pics ;)

It's quite okay..

I bought 3rd party lens adapter at S$27 from metal one
UV Hoya $14 if not mistaken and CPL at $39

are you kidding me? shoots bally overpriced me.

where you bought?

my hoya uv is 20bucks and third party one i bargained got 30bucks :(

btw i bought nd filter at john 3:16 i tried taking during sunrise bright scene, its not enuff leh
ND4, which ND do you suggest? :( or will it work with a darker scene lets say at 7pm sunset?

are you kidding me? shoots bally overpriced me.

where you bought?

my hoya uv is 20bucks and third party one i bargained got 30bucks :(

btw i bought nd filter at john 3:16 i tried taking during sunrise bright scene, its not enuff leh
ND4, which ND do you suggest? :( or will it work with a darker scene lets say at 7pm sunset?

What do you mean by your ND was not enough for sunrise? Post the picture you took.